Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Portable recorder choices to record classical guitar with internal mics only.  (Read 7389 times)

Offline panagogt

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
This is my first post in this great forum.

I play the classical guitar and I am in need of a decent but rather cheap recorder. My bugdet comes up to 250 EUR (340$ approximately) at the moment.
I 've been searching and reading so much that I have even got really tired, cleaning the house seems easier than all this try to choose a recorder.
I am a newbie neophyte to taping, but after reading some stuff in the forum and also in threads similar to mine, it is now clear in my mind that I need external mics and battery power supply etc. to have some good results. However, this a step above my knowlegde, budget and time right now and I am, definitely going to stick with the recorder's internal mics. Another reason for this is that I move a lot by train and aeroplane in long distances and I am unable to carry too much equipment. External equipment might be something to look up to in the future.

I really need some advice that takes into account that I will only record solo classical guitar (in my practice room and stage as well, but never open air). The thing is that classical guitar is a quiet instrument when compared to the piano, the violin, wind instruments and practically almost every other acoustic instrument. It's range, depending on the tuning is aprroximately 80-1000 Hz and if you add harmonic notes it reaches 1300 Hz in a pretty low volume.

It has become quite a nightmare to choose one, I just cannot understand which one fits me better, I really can't choose one.
Anyway, after some research a narrowed down my list to the following recordes: