Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: attenuetters  (Read 3138 times)

Offline discopanic1

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
attenuetters
« on: July 24, 2004, 06:06:51 PM »
I am really a beginner being that I've only had my rig with 4 recordings.  I have a set of attneutters on the line into the mixpre and can't seem to find out precisely what they are used for.  Any tips?

Jesse

Mk4 ->cmc6 -> SD mixpre -> M1

radioboy1977

Re: attenuetters
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2004, 07:01:16 PM »
you're running schoeps and you have no idea what you're doing?  why does that not surprise me ;)

i might be wrong here, but as i understand it, line attenuators ramp down the dB's coming from the mics so your recording isn't overmodulated.  i think they're only used in cases where a pre-amp is not in use.  since you're using a pre-amp, i don't think you need to use the attenuators.  like i said, though, i might be wrong.  can anyone else elaborate?

Offline discopanic1

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2004, 09:01:27 PM »
thanks jeff-o, i haven't read up as i need.  any suggestonsion's on pages to read. i've only looked at the sound devices page in the mixpre section.  thanks.... jesse

Offline mirth

• Needs to get out more...
  • Les Hommes Savvent Pourquois
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2004, 12:15:41 AM »
Owners' manual, to start....
Governor Jim McGreevey was equally disturbed about the upcoming population increase. "New Jersey cannot support all of these wookies," he said. "For starters, we don't have nearly enough kindbud. At best, we can muster up a Q.P. of some beasties, but we've not a dime-bag more."

Offline Lil Kim Jong-Il

• Trade Count: (6)
  • large Marge sent me
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2004, 11:53:30 AM »