Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need a little rig advice - Mic Stand and Setup  (Read 5455 times)

Offline Zeke

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Need a little rig advice - Mic Stand and Setup
« on: December 03, 2007, 08:32:45 PM »
Hi Guys:

I've posted here before but it's been awhile.  I'm still pretty new to taping but I have some equipment and have taped 3 or 4 shows, nothing recent.

I have MM-HLSC-1 Mics > MM-MBM Battery Box > Iriver H140 w/Rockbox.

The few shows I've done have been OK, nothing great but acceptable recordings.

I'm in the market for a mic stand - after searching here the Bogen / Manfrotto 3336 Stand at 11 ft tall seems like a decent stand -- what do you think?

So Questions:

What's do you all suggest for mounting these mics.  They do have clips and so that's the cheap way of doing it, but what's the preferred method?

Holding Recorder:  is there a holder or something that can clamp to mic stand?

Mic Setup:  will a 90deg XY setup work for a loud rock show?

Lastly, the last show I did with this setup was clear but the bass was very thin.  I am not using my battery box to block any bass frequency.  Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Zeke
GEAR:  Microphone Madness MM-HLSC-1 > MM Battery Box (minty fresh) > iRiver H160 w/Rockbox

Offline Belexes

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Need a little rig advice - Mic Stand and Setup
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2007, 10:27:20 PM »
I have open taped with the MM-HLSC-1's using a cheap Dynatran stand and one of these with acceptable results:

http://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/item/SP-GNA-3

I know some have made their own shock-mounts for these or the Church mics and that is probably the preferred method. Mine is more quick and dirty.  I have an ext cable to run the mics down to the ground where the recorder sits in my gear bag, so as to not have the recording device on the stand where it is more susceptible.