Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig  (Read 8817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3784
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« on: July 24, 2011, 10:11:05 PM »
Ok, so I'm adding my PSP2 back in my rig.  I've neglected it for too long here lately.  Wondering what some of you may suggest.

Wondering the best way to bring it back in...honestly, it's been so long since I ran it, I forgot how i tied it in w/ the v3.  essentially i want to use the psp2 for my pre and the v3 for the a/d.  that said, should i run it as follows:

akgs>mic in on psp2>line out on psp2 w/ interconnects>analog in on v3?  I can't remember if I used to use the AES digital out or the analog out on the v3 to run into my recorder.  pretty sure the last time i ran the psp2 i was running a jb3.  I'm now running iRiver H120.  I also have a Tascam DR-07 I'm borrowing from a friend and fellow taper. 

I've been running the following set up:
akg > v3 (coax out) > odl-276 (coax in>optical out) >iRiver

Thoughts/suggestions on the best set up to bring the psp2 back in are welcome.

TIA

12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5310
  • Gender: Male
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 10:19:05 PM »
You can't disable the Pre in the V3 but you can enable the -20db jumpers on the inside to lower the levels to the point where the Pre on the V3 is not "amplifying" the signal.
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40578
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 10:25:46 PM »
mics>psp2>line-in on dr07 :) the adc of these handheld recorders are WAY BETTER than the decks of past time like the DAT/JB3. Trust me, just run mics>psp2>dr07 ;) And RUN 24-BIT DAMNIT BRYAN ;D 8)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3784
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 10:34:44 PM »
Quote
You can't disable the Pre in the V3 but you can enable the -20db jumpers on the inside to lower the levels to the point where the Pre on the V3 is not "amplifying" the signal.

i've never opened up the v3 to see the guts...would be curious, though, to see inside.  just not sure i'd want to go this route.  i'd hate to mess something up on the guts...haha

Quote
ics>psp2>dr07
this would DEF be a much lighter rig!!
12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2247
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2011, 10:56:13 PM »
Sell the psp2 in the ys. I need another.

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40578
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2011, 10:57:42 PM »
Quote
You can't disable the Pre in the V3 but you can enable the -20db jumpers on the inside to lower the levels to the point where the Pre on the V3 is not "amplifying" the signal.

i've never opened up the v3 to see the guts...would be curious, though, to see inside.  just not sure i'd want to go this route.  i'd hate to mess something up on the guts...haha

Quote
ics>psp2>dr07
this would DEF be a much lighter rig!!

It is. My new mk41>Lemosax>M10 setup is SUPER LIGHT bro :)

And hi/lo, youre getting obsessive :P ;D 8)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8389
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2011, 11:05:14 PM »
mics>psp2>line-in on dr07

this would DEF be a much lighter rig!!

what's the max out on the psp2? Isn't it something monstrous like +28dbu? The DR-07's max line-in is only around +8dbu, so if the psp2 is expecting to send a ton of signal downstream, you may/will brickwall the recorder. I remember looking at grayp's rig at charlottesville when we met (he was using your psp2, right? it was someone else's) and his second set peaked around -4db or so but the gain on the 722 was turned all the way down (so it was peaking around +20dbu or so out of the psp2). I don't know how the gain structure on the psp2 works, so maybe you can turn it down there (I didn't see anything when I saw it in cville), but I suspect you'll have to do something more then just hooking everything up.

"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40578
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2011, 11:11:57 PM »
good points page
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8389
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2011, 11:22:11 PM »
I mean, if there is a way to turn down the psp2, great, that would work (it didn't have much in options when I last saw one). Otherwise to get that graceful transformer overload sound, you would then have to put attenuators between the psp2 and the DR-07, say to the order of 15 or 20db. One of those selectable ones would be nice as long as it doesn't introduce a hum or other noise (I've had some that did, and some that didn't).

Beats lugging a V3 and converter box for the iriver in my opinion, but I don't need/like taping to be part of my exercise regimen, ymmv...
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline tedyun

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2011, 12:14:03 AM »
It's a very strange gain structure. There is what I understand to be an "input gain" labeled "Mic Sensitivity" and it has "-35, -55 and -70" positions, in order of least to most gain. But I have no idea how much gain it adds. Then there is output gain, which is 0, +6 or +12.

They recommend setting the gain so that you're not overloading, then do a fine adjustment with the recorder, or in TaperBryan's case, the V3.

I was actually thinking of doing the same thing (ie., PSP-2 > V3)


mics>psp2>line-in on dr07

this would DEF be a much lighter rig!!

what's the max out on the psp2? Isn't it something monstrous like +28dbu? The DR-07's max line-in is only around +8dbu, so if the psp2 is expecting to send a ton of signal downstream, you may/will brickwall the recorder. I remember looking at grayp's rig at charlottesville when we met (he was using your psp2, right? it was someone else's) and his second set peaked around -4db or so but the gain on the 722 was turned all the way down (so it was peaking around +20dbu or so out of the psp2). I don't know how the gain structure on the psp2 works, so maybe you can turn it down there (I didn't see anything when I saw it in cville), but I suspect you'll have to do something more then just hooking everything up.
Mics: B&K 4011, Schoeps MK5 (Nbobs, Naiant PFA), Busman BSC-1 (K11/K21/K31/K41 caps), Church CA-14 (o, c), Church CAFS, Core Sound Binaurals
Pre: EAA PSP-2,  Lunatec V3, Nbox-Platinum, Church CA-9200
ADC: Mytek 192 ADC, Oade Mod SBM-1
Rec: Oade Supermod PMD-661, Tascam DR60D, M-Audio MicroTrack II, Korg MR-1 (32GB SSD mod); Sony PCM-M10, Edirol R09HR; iRiver HP-120
Photo: Canon 5D3, Canon EF-S 17-55mm f2.8, Canon EF 35mm f1.4L Canon EF 24-70 f2.8L MkI, Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS MkI, Canon EF 50 mm f1.4, Canon EF 50 f1.2L, Canon EF 300 f/4L IS, Canon EF 100-400 f4-5.6L IS MkI
Video: Canon HF100

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40578
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2011, 12:30:04 AM »
I ran m148>v3 a few times on Phish tour in 2004
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2247
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2011, 12:44:13 AM »
But I have no idea how much gain it adds.

Minimum gain is roughly +20db, I think. FreeLunch could say for certain.

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8389
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2011, 12:54:39 AM »
It's a very strange gain structure. There is what I understand to be an "input gain" labeled "Mic Sensitivity" and it has "-35, -55 and -70" positions, in order of least to most gain. But I have no idea how much gain it adds. Then there is output gain, which is 0, +6 or +12.

Hmm, well, the AKGs are somewhere in the zone of 30-35 mv/pa (so, -28, maybe -31) IIRC. Assuming that at loud shows your hitting +1dbu exiting the mic (based on max spl, mv/pa, the handy sengpiel chart, and personal experience with mics that hot), then yeah...

Bring the attenuators if you're using the DR-07 gets my vote. It's just how much to attenuate.

But I have no idea how much gain it adds.

Minimum gain is roughly +20db, I think. FreeLunch could say for certain.

That rings a bell for some reason.
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40578
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2011, 07:13:00 PM »
I would get switchable attenuators. Or at least -20db fixed ones :)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8389
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2011, 07:27:40 PM »
I would get switchable attenuators. Or at least -20db fixed ones :)

agreed
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.257 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company