Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam DR-680 MKii  (Read 28449 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chuck

  • Trade Count: (41)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10455
  • Gender: Male
  • time between the notes...
    • My recordings on the LMA
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #165 on: June 22, 2017, 08:54:00 PM »
Cool. I'll give it a shot. Thanks lukpac.
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.

Microphones: (2) Microtech Gefell M300, (2) AKG C 480 B comb-ULS/ CK 61/ CK 63, (2) CAD GXL1200 (cardioid and sub-cardioid capsule & electronics mod), (2) Audix M1290-o, (2) Micro capsule active cables w/ Naiant PFA's, (2) Naiant MSH-1O, (2) Naiant AKG Active cables, (2) Church CA-11 (cardioid), (2) CAD C9, (1) Nady SCM-1000 (mod)
Pre-amps: Naiant littlekit v2.0, BM2p+ Edirol UA-5, Church STC-9000
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, iRiver iHP-120 (Rockboxed & RTC mod), Denon DTR-80p

Recordings on the LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/ChuckM
Recording website & blog: http://www.timebetweenthenotes.com

Offline Chuck

  • Trade Count: (41)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10455
  • Gender: Male
  • time between the notes...
    • My recordings on the LMA
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #166 on: June 22, 2017, 08:56:25 PM »
The update to 1.20 was great. I use the gang volume setting often.
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.

Microphones: (2) Microtech Gefell M300, (2) AKG C 480 B comb-ULS/ CK 61/ CK 63, (2) CAD GXL1200 (cardioid and sub-cardioid capsule & electronics mod), (2) Audix M1290-o, (2) Micro capsule active cables w/ Naiant PFA's, (2) Naiant MSH-1O, (2) Naiant AKG Active cables, (2) Church CA-11 (cardioid), (2) CAD C9, (1) Nady SCM-1000 (mod)
Pre-amps: Naiant littlekit v2.0, BM2p+ Edirol UA-5, Church STC-9000
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, iRiver iHP-120 (Rockboxed & RTC mod), Denon DTR-80p

Recordings on the LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/ChuckM
Recording website & blog: http://www.timebetweenthenotes.com

Offline lukpac

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 172
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #167 on: June 22, 2017, 09:00:38 PM »
I just checked, and I have 1.30 on my 680. 1.31 must have not been available yet. I don't use that machine as much since I got the 680MKII (I've only used it when I need more than 8 tracks), but I haven't had any problems.

Offline rumbleseat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #168 on: June 23, 2017, 10:03:09 AM »
Back to the backlight behavior...  This discussion has been confusing since two different behaviors have been described for the DR-680 MKII.
GLouie said that the backlight in his unit shuts off at the menu-designated time whether running on AC or batteries, but lukpac and Gutbucket have posts that seem to say that the backlight stays on with AC but times-out on batteries.

(Apologies if I misrepresented your positions - as I said, this is confusing!)

I have two of these units.  Both are running the most recent firmware, 1.02 build 0043.
Both exhibit exactly the behavior that GLouie described - that is, the backlight menu determines the behavior and there is no difference whether the unit is on batteries or AC.

Are we all talking about mkii units with firmware 1.02 0043?

I agree that a new feature that allows independent backlight options for AC and battery would be useful for some.  Personally, I run the TalentCell battery pack at festivals and do not want the backlight on all the time, so the current setup is OK with me...
AKG C480B CK61 cards >  Canare L-4E6S with Neutrik EMC > Tascam DR-680 MKII > memories

Offline lukpac

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 172
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #169 on: June 23, 2017, 10:10:04 AM »
Back to the backlight behavior...  This discussion has been confusing since two different behaviors have been described for the DR-680 MKII.
GLouie said that the backlight in his unit shuts off at the menu-designated time whether running on AC or batteries, but lukpac and Gutbucket have posts that seem to say that the backlight stays on with AC but times-out on batteries.

(Apologies if I misrepresented your positions - as I said, this is confusing!)

I have two of these units.  Both are running the most recent firmware, 1.02 build 0043.
Both exhibit exactly the behavior that GLouie described - that is, the backlight menu determines the behavior and there is no difference whether the unit is on batteries or AC.

Are we all talking about mkii units with firmware 1.02 0043?

I agree that a new feature that allows independent backlight options for AC and battery would be useful for some.  Personally, I run the TalentCell battery pack at festivals and do not want the backlight on all the time, so the current setup is OK with me...

Correct about my unit, but as noted, I'm still running the original firmware. The behavior was apparently changed in 1.02. Odd that it's not mentioned in the release notes, and that there's no mention of 1.01.

Offline GLouie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #170 on: June 24, 2017, 10:09:12 PM »
Yes, Lukpac is running the old firmware, which he didn't realize at first. Thus, he has the old behavior. With Rumbleseat's report, my guess is that Gutbucket is also on old firmware.

This looks like a Tascam "mistake", hence no mention in the release notes.

I once caught Sound Devices turning off dither on 16 bit recordings after a 722 firmware change, and they changed it back quickly with another firmware change. It pays to be vigilant and speak up to the manufacturers.

Offline rumbleseat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #171 on: June 24, 2017, 10:29:39 PM »
Thanks for clearing this up!

Hopefully Tascam will please both sides with separate options for AC and batteries.  I agree that having the backlight stay on while running with "AC" is a great option.

Thanks again!
AKG C480B CK61 cards >  Canare L-4E6S with Neutrik EMC > Tascam DR-680 MKII > memories

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 451
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #172 on: August 11, 2017, 01:43:16 PM »
Quick question as I'm about to join team 680mkII.  Do I need to order any extra cables to connect this battery to the 680mkII? https://www.amazon.com/TalentCell-Rechargeable-11000mAh-14500mAh-26400mAh/dp/B016BJCRUO/ref=pd_sim_421_9?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B016BJCRUO&pd_rd_r=339XM945V5TVC7G549K6&pd_rd_w=cKqeP&pd_rd_wg=khccJ&psc=1&refRID=339XM945V5TVC7G549K6

I'd prefer to order everything at once, if I do need to order a separate cable.
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | Countryman B3s | CA-14 omnis | AT853 cards | AKG 460/ck61 | Studio Projects CS5
Decks: Zoom F4 | Roland R-05

Offline drewloo

  • Friend of Salsa
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3021
  • it's recreational
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #173 on: August 11, 2017, 02:14:20 PM »
Per this chart the dr-680mkii needs:

Tascam DR-680mkII / 12v / Size C, OD 4.75mm x ID 1.7mm Center Pin (+) Ring (-)

The cables listed w/ the battery are all 5.5mm x 2.1mm  so you'll need to get a cable that's 5.5mm x 2.1mm on one end and 4.75mm x 1.7mm on the other.  Amazon sells adapters if you want to use that route but personally I avoid adapters.
You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer.  -FZ

Offline dallman

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1520
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #174 on: August 11, 2017, 03:03:53 PM »
Per this chart the dr-680mkii needs:

Tascam DR-680mkII / 12v / Size C, OD 4.75mm x ID 1.7mm Center Pin (+) Ring (-)

The cables listed w/ the battery are all 5.5mm x 2.1mm  so you'll need to get a cable that's 5.5mm x 2.1mm on one end and 4.75mm x 1.7mm on the other.  Amazon sells adapters if you want to use that route but personally I avoid adapters.
This with some electrical tape could help if you go that route...

https://www.amazon.com/PHC-RC-x1740C1-Barrel-Converter-2-1mm/dp/B009AZ84YA/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1502477963&sr=1-3-fkmr0&keywords=4.75mm+x+1.7mm+barrel+connector
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!
Deck>possibly something here> Mics

Offline taper420

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 954
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #175 on: Yesterday at 11:14:10 AM »
TL;DR: How easy and quick is it to change file names and reinitialize takes on the 680?

Long version:
I'm thinking about picking up one of these. My taping rig has been the HD-P2 for at least 10 years now but I actually use it more for work these days, which is running sound for various film/video productions. I've always liked the timecode/video sync features, but with Plural Eyes software now, not many productions mess with timecode anymore. I would still use the P2 if recording a concert with video (due to drift issues on such a long continuous take), but that's not an issue on most of the stuff for which I get hired (takes are usually no longer than a few minutes).

So, right now I use 2 different setups when working on a film... when we're on a set I use a laptop/interface setup and Boom Recorder software which allows for quick and easy naming of files/metadata with scene, shot, take info, etc. When we're in the field I use the P2, and while there's no metadata, what I do is create a new project from template for each shot (labeled with the scene/shot number) and then the unit automatically increments the take, starting with 00 with each new project/shot.

So my question about the 680 is how easy is it to do file naming for each new shot (as compared to my workflow on the P2), and how does that relate to take incrementation? I browsed through the user manual and it seems like it might be a bit convoluted (user presets, reinitializing takes)? There usually isn't that much time between finding out what the shot number is and the start of a take... the last thing I want is the crew waiting on me while I'm setting filenames. But asset management is very important when you're dealing with the number of files that your average day's production generates. A 680 could easily replace the P2 as a field recorder as well as my laptop setup for use on sets, albeit at the expense of quick and robust file naming/metadata. As long as it's not too cumbersome to get the pertinent info stored quickly, it seems like the way to go.
Magic wands > magic box > magic bucket

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #176 on: Today at 08:36:35 AM »
Someone else will have to answer your file question, but if there was a touchscreen enabled recorde that allowed you to type in file names, that would be helpful.  Or if you could connect to the recorder and enter file names via your phone. 

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5324
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #177 on: Today at 11:27:31 AM »
Someone else will have to answer your file question, but if there was a touchscreen enabled recorde that allowed you to type in file names, that would be helpful.  Or if you could connect to the recorder and enter file names via your phone.

Tascam hs-p82 is touchscreen and allows you to type in filenames, etc using a popup "keyboard" like interface

I am sure there are many other newish recorders that support this - SX-R4+, probably MixPre-3/6/10, SD 633, 644, Roland R-88, Zoom F4/F8, etc
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.234 seconds with 36 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company