Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?  (Read 3034 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jagraham

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2550
  • Gender: Male
Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« on: November 30, 2016, 08:19:33 PM »
Anyone use a Fiio x1 gen 2? I just noticed this product the other day. If I'm not mistaken, it only has 1 sd slot (vs 2 on the x3 and x5). However, the unit runs for around ~100. Are there any other disadvantages to x1 gen 2 other than the single sd slot? I think I saw a review on Amazon that said it could benefit from a headphone preamp. I'm curious what the TS thinks.
Mics: Nak CM-300s, Nak CM-100s, CP-1s, CP-2s, AT-853s(Cards, Hypers, Omnis) CA-14s(Cards, Omnis)
Pres: CA STC-9200, CA-UBB
Recorders: Tascam DR-70D, DR-2D, Edirol R-09

ISO: 1 Teac ME-120, CP-3 Caps, AT-853 Subcard Caps

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (49)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2738
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2016, 06:44:25 PM »
I have one. Yes, one slot. Not a big deal for me cause I also have an X5 II. I also have a small FIIO amp paired with it. Even picked up a slick leather sleeve for it. Anyway, I find I use the 5 much more often, so I'm thinking of selling the X1 with amp and case.

Edit: mine is a version 1. Sorry.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 08:52:15 AM by ts »

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2016, 04:19:18 PM »
just grabbed an x1 2nd gen. i have it in hand and putting it through the paces now. straight to headphones. drives mt AT-50s easily. sounds good but only about 10 minutes of listening so far

it has bluetooth which was a surprise. i thought only the other models had it
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2016, 09:01:10 AM »
one thing i have noticed about this thing is that gapless playback doesnt seem to work. Which is one of the reasons I got it. I guess this 2nd gen has a problem as I just found a 115 page thread at head-fi.org discussing it. I updated to the latest firmware which still doesnt address the problem. So anyone considering this device keep that in mind. I hope they fix it in firmware but youd think that would be a thing they would test
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline fanofjam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2016, 07:24:35 PM »
one thing i have noticed about this thing is that gapless playback doesnt seem to work. Which is one of the reasons I got it. I guess this 2nd gen has a problem as I just found a 115 page thread at head-fi.org discussing it. I updated to the latest firmware which still doesnt address the problem. So anyone considering this device keep that in mind. I hope they fix it in firmware but youd think that would be a thing they would test

Interesting...I have the X3 v1 and this isn't an issue.  The X3 has served me well, but after using it habitually for at least the last two years, I'm a bit tired of the interface and just decided to switch it up. 

I just ordered the Astell and Kern AK Jr from B&H for $199 (open box version...the new version is $269).  Looking forward to giving it a whirl.  My expectations are a slight sound improvement and enhanced interface with the touch screen. 

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6425
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2017, 09:57:28 AM »
I have an X1 from about 1.5 years ago without bluetooth so I assume it is not v2. I am running firmware 1.4 and have the gapless setting turned on in the play settings - no issues with gapless playback here. Just wanted to note that this is not an issue with all versions of the X1. 
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2017, 11:19:47 AM »
I have an X1 from about 1.5 years ago without bluetooth so I assume it is not v2. I am running firmware 1.4 and have the gapless setting turned on in the play settings - no issues with gapless playback here. Just wanted to note that this is not an issue with all versions of the X1.

the response I got from their support was that it will be fixed in a future firmware update   :banging head:

Also it doesn't read filenames correctly. Which is almost a deal breaker for me. Im pretty pissed that this thing sucks as much as it does considering the first generations didnt have these problems it seems

RE: File names

If im using etree standards like gd1984-10-14d1t01, gd1984-10-14d1t02 etc etc What it does is group all the tracks ending in 01, 02 etc so when playback happens it does this
gd1984-10-14d1t01
gd1984-10-14d2t01
gd1984-10-14d1t02
gd1984-10-14d2t02

I went back to my iphone for the time being because it was pissing me off so much
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6425
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2017, 04:21:29 PM »
That sucks. Is that going to be fixed too?

BTW, does that occur if the files are tagged?
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2017, 07:28:37 AM »
That sucks. Is that going to be fixed too?

BTW, does that occur if the files are tagged?

re: tags

yes doesnt matter it seems. i havent asked support about the naming yet.
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2017, 11:28:53 AM »
they released new firmware but it they didnt address the filename issue and I can verify that it completely ignores the tags in the case of playback sequence and goes only by file name

so anything i have thats
01
02
03
 is fine but anything named with proper etree filenames playsback out of order. Im not even sure how its doing this as d1t01 d1t02 d2t01 d2t02 it does 01,01,02,02 so it seems to be ignoring everything except the end but oddly enough always lists the d1t01 first so it knows to some extent that the d1 file is first but why it wants to then ignore that is beyond me
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline tapeworm48

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm running a dojo of coolness...
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2017, 06:44:29 PM »
anyone upgrade to 1.6 firmware yet?  according to this, it claims that gapless playback is fixed as is the file nomenclature/sorting issue.

http://drivers.softpedia.com/blog/new-firmware-available-for-fiio-s-x1-2nd-gen-player-get-version-1-6-0-515080.shtml
A good friend will come bail you out of jail, but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn... We F**ked Up."

Schoeps MK4s / AT831s / DPA4061s
Nbox / Tinybox v1.5 / SPSB-11 / CSbox
M10 / R09 / D100

07/19 Pearl Jam @ Wrigley Field
08/01 QOTSA @ Metro
08/02 Lollapalooza (NIN / QOTSA / Thievery / Band of Horses)
08/15 QOTSA @ Red Rocks
09/23 Arctic Monkeys @ Riviera Theater
10/18 Pearl Jam @ Barclays
10/19 Pearl Jam @ Barclays
10/21 Pearl Jam @ Wells Fargo Center
10/22 Pearl Jam @ Wells Fargo Center
11/15 NIN @ Hard Rock
11/16 NIN @ Hard Rock
12/06 Pearl Jam @ Key Arena

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2017, 07:47:30 AM »
anyone upgrade to 1.6 firmware yet?  according to this, it claims that gapless playback is fixed as is the file nomenclature/sorting issue.

http://drivers.softpedia.com/blog/new-firmware-available-for-fiio-s-x1-2nd-gen-player-get-version-1-6-0-515080.shtml

i have not but will and ill report back. thanks for the heads up
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1597
  • Gender: Male
  • Two things I hate havin to cook and tryin' to date
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2017, 01:18:31 PM »
I did the 1.6 update and it fixed the issue.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 02:30:22 PM by MakersMarc »
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2017, 02:55:17 PM »
I did the 1.6 update and it fixed the issue.

damn i forgot all about this. Sorry guys. Ill have to go grab mine out of the car
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline tapeworm48

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm running a dojo of coolness...
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2017, 10:04:28 PM »
I did the 1.6 update and it fixed the issue.

oh cool.  fixed gapless playback and the nomenclature issue?
A good friend will come bail you out of jail, but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn... We F**ked Up."

Schoeps MK4s / AT831s / DPA4061s
Nbox / Tinybox v1.5 / SPSB-11 / CSbox
M10 / R09 / D100

07/19 Pearl Jam @ Wrigley Field
08/01 QOTSA @ Metro
08/02 Lollapalooza (NIN / QOTSA / Thievery / Band of Horses)
08/15 QOTSA @ Red Rocks
09/23 Arctic Monkeys @ Riviera Theater
10/18 Pearl Jam @ Barclays
10/19 Pearl Jam @ Barclays
10/21 Pearl Jam @ Wells Fargo Center
10/22 Pearl Jam @ Wells Fargo Center
11/15 NIN @ Hard Rock
11/16 NIN @ Hard Rock
12/06 Pearl Jam @ Key Arena

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1597
  • Gender: Male
  • Two things I hate havin to cook and tryin' to date
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2017, 12:26:13 PM »
Gapless playback, yes. Nomenclature, not sure, I honk so. I mainly use mine to dump commercial cd stuff onto it, so haven't really needed to worry much.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2017, 06:59:03 PM »
gapless playback still is not fixed for me after the upgrade. It seems better but i still get a drop between tunes. I was using a studio album for testing the latest daves picks and i heard a slight pause changing between china rider
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (129)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3850
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2017, 09:30:58 AM »
You have to turn on gapless in the menu for it to work? 

gapless playback still is not fixed for me after the upgrade. It seems better but i still get a drop between tunes. I was using a studio album for testing the latest daves picks and i heard a slight pause changing between china rider
« Last Edit: August 05, 2017, 09:53:15 AM by jbell »
Schoeps MK4's, MK41's> KCY 250/5 Ig> Schoeps VMS 5U> Sound Devices Mixpre-6

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1597
  • Gender: Male
  • Two things I hate havin to cook and tryin' to date
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #18 on: August 05, 2017, 07:35:14 PM »
Once I did 1.6 and changed to gappless in
Menu I was golden. Love mine sounds great and price can't be beat. Also have x3 mainly use that at home and X1 at gym or bt stream in the car.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #19 on: August 06, 2017, 08:11:08 PM »
You have to turn on gapless in the menu for it to work? 

gapless playback still is not fixed for me after the upgrade. It seems better but i still get a drop between tunes. I was using a studio album for testing the latest daves picks and i heard a slight pause changing between china rider

ill double check. knowing me its wrong
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2017, 12:56:42 PM »
You have to turn on gapless in the menu for it to work? 

gapless playback still is not fixed for me after the upgrade. It seems better but i still get a drop between tunes. I was using a studio album for testing the latest daves picks and i heard a slight pause changing between china rider

ill double check. knowing me its wrong

I did indeed have it set to playback gap = NONE and not gapless which seems counter-intuitive but thanks for the heads up. I notice a slight audible mark when the track changes but much improved from where it was.
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline johnmuge

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 485
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2017, 01:00:53 PM »
Does it play the show in the correct order now ?
> AKG c480b(ck61,ck63) Naiant Couplings-PFA / Beyer MC930 / Milab VM-44 link / Nevaton MCE400
 > Littlebox w/output xformers / Tinybox w/ dual output                                                                                                                                                              > Tascam DR-680, DR70d / Sony M-10 / Oade ACM Marantz PMD660

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
    • The Breakfast
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #22 on: August 07, 2017, 07:45:23 PM »
Does it play the show in the correct order now ?

it wasnt f-ing up my phish2017-08-04(24Bit48khz)d1t01.... nomenclature so it seems that they have (and they were not tagged if that makes a difference)
AKG414 XLS/ST> TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2
Musichall Mambo > VR-2's

Offline georgeh

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1485
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2017, 12:12:15 PM »
think I will pull the trigger on a x3
seems to be the easiest and best way to play flacs in car. 128gb storage should last a bit......
microtech gefell sms 2000, MG 21 & 20 & 27 caps > M148 > acm P2
Nbob active cables / PFA

Offline tapeworm48

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm running a dojo of coolness...
Re: Fiio X1 v2 - anyone have this?
« Reply #24 on: August 20, 2017, 06:01:30 PM »
my experience:  i bought the X1 v2 and tested it out. i upgraded the firmware to 1.6 and set to gapless, but still noticed gaps. i wasn't impressed with the sound quality of the unit through headphones. i messed with the EQ but couldn't find any setting that worked for me.  i also thought the bluetooth connection was iffy. i would have the unit in my pocket and i'd hear dropoputs repeatedly. 

after all this, i decided to return the unit.  i much prefer the quality of my Cowon iAudio 7.  i have used it almost daily for the last 10 years, the sound is fantastic, and the battery life is still great. 
A good friend will come bail you out of jail, but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn... We F**ked Up."

Schoeps MK4s / AT831s / DPA4061s
Nbox / Tinybox v1.5 / SPSB-11 / CSbox
M10 / R09 / D100

07/19 Pearl Jam @ Wrigley Field
08/01 QOTSA @ Metro
08/02 Lollapalooza (NIN / QOTSA / Thievery / Band of Horses)
08/15 QOTSA @ Red Rocks
09/23 Arctic Monkeys @ Riviera Theater
10/18 Pearl Jam @ Barclays
10/19 Pearl Jam @ Barclays
10/21 Pearl Jam @ Wells Fargo Center
10/22 Pearl Jam @ Wells Fargo Center
11/15 NIN @ Hard Rock
11/16 NIN @ Hard Rock
12/06 Pearl Jam @ Key Arena

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.309 seconds with 47 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company