Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3  (Read 28206 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1416
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #285 on: August 03, 2017, 01:16:11 PM »
I'm trying to figure out the best used for 5 and 6 on mini.  I'm thinking about using it for my ccm4 / tinybox rig.  What are most people using 5 and 6 for?
Mics: Schoeps MK5 G MP, Schoeps CCM 4 Lg MP, Schoeps MK8 MP, nBob cables > PFA, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Naiant Tinybox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10

http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6503
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #286 on: August 03, 2017, 02:04:52 PM »
I'm trying to figure out the best used for 5 and 6 on mini.  I'm thinking about using it for my ccm4 / tinybox rig.  What are most people using 5 and 6 for?
thats what I was going to do then I read it overloads easier then the xlr, at least for a board patch, and I held off.
In fairness someone then posted a chart and it doesn't seem like it would overload in most situations that I would be doing anyway
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (129)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3860
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #287 on: August 03, 2017, 03:40:38 PM »
You can link 1/2 and 3/4 as stereo pairs on the Mixpre-6.  You can't currently link all 4 channels.  I have owned and used a DR680, DR-70d, and R-44 and none of them come close to the quality of the Mixpre-6.  With the button placement on the front(there aren't many) and most features activated throught the touch menu a hold button isn't needed for me.  The R-44 has alot of switches on the top of the deck so I could see needing to use hold.  I never like that about the R-44.   I didn't like the R-44 gain sturcture either, but off topic.  If you buy a Mixpre-6 you won't be disappointed I'm 100% sure of that.   

It seems complicated to me too but that's reading everything here and not actually having one in hand.
I think if you have one in hand it would be much simpler because you can actually see everything and play with it

Yeah. Makes sense. I need to see one in the field and ask some questions.

Still, no hold button and lack of linked gain is kind of the two obvious things need fixing before I buy.

My R-44 works fine for now (even without linked gain it's self).
« Last Edit: August 03, 2017, 03:44:55 PM by jbell »
Schoeps MK4's, MK41's> KCY 250/5 Ig> Naiant PFA(60V)> Sound Devices Mixpre-6

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40568
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #288 on: August 03, 2017, 04:21:01 PM »

Wow... OK, that's weird. So the only option for file output is also it outputs a 4ch WAV file? That's what it gave me when I recorded it with "OFF, LINKED."


This is not actually correct. What you actually have is a polywave file. The deck records polywave files, which I quickly learned makes life much easier. But the files need to be opened in an appropriate app like soundforge or reaper. I am sure there are many others. I use soundforge and opening the file gave me six channels, each stereo pair being a different color. So I could then easily separate them, but the beauty is, I could track each set identically and at the exact same time before splitting them up. It is effortless and beneficial to have the files set up this way. Yes if you just open the file like a regular .wav file, it will play all the tracks together, but the deck was designed it appears for the beginner (Basic Mode, 2 channels only, no polywave files) or Custom and Advanced, where most professionals are going to open their files to do some post work. And even if not it is effortless to then save each stereo pair separately.

I'm running the latest version of Audition on Mac. I assume it can handle it correctly, though I'm not sure what settings to use. Anyone have experience with that particular program?

Audition can open polywave files, from the Edit Menu > Enable Channels  Just disable the channels you don't want to save. You can then either copy and paste
into a new audio file, or export as a new file. You can export single channels as mono tracks or stereo pairs,
then import them into the multitrack editor. This is fantastic and allows you a lot of different ways to work on the files.

Thanks, that is super helpful.

Obvious dumb question -- I assume if a polywave file is 4-6 tracks, you still get the 2GB limit? Or in other words, if it's recording a 4ch polywave at 24/48, it doesn't make it cut a new track every 1hr, does it?

I'm about 90% sure its @2gb! The Poly WAV files when I recorded Phish@24/96 were split @4gb each though.

And having to deal with the Poly Wavs is really easy if you download the SD Wave Agent v1.20 program that is JUST meant to convert Poly>Mono or Mono>Poly files ;)

And it tells you which channels are which! IF you're recording the LR Mix, then THAT'S Mono Channels 1&2 in SD Wave Agent v1.20, then followed by Channels 1&2 as Mono Tracks 3/4 in Wave Agent, and then Channels 3&4 would be Tracks 5&6 in Wave Agent, and Channels 5/6 would be Tracks 7/8. However, if you're ONLY recording ISO Tracks and NOT the LR Mix as well, then the channels are the same, meaning Channels 1&2 are Channels 1&2, Channels 3&4 are Tracks 3/4 in Wave Agent, etc.

Then you can easily open the mono WAVs in ANY editing software like WL6 & SF and save them as stereo pairs! It's just a SLIGHT new workflow for me! Here's my new workflow since I got my MP6 ;)

Processing:
SD Wave Agent v1.20[Poly>Mono WAVs] > WaveLab v6.11[Fades/Gain] > [WAV@24/96] >
SoundForge Pro v10.0a[iZotope 64-Bit SRC(Highest) & MBIT+ Dither(Ultra/High)] > [WAV@16/44.1] >
CD Wave v1.98[Tracking/Cue Sheets] > CKRename v1.08[Name Files] >
Traders Little Helper v2.7.0[FLAC/Level 8/Fix SBE's/Verify/FFP/MD5/ST5] > [FLACs@16/44.1] >
MP3Tag v2.83[Tag FLACs] > .FLAC16 Folder
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1706
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #289 on: August 04, 2017, 02:26:20 AM »
You can link 1/2 and 3/4 as stereo pairs on the Mixpre-6.  You can't currently link all 4 channels.  I have owned and used a DR680, DR-70d, and R-44 and none of them come close to the quality of the Mixpre-6.  With the button placement on the front(there aren't many) and most features activated throught the touch menu a hold button isn't needed for me.  The R-44 has alot of switches on the top of the deck so I could see needing to use hold.  I never like that about the R-44.   I didn't like the R-44 gain sturcture either, but off topic.  If you buy a Mixpre-6 you won't be disappointed I'm 100% sure of that.   

It seems complicated to me too but that's reading everything here and not actually having one in hand.
I think if you have one in hand it would be much simpler because you can actually see everything and play with it

Yeah. Makes sense. I need to see one in the field and ask some questions.

Still, no hold button and lack of linked gain is kind of the two obvious things need fixing before I buy.

My R-44 works fine for now (even without linked gain it's self).

Stop it. I'm trying to talk myself OUT.
Mics:
DPA 4028 (wide cards)
DPA 4023 (cards)
Earthworks TC25 (omnis) 

Pres and a/d's:
Oade ACM Grace Lunatec V3 (FOR SALE - Make Offer)
bm2p+ Edirol UA-5 (FOR SALE - Make Offer)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre-10T
Oade CM Edirol R-44 (FOR SALE - Make Offer)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1416
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #290 on: August 04, 2017, 09:57:53 AM »
Stop it. I'm trying to talk myself OUT.

Do it!  All of the cool kids are trying it.   >:D
Mics: Schoeps MK5 G MP, Schoeps CCM 4 Lg MP, Schoeps MK8 MP, nBob cables > PFA, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Naiant Tinybox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10

http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider

Offline johnw

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3744
  • Gender: Male
    • My cd List
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #291 on: August 04, 2017, 02:07:29 PM »
Is there any way to compress a polywave file for archiving? It seems flac doesn't work
Schoeps MK41 & MK4V  |  Schoeps CMC6, Schoeps KCY, AKI/2C, PFA, Nbox Cable/PFA  |  Grace V2, Nbox Platinum  |  SD744T, SD MixPre 6, Sony PCM M10

Canon 16-35mm/2.8L mkii, 24-70mm/2.8L, 70-200mm/2.8L IS, 50mm/1.8 mkii, 135mm/2L, 100mm/2.8L IS, Sigma 35mm/1.4 A  |  Canon 5D mk4

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1416
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #292 on: August 04, 2017, 07:09:21 PM »
I'm trying to figure out the best used for 5 and 6 on mini.  I'm thinking about using it for my ccm4 / tinybox rig.  What are most people using 5 and 6 for?
thats what I was going to do then I read it overloads easier then the xlr, at least for a board patch, and I held off.
In fairness someone then posted a chart and it doesn't seem like it would overload in most situations that I would be doing anyway

I think that I might try to run my PSP-2 mini out into 5 & 6 and try it out.  I can run XLR SBD into 1 & 2 or 3 &4 with another set of mics.
Mics: Schoeps MK5 G MP, Schoeps CCM 4 Lg MP, Schoeps MK8 MP, nBob cables > PFA, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Naiant Tinybox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10

http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40568
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #293 on: August 05, 2017, 12:58:35 AM »
Is there any way to compress a polywave file for archiving? It seems flac doesn't work

Not that I have found John :( I tried TLH and FLAC Frontend, and nothing worked on the 6 channel polywavs

And you currently CANNOT Link Channels 1/2 and 3/4 with the v1.11 FW and using the MP6 in Custom Mode, with the Gain@Basic! That's really the ONLY FW Update that I can think of that I personally want done! Once I can run in Custom[Gain@Basic] and link Channels 1/2 and 3/4 I'll be a very happy camper :) That said, it's not very hard to get my levels damn near perfect just using the individual gain knobs! But I'd love to be able to Link 1/2 & 3/4 like my old SD722, where Channel 1 controls gain, and Channel 2 controls balance between the two linked channels!
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40568
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #294 on: August 05, 2017, 01:11:01 AM »
I'm trying to figure out the best used for 5 and 6 on mini.  I'm thinking about using it for my ccm4 / tinybox rig.  What are most people using 5 and 6 for?
thats what I was going to do then I read it overloads easier then the xlr, at least for a board patch, and I held off.
In fairness someone then posted a chart and it doesn't seem like it would overload in most situations that I would be doing anyway

I have some Naiant -12db MPD XLR Attenuators that will work perfectly for Channels 5/6 of my rig! Whether I'm running VMS02IB>5/6 of the MP6, or a SBD Patch>5/6, I can run the -12db [I might get some -20db MPD's made just for the 5/6 inputs of my MP6] MPD's in-between that and the MP6 and run a pretty damn hot signal into 5/6 after that :) The -20db MPD's would be strictly for 5/6 of my MP6. Since the MPD's are only around $16/each, that's a relatively cheap way IMO [$32+Shipping from Naiant] to get around the hotter signals for 5/6 and never have to worry about it again! I'll be using the XLR MPD's to go from XLR [VMS or SBD]->Hosa Y Cable [Dual Female XLR->Single Rt Angle 1/8" Mini Cable]>1/8" Mini Jack of my MP6! That way, I won't EVER have to worry about frying an expensive SBD or external preamp by accidentally sending Phantom Power to it, so the 5/6 Jack will be STRICTLY for a SBD Patch or VMS outs! Does that make sense? So for UNDER $40, you can get [2] -20db Naiant MPD's and NEVER have to worry about your 5/6 jack and a hot signal ever again when running LINE IN, as well as EVER frying a SBD or preamp because of sending it Phantom Power :) That's pretty reasonable IMO after spending as much as I have on my rigs!
« Last Edit: August 05, 2017, 01:13:01 AM by F.O.Bean »
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline vwmule

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1529
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #295 on: August 05, 2017, 01:39:00 PM »
> I was able to transfer the presets from EdTyre's recorder by having him send me his preset folder and loading them through the sd card.

That's a good idea. Can you share with all? How about a 2 channel, 4 channel and 4 mic/2 sbd set up?

Offline aaronji

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2228
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #296 on: August 08, 2017, 10:14:24 AM »
I'm about 90% sure its @2gb! The Poly WAV files when I recorded Phish@24/96 were split @4gb each though.

Per Paul Isaacs, it's 4 GB.

For powering, I'm not even using the USB power option. Just the 8AA sled for stealth and the L-mount sled for open.

Which batteries are you using with the L-mount sled?  The big ones (like the Sony NP-F970) are really bulky, but the mid-size ones (like Sony NP-F770) aren't so huge.  I am really curious what sort of run-time you could get with the 770s (or even the 570 size)...

Also, for archiving the polywaves, you can probably just use a standard zip utility.

Offline nolamule

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 533
  • where's my mule?
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #297 on: August 08, 2017, 11:52:59 AM »
Testing setup: Firmware 1.11, Custom Mode w/ Basic Gain, Brightness 1 & 1, Monitor gain at 40, 2 channel phantom, and recording ISOs and L/R Mixes, Bluetooth on
Source: MK41s > KCY 250/5 > JT inters > +60V PFA > MP6

Sony NP-F570 - 1.5 hours


For powering, I'm not even using the USB power option. Just the 8AA sled for stealth and the L-mount sled for open.

Which batteries are you using with the L-mount sled?  The big ones (like the Sony NP-F970) are really bulky, but the mid-size ones (like Sony NP-F770) aren't so huge.  I am really curious what sort of run-time you could get with the 770s (or even the 570 size)...

Also, for archiving the polywaves, you can probably just use a standard zip utility.

Offline gewwang

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5897
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #298 on: August 08, 2017, 12:01:32 PM »
Testing setup: Firmware 1.11, Custom Mode w/ Basic Gain, Brightness 1 & 1, Monitor gain at 40, 2 channel phantom, and recording ISOs and L/R Mixes, Bluetooth on
Source: MK41s > KCY 250/5 > JT inters > +60V PFA > MP6

Sony NP-F570 - 1.5 hours


For powering, I'm not even using the USB power option. Just the 8AA sled for stealth and the L-mount sled for open.

Which batteries are you using with the L-mount sled?  The big ones (like the Sony NP-F970) are really bulky, but the mid-size ones (like Sony NP-F770) aren't so huge.  I am really curious what sort of run-time you could get with the 770s (or even the 570 size)...

Also, for archiving the polywaves, you can probably just use a standard zip utility.

I've only used a pair of the NP-F970 size with mine but haven't run a full test to get the max time. I have a petrol bag with the dividers removed so when the batteries allow the recorder to stand upright and then i put a preamp on top of one of the batteries and put all the extra mic cable slack over the other battery.

Offline aaronji

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2228
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 3
« Reply #299 on: August 08, 2017, 06:43:30 PM »
Sony NP-F570 - 1.5 hours

Was that one or a pair?  The NP-F770 is twice the mAh, so likely about twice the time (for similar settings and mic draw, of course).

I've only used a pair of the NP-F970 size with mine but haven't run a full test to get the max time. I have a petrol bag with the dividers removed so when the batteries allow the recorder to stand upright and then i put a preamp on top of one of the batteries and put all the extra mic cable slack over the other battery.

Thanks!  I think that would work in my bag also.  If you ever do a full test, I would be curious to hear the results!

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.233 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company