Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need Help With Hi-8 Tapes  (Read 1156 times)

Psinka and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline nomotrouble

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Need Help With Hi-8 Tapes
« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2017, 09:49:08 AM »
I have also transferred 35 old tapes to digital. Think i still have the old camera in the box with the tapes. It takes awhile but it's straight forward. I would guess your best bet is to purchase a camcorder on ebay and try it yourself. Really rewarding to have digital copies. I transferred all of our old baby videos, my adult kids just love them now.

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: Need Help With Hi-8 Tapes
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2017, 04:28:21 PM »
I forget the Sony Camcorder model number that I used, but all I've ever done is transfer the hi-8 tape from the camcorder to my PC over firewire.  Would there be much room for improvement transferring the video over a canopus or other similar setup.  I've always assumed that the transfer from the camcorder was pretty much as good as it was likely to get because the original recordings just weren't that great to start with, but am I being mistaken?

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: Need Help With Hi-8 Tapes
« Reply #17 on: September 19, 2017, 04:32:01 AM »
I forget the Sony Camcorder model number that I used, but all I've ever done is transfer the hi-8 tape from the camcorder to my PC over firewire.  Would there be much room for improvement transferring the video over a canopus or other similar setup.  I've always assumed that the transfer from the camcorder was pretty much as good as it was likely to get because the original recordings just weren't that great to start with, but am I being mistaken?

I've used both methods quite a bit and have never noticed any difference.  Having said that - going straight from the video cam to the computer via firewire (known as analog to digital pass-through) only requires one connection (the firewire cable).  Going from a videocam to the Canopus requires RCA cables, and then from the Canopus to the computer requires a firewire.  So it stands to reason that you're increasing your chances for problems to occur if you use a set up that requires two connections vs one connection.

And on a related note - if you're in the market for a used digital 8mm cam that has analog to digital pass-through - be aware - some have it and some don't.  And there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of rhyme or reason in terms of some model numbers in a series having it and others not having it, i.e., the DCR-TRV 240 has it, the DCR-TRV 260 may not have it, but the DCR-TRV 280 has it.  Unless you already know for a fact that a particular model number has it, make sure you ask the person selling the cam if it has analog to digital pass-through.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards) & AT853 cards
Pre: CA-9100
Deck: Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4k), Sony DSC HX50V
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: Need Help With Hi-8 Tapes
« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2017, 03:58:52 PM »
Thanks.

Offline andante

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: Need Help With Hi-8 Tapes
« Reply #19 on: Yesterday at 09:46:07 AM »
I forget the Sony Camcorder model number that I used, but all I've ever done is transfer the hi-8 tape from the camcorder to my PC over firewire.  Would there be much room for improvement transferring the video over a canopus or other similar setup.  I've always assumed that the transfer from the camcorder was pretty much as good as it was likely to get because the original recordings just weren't that great to start with, but am I being mistaken?

I've used both methods quite a bit and have never noticed any difference.  Having said that - going straight from the video cam to the computer via firewire (known as analog to digital pass-through) only requires one connection (the firewire cable).  Going from a videocam to the Canopus requires RCA cables, and then from the Canopus to the computer requires a firewire.  So it stands to reason that you're increasing your chances for problems to occur if you use a set up that requires two connections vs one connection.


I'm very interested in this topic because I've just inherited about 40 8mm videocam tapes to convert for viewing on computer.

So far in my researching I've learned that the analog-to-digital pass through method encodes your old video8 & Hi* tapes (in real time) to a lossy DV (Digital8) format for export which unfortunately discards much of the color information especially for NTSC tapes (4.1.1):

Color Subsampling, or What is 4:4:4 or 4:2:2??
http://blogs.adobe.com/VideoRoad/2010/06/color_subsampling_or_what_is_4.html   

Since most of the tapes I have are in excellent condition I think it is worth the extra effort to preserve the colors.  I went ahead and bought one of those tiny USB capture devices (Diamond VC500) and am in the process of setting up a computer for capturing.

And on a related note - if you're in the market for a used digital 8mm cam that has analog to digital pass-through - be aware - some have it and some don't.  And there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of rhyme or reason in terms of some model numbers in a series having it and others not having it, i.e., the DCR-TRV 240 has it, the DCR-TRV 260 may not have it, but the DCR-TRV 280 has it.  Unless you already know for a fact that a particular model number has it, make sure you ask the person selling the cam if it has analog to digital pass-through.


This guy put together an extensive list of Camera's that have firewire ports that will encode and export analog Video8 and Hi8 tapes to DV (Digital8) via the firewire port:

Digitizing Video8 and Hi8 recordings
https://tdb0.wordpress.com/2015/01/31/digitizing-video8-and-hi8-recordings/

These two forums have tons of information:
https://forum.videohelp.com/
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: Need Help With Hi-8 Tapes
« Reply #20 on: Yesterday at 10:21:45 PM »
So far in my researching I've learned that the analog-to-digital pass through method encodes your old video 8 & Hi8 tapes (in real time) to a lossy DV (Digital8) format for export which unfortunately discards much of the color information especially for NTSC tapes (4.1.1):

I don't think the analog-to-digital pass through encodes video - it just captures the raw analog video from the tape and converts it to digital.  And DV is as you said - a lossy format.  But that's all you're going to be able to get off of a regular 8mm tape.  It is possible to artificially bloat it out to uncompressed video after you capture it, but that's like taking an mp3 and saving it as a wave file.  Compressed digital video you capture from an 8mm tape is around 13GBs per hour of video.  Where as uncompressed digital video is much, much larger.  It's really only used in movie studios and it's something like 33GB per minute of video.

So don't worry about losing color in the capture process - because it's already lost.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards) & AT853 cards
Pre: CA-9100
Deck: Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4k), Sony DSC HX50V
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.08 seconds with 29 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company