Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Rotate right angle Neutrik connectors on Dogstar cables?  (Read 3184 times)

Offline terabyte23

• Trade Count: (14)
  • Taperssection Regular
Rotate right angle Neutrik connectors on Dogstar cables?
« on: January 05, 2009, 01:12:49 AM »
Hi folks.  I got a used set of Segue Dogstar cables recently to go with my R-44.  They are great, but the right-angle Neutrik connectors attach to the R-44 such that the cables point straight down (see picture).  This is fine if I am set up on the edge of a table, but I am often not set up on the edge of a table (nor do I typically want to be).

Is it possible to modify/rotate the right-angle connectors so that the cables extend out toward the front of the R-44?  This would be great for having the unit in the gear bag.  I am a newbie when it comes to cable modification, but I am fairly handy.  Thanks for your advice.
AKG ck61/ck63 > Naiant couplings > Naiant Tinybox > M10
CA-14 cards/omnis > SP-SPSB-8 > M10

Offline RobertNC

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
Re: Rotate right angle Neutrik connectors on Dogstar cables?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 01:44:06 AM »
Yes the barrels can be rotated.  I bought a set of Hydra cables from Nick (great cables by the way, have since bought another pair and love them) with RA Neutriks and in the config I bought them they did not fit my deck at all.  If you open one up you will see how they are constructed and how the inner barrel that provides the pin alignment can be rotated to I think 6 or 8 different positions relative to the outer shell.

Doing so I guess depends on just how handy you are.  I'm not very handy at all myself, lol I tried to do it myself and ended up sending them back to Nick to do it right, lol, but I'm not good with this kind of stuff and don't own a soldering iron.  But yes, they can be realigned.