Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: best cables?  (Read 4448 times)

Offline tommyn473

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • sure don't know what i'm goin' for...
best cables?
« on: July 02, 2003, 11:33:31 AM »
Greetings tapers!

I have no taping experience, but I'm working on putting together my first rig.  Thanks to the advice and suggestions of Brian Skalinder I've put together somewhat of a phantom rig in my mind.  I plan to run ADK A-51TLs > Edirol UA5 > D8....
   I haven't bought anything yet, so if anyone has other suggestions feel free to let me know... I'm a guy on a budget - the goal is to build the rig and keep the girlfriend ; )
    I currently have 1 million questions so I'll just start with one.  If I buy the ADKs (or any other type) will they come with the cables I need, or do y'all customize and purchase new cables to run to your preamp/dat?  
are there certain cables that really kick butt?

"baby steps to the cable shop...."

- Tom

Offline wboswell

• Needs to get out more...
  • Don't call what you're wearing an outfit
    • Trey Woodruff on guitar
Re:best cables?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2003, 11:41:37 AM »
Personally, I began with something cheap and upgraded everything else before I did the cables.  You'll get much better results by investing in better mics than better cables.  That being said, with some patience, you'll find someone upgradinging their nice "old" cables for something new.  I have seen some really good deals on used cables on this board and others.  Used pays!

Offline geoff piper

• Taperssection Member
  • I regret selling my rig :(
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2003, 11:46:30 AM »