Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Waveform anomaly  (Read 2616 times)

Offline ButchAlmberg

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Waveform anomaly
« on: July 07, 2015, 09:34:09 AM »
I am delving into my first attempt at post processing. The recording is an Umphreys show recently at Jones Beach, an outdoor venue on the beach in NY. I am concerned with the waveform as it is displayed in Sound Forge Pro (mac). As I have never done this before, let alone with SFP, I am learning as I go. Is this waveform anomaly a concern? If so, is there a remedy?
Line Audio CM-3, CM-4, Lewitt
Sound Devices MixPre-6 II |  Tascam DR-70D

Team Line Audio

Offline dnsacks

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Waveform anomaly
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2015, 10:46:02 AM »
each of the waveforms represents a channel.  I'm not seeing any "anomaly" -- simply seeing that the top channel was a bit hotter (higher levels) than the bottom channel -- You could try boosting the levels on the bottom channel to match the top

Offline rocksuitcase

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • RockSuitcase: stage photography
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 01:17:23 PM »
Butch, I agree with dnsacks. that looks alike a "normal" .wav file, just the top (typically Left ch) is hotter than the bottom (typically Right ch).
This type of file occurs to me when:
1] the placement of the mics is too far left or right and this is what they picked up
2] One of the mics gets turned outward on the mount or if head worn, you faced your head toward the stage while sitting off center.
3] the levels were set that way (accidentally)
4] the mic with lower levels may be damaged or not calibrated similar to the other mic (very low probability considering the screenshot; just trying to be thorough for you!)

Some DAW programs will allow you to raise the level of RT or Left independently; I don't use SF so can't comment on that.
Good luck- keep at it brother!  8)
music IS love