Taperssection.com

Gear / Technical Help => Battery Boxes, Preamps, Mixers, ADCs, and Processors => Topic started by: MULETAPER on December 03, 2017, 12:39:28 PM

Title: best way to send signal from V3>Dr680
Post by: MULETAPER on December 03, 2017, 12:39:28 PM
AES or coax/spidif?

ssia.

Thanks, Ive never ran my V3>680 was thinking of bringing to xmas jam. I just want to know the best way to run this combo... thanks.

Oh.. SLA battery... how many MAH will get me thru 10hrs?
Title: Re: best way to send signal from V3>Dr680
Post by: jbell on December 03, 2017, 12:43:15 PM
I always ran mine coax/ spdif cable!!  Worked fine into the 680. 
Title: Re: best way to send signal from V3>Dr680
Post by: MULETAPER on December 03, 2017, 12:48:35 PM
what setting do I need to change on 680 to accept it? mix mon/din mon?
Title: Re: best way to send signal from V3>Dr680
Post by: jbell on December 03, 2017, 02:38:11 PM
It has been a while since I've owned a 680 so I'm not sure.  There is a way to run it digi as channel 7/8 or 5/6.  Maybe someone that owns one will chime in.  Sorry

what setting do I need to change on 680 to accept it? mix mon/din mon?
Title: Re: best way to send signal from V3>Dr680
Post by: achalsey on December 03, 2017, 04:08:38 PM
If you want 7/8 to be the digital input: In the 'REC' menu set the 'stereo rec.' to DIN

If you want 5/6 to be the digital input: In the 'REC' menu set the 'stereo rec' to 'mix' and in the 'I/O' menu set the 'input select' to 'DIGITAL'

The 680 manual (pdf): https://www.avisoft.com/DR-680.pdf (pages 25 and 28 are what you're looking for.)

I've never used a V3, but I'm lazy so S/PDIF seems like the easiest way to go.  Just need a mono RCA cable.
Title: Re: best way to send signal from V3>Dr680
Post by: Gutbucket on December 04, 2017, 11:14:07 AM
^ Confirmed. 

SPDIF via RCA cable.  Display on the 680 will indicate DIN LOCK when signal is detected from the V3 and will lock to the SPDIF clock signal.  Pushing the ENTER key to dismisses the notice.  Similarly, the display will indicate DIN UNLOCK if the connection is lost, upon which the 680 will revert to it's internal 680 clock, and does so seamlessly without glitching the recording.
Title: Re: best way to send signal from V3>Dr680
Post by: MULETAPER on December 04, 2017, 12:08:29 PM
thanks, looking forward to putting the V3 in front of the neumanns.