Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Raspberry Pi Bit Bucket Project  (Read 20626 times)

Offline jerryfreak

• No PZ
  • Trade Count: (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Raspberry Pi Bit Bucket Project
« on: April 09, 2014, 04:31:36 AM »
its 2014 and we still dont have a reliable, cheap simple bit bucket.

time to take the bull by the horns

http://www.element14.com/community/community/raspberry-pi/raspberry-pi-accessories/wolfson_pi/blog/2014/03/14/can-you-hear-the-wolfson-calling-setting-up-and-using-the-wolfson-audio-card

im just starting to look at this but seems the community has already mastered the tech we need.

im thinking super simple interface with auto-boot scripts to select sample rate

im a total raspberry pi newb so i have no idea how ti works. hardware support seems solid we just need someone good with linux who can dial in a kernel for our purposes, and potentially down the road an optional ui to make it more user-friendly

i say we keep it simple and go for spdif in/out only and maybe headphone monitoring. we dont need another pcm-m10

I started a  thread about it over there:

http://www.element14.com/community/thread/32886/l/simple-spdif-recorder

the alsa/ecasound experience i referenced was using a PDaudioCF card with a sony U3 way back when we didnt have 24/96k soundcards for laptop recording:

https://archive.org/details/sci2003-10-31.flac24

at the time the vx pocket was the standard but of course only did 48K and the only way to get 24/96 was using that card with a PDA. (702T didnt exist yet). that particular soundcard was more reliable with the linux laptop than with the live24-96 pda software. there are already alsa drivers for this wolfson card and thats 99% of the battle

from what i read so far this should be easy, well need to pull together on case design, power options, etc. im thinking trying to maybe get an order together of like 20 cases or something.