Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: First SDCs for live taping?  (Read 6113 times)

Offline rocksuitcase

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • RockSuitcase: stage photography
Re: First SDCs for live taping?
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2017, 08:36:15 AM »
I'm another University trained Acoustician. I studied Psychoacoustics and room acoustics at Syracuse in the early 1980's under Dr's. Joseph Sturr and Edward Cudahy. I also did some time in studios then formed a company which designed signal processors and ultimately wound up in PA and video installation in nightclubs, theaters etc. Later on I actually got to work with Vincent van Haaff doing real room acoustics work.
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/for-those-we-have-lost-memorials-rips-amp-obituaries/1087425-rip-vincent-van-haaff-studio-designer.html
https://vintageking.com/blog/2016/05/vincent-van-haaff/

The world of acoustics is different from the world of recording live music which incorporates what we know and places us in the "real world". Microphone selection as you have evidenced is a very "specific to the situation" type of deal when in studio. Having only a certain tool or two when going live makes it a different sort of challenge. As Gutbucket said, when asking what sorts of recording you will do, a lot of what you choose to buy should be considering the "what type of situation" almost over anything. Since you are starting out, I am with the spend your money on good stuff and avoid the mediocre stuff either way. I run with kindms, and his statement last summer was: it looks as if microphones and pre-amps are the things to spend money on, decks and such are always changing and you have to be willing to move on when the technologies change, BUT a good solid microphone can last years.