Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie - needs quick advice!  (Read 6002 times)

Offline BG4444

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Newbie - needs quick advice!
« on: July 01, 2013, 03:21:16 PM »
I have a show to bootleg this weekend, and I am totally new at recording. I was referred to this site from the bands message board, where I was told:

"Pick up a recorder like the Tascam DR-05 - it's under $80 at Amazon. This recorder has built in mics, but I would definitely recommend getting some external mics along with a battery box/pre-amp."

I posted in this section of the forum because it looks like I need a recorder, external mics, and a battery box/ pre amp.

Would anyone here be able to give me quick advice on what items to purchase, and if I can pick them up at a store such a best buy, guitar world, or some place like that...I was wondering if I would be able to use the equipment to record a show and return it to the store the next day.

I see you have some guides for newbies but unfortunately I do not have much time!

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Offline F.O.Bean

• Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: Newbie - needs quick advice!
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 03:47:59 PM »
I would buy these and a Sony PCM-m10 recorder

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=162535.0
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250|0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v|Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline jagraham

• Trade Count: (20)
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2013, 04:13:16 PM »