Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How can i play music from my HD using sqeezebox and squeeze center or other?  (Read 2956 times)

Offline bluntforcetrauma

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
    • http://themovementschool.org
i did some searching but i am totally new to this idea.

I am looking for a way to play my music from my HD's --I am a little tired of the Cd's

could someone please help with with some sort of lineage of devices i would need in order to set up these change of events.

And is squeezebox the system to get?

What devices would one need to run remote music from my HD?  i have  computers so what would be next?

thanks

please advise

Offline scervin

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
I think I run exactly what you are looking for:

HD>Squeezebox Duet>Marantz pre/pro>Odyssey Stratos Extreme SE> waiting for new speakers to arrive

I went to a HD based system because my son (19 months) would get into the CD's and toss them everywhere.  I ended up with the Duet because I don't have room up front for the SB3 and I find the Duet easier to use throughout the house.  I have an external 500 GB drive hooked to a very old laptop that has USB 1.1 and works fine.  I plan on getting a refurb XP pro desktop box with internal 1 TB drive.

SC

Offline bluntforcetrauma

• Taperssection Member
nice,

i run mac computer but that is what i was looking for.

a lineage of devices on how to play from the external hard drive.

I have 17 external HD's

Offline bluntforcetrauma

• Taperssection Member

HD>Squeezebox Duet>Marantz pre/pro>Odyssey Stratos Extreme SE> waiting for new speakers to arrive