Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: LDC from the section  (Read 5874 times)

Offline Jhurlbs81

• Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • My LMA collection
LDC from the section
« on: October 09, 2015, 11:19:32 AM »
Hey All-

Wanted to pick everyone's brains for advice on running LDC from the section in an arena.  I've never used LDC mics before and really don't know much about how they differ sound quality wise.  From looking through some older posts, I've read comments like "they're not as detailed, but they're deep and smooth sounding".

My friend at Telefunken USA has a new pair of LDC they're beta testing and he  asked if I would run them at Phish MSG in December.  Should I run them like I would my small diaphragm condensers?  DINa hypers/ DIN card/PAS?  What do you think.  My seats are pretty much dead nuts center, at FOH. 

Thanks for your thoughts,
Jesse
FREE JERRYFREAK!

Offline JiB97

• Trade Count: (12)
    • My Archive Bookmarks
Re: LDC from the section
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2015, 12:04:23 PM »
if you look for tapes made by a taper named "padelimike" he  tapes using the AKG 414 and I've taped with him at MSG when he was using that setup.

http://bt.etree.org/details.php?id=561062  is one of his Phish recordings from 2012 at MSG using 414 hypers pointed at the stacks
AKG ck3/ck8 | c460b  + Naiant Actives | PFAs
Audio Technica u853r (omnis/mini-guns)
Tascam DR-70D

My Archive Links

Offline goodcooker

• Trade Count: (43)
  • goes to 11
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2015, 12:58:22 PM »

In that room from that location I would def run hypercardioid either DINa or PAS.
Line Audio CM3/OM1 || MBHO KA500 hyper>PFA|| ADK A51 type IV || AKG C522XY
Oade Warm Mod and Presence+ Mod UA5s || Aerco MP2(needs help) || Neve Portico 5012 || Apogee MMP
SD Mixpre6 || Oade Concert Mod DR100mkii

pocket sized - CA11 cards > SP SB10 > Sony PCM A10

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker