Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: I'm a video newbie and I need help: 60i, 60p, 24p, what?!  (Read 6648 times)

Offline mysticeyes

• Trade Count: (21)
  • Taperssection Regular
I'm a video newbie and I need help: 60i, 60p, 24p, what?!
« on: August 24, 2013, 02:28:58 PM »
Hello all,

I have lots of experience with still photography, but next to none with videography, and I have a new camera, a Sony NEX-VG30, if that matters. When in video - as opposed to still - mode, there are three submenus under the Image Quality/Size menu:

1. REC Mode: Highest Quality (FX) or High Quality (FH). According to the icons at the bottom of the screen, recording to AVCHD is not possible in FX, so I choose FH.

2. Frame Rate: 60i, 60p or 24p. If I were to shoot action or sports, I would use a higher frame rate, but my main objective is to record live music performances. I also remember that 24 frames per second is the standard speed of movies on film, so I choose 24p.

3. HD/STD Setting: of course, I choose HD.

Now, I'm hoping to get some help because I don't know the implications of these choices. As I mentioned above, I'm mainly concerned with shooting live music. After the show, I convert and save the MTS files in avi format. I don't own a Bluray player or burner, though I can play Bluray iso's on my computer. I don't know the first thing about using any kind of video editing software. What I need to know is, do the choices I make above make sense in terms of, first, archiving and, second, manipulating the videos later? Would shooting at a higher frame rate make it easier to edit? Are there other problems I have not thought of? Thanks for any help at all :).

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: I'm a video newbie and I need help: 60i, 60p, 24p, what?!
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2013, 11:38:03 AM »