Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers  (Read 488 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Gender: Male
Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« on: May 07, 2018, 09:08:48 PM »
I have an opportunity to borrow one of these for DAT transfers using digital out from my Sony PCM 2600 to Digi in on the 620. This should suffice, right? What card size will the 620 take. 4GB is all I need. 3 - 4 transfers per card is fine with me. Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2018, 10:15:41 PM by ts »

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2124
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Marantz PMD670
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2018, 09:17:39 PM »
It depends on the firmware version installed. Updating was a two stage process and Marantz required you to RMA the unit for them to update. After they stopped selling them new, you could call Marantz support and if you bugged them enough they would send you all the files to update. I am not sure who handles their support now on legacy products. 32gb is the max card size on the newest firmware and they work great for dat transfers.

Online jcable77

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 463
  • Gender: Male
  • Needs to stay in more
Re: Marantz PMD670
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2018, 09:19:04 PM »
I was about to say the 670 can only do 16 bit, but that must be a typo.
Telefunken m60’s tk60’s,61’s,62’s
AKG 460’s/480’s ck61’s>akg active naiant pfa’s>
V-3 or Sound Devices 302>Mini-Me>
R-44 or Dr-100mk3 and a Dr-40
Iso a pair of ck62’s

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2124
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Marantz PMD670
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2018, 09:26:00 PM »
That's correct, 16 bit only. The 671 did 24 bit.

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2018, 10:14:35 PM »
The owner of the deck, although he hasn’t used it in a few years, says it handled 8GB cards no problem. This sounds like the ticket for me. I only have about 25 - 30 Dats to transfer.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2018, 10:17:26 PM by ts »

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2124
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2018, 10:19:38 PM »
If it will do an 8gb, you should be fine.

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2018, 10:28:54 PM »
If it will do an 8gb, you should be fine.

Thanks. The 722 loaner was just for a couple days. Same guy has the 670 and he said I can keep it as long as I want.

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5414
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2018, 11:04:01 PM »
Should be fine - don’t think the 670 can do 32khz though - may not be an issue though
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2018, 08:02:45 AM »
So my opportunity to borrow the PMD670 fizzled out. Was able to use a SD702 for a few days and that had to go back. Now I’m going to try a PMD570. Grabbed one on eBay for 55 bucks. It has a digital in. Will do 16/48 and handle any size card. Even a rack mount. Just hope it works.

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2124
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2018, 08:14:35 AM »
I have one of these and really like it. I need to to the FW update on mine as it will only use 25th and lower cards. Again, the update is a complete PITA.

So my opportunity to borrow the PMD670 fizzled out. Was able to use a SD702 for a few days and that had to go back. Now I’m going to try a PMD570. Grabbed one on eBay for 55 bucks. It has a digital in. Will do 16/48 and handle any size card. Even a rack mount. Just hope it works.

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2018, 09:14:48 AM »
The manual says it will format up to 8GB on the deck and anything larger needs to be formatted on a PC. Am I missing something? I have a couple 4 Gig cards I was going to use.

 
I have one of these and really like it. I need to to the FW update on mine as it will only use 25th and lower cards. Again, the update is a complete PITA.

So my opportunity to borrow the PMD670 fizzled out. Was able to use a SD702 for a few days and that had to go back. Now I’m going to try a PMD570. Grabbed one on eBay for 55 bucks. It has a digital in. Will do 16/48 and handle any size card. Even a rack mount. Just hope it works.

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2124
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Marantz PMD670 for 16bit transfers
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2018, 09:35:06 AM »
These are totally capable of handling bigger cards but with the original release firmware on mine, it won't handle bigger than 2gb cards. For converting 16 bit dats, even a 2 gb card will give you 3 hours, so it shouldn't be a problem.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.089 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF