Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 1/8" or 3.5 mm  (Read 2904 times)

Offline drewski1986

• Trade Count: (19)
  • Taperssection Member
1/8" or 3.5 mm
« on: December 08, 2007, 10:47:50 AM »
I have an R-09 coming soon and was wondering about the input jack.  The edirol website says it has a 1/8" jack.  When I do the conversion this comes to 3.175 mm.  Do I need to make sure I get a 1/8 jack and not a 3.5 mm jack or is the difference so small it will not matter?  Also since I am a newbie, why or how do right angle plugs put less stress on the input jacks?  Thanks for any help you can give me.

Offline bluntforcetrauma

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
    • http://themovementschool.org
Re: 1/8" or 3.5 mm
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2007, 11:32:18 AM »
Right angle plugs put less stress on the input.  Meaning it decreases the coefficient of workload on the plug itself, by increasing its moment arm.  For example, say someone has injured there Right leg and they need to walk with a cane, what hand would you put the cane in order to walk effeciently?  If the Right leg is injured then the cane would be in the Left hand--why because when the cane is in the Left Hand you increase the moment arm of your leg bone on the right side thus decreasing stress on the injured leg.  Same as the right plug--at the moment of the right angle is the greatest of tension--NOT at the input at the edirol r-09.

for example, if you seen the show HOUSE, you know Dr. House uses a cane but he puts it in the wrong hand--notice how awkward and more energy he needs to walk around.  again due to his character traits, he is defiant in doing the most obvious things in order to be beneficial.