Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Green light  (Read 1675 times)

Offline adam10586

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Green light
« on: February 12, 2012, 01:54:10 AM »
Hello all,

Very nice community here I must say. I am terribly new to taping, but not gear related forums. Like a good member, I have used the search functions and read my eyes dry on this new interest of mine. Most of my questions have been answered, but some direction still remains for me. I want to learn this art and become fluent in it. I am a musician. I have owned a zoom h2 for around two years and done plenty of recording with it. However, I have also collected recordings of the concerts I attend, from various tapers. One band more so than others. So developed in me the interest to seek the endeavor of recording this band on two different occasions. Stealth of course. I packed my Zoom and I really am happy with my recordings, but when I study the gear choices of other tapers I see something to be desired. I can hear something more aggressive in their recordings. A certain level of depth I have yet to obtain. Now I know all to well how bad we can get with our gear and that level of obsession. I do not wish to tie down a grand in stealth recording. I'll leave that money to guitars. Although, I do want to learn all I can to make better recordings within the boundaries I have set. I am still researching the right mics. They should be sleek enough to pass off as headphones. My main concern now is finding the right recorder where an external preamp would not be required, and of course the power issue. So far the sony pcm-m10 is the best I can find in that category. So far this setup right here is what I am the happiest with sonically: dpa4061s > MMA6000 w/low cut @ 100hz > Microtrack 24/96(24 Bit Wav@48Khz)