Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig  (Read 8829 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tedyun

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #45 on: July 30, 2011, 05:49:03 PM »
I was just estimating the gain range -- those values aren't an exact measurement! I just wanted to demonstrate that within the gain range that I normally operate, the PSP-2 has pretty big steps.

Tell you what -- I'll try to use a signal generator and see if I can measure the gain range.



I contend that because of the stepped gain of the PSP-2, you need to do fine level adjustment at some point after the PSP-2.

Nice work on figuring out the gain range Ted!

The PSP-2 was originally designed to work with the DAT recorders of the early nineties. Gain is set on the PSP-2 and then you use the potentiometer on the DAT deck for trim. However, I wouldn't haul around a V3 for this function unless you intended to go digital out to the recording device.
Mics: B&K 4011, Schoeps MK5 (Nbobs, Naiant PFA), Busman BSC-1 (K11/K21/K31/K41 caps), Church CA-14 (o, c), Church CAFS, Core Sound Binaurals
Pre: EAA PSP-2,  Lunatec V3, Nbox-Platinum, Church CA-9200
ADC: Mytek 192 ADC, Oade Mod SBM-1
Rec: Oade Supermod PMD-661, Tascam DR60D, M-Audio MicroTrack II, Korg MR-1 (32GB SSD mod); Sony PCM-M10, Edirol R09HR; iRiver HP-120
Photo: Canon 5D3, Canon EF-S 17-55mm f2.8, Canon EF 35mm f1.4L Canon EF 24-70 f2.8L MkI, Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS MkI, Canon EF 50 mm f1.4, Canon EF 50 f1.2L, Canon EF 300 f/4L IS, Canon EF 100-400 f4-5.6L IS MkI
Video: Canon HF100

Offline tedyun

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #46 on: July 31, 2011, 01:35:39 AM »
The gain ranges I estimated were pretty close.

I set up my computer to generate a steady tone, then from my DAC (Headamp Pico), I fed an unbalanced signal to my V3, and then SPDIF out to my PMD-661. I adjusted the signal to a specific level on the meter using the gain and the trim on the V3. Then I placed the PSP-2 between the DAC and V3 and measured the signal increase. I used the balanced outs on the PSP-2.

Mic sens "-35": gain of +28 (ie., the meter increased from -40 dB to -12)
Gain switches +6 and +12 add +6 dB and +12 dB respectively.

Mic sens "-55": gain of +48 (the meter increased from -60 to -12)
Gain switches +6 and +12 add +6 dB and +12 dB respectively.

Mic sens "-70": gain of >+60 (the meter increased from -60 to "over"; I adjusted the trim on the V3 downwards by 4 dB, and it was right around 0, so I estimate that it adds about +65 dB)

That's the best I can do with my equipment I have on hand.

So the revised gain range for the PSP-2 is:

+28 (Mic sens: "-35"; Gain "0")
+34 (Mic sens: "-35"; Gain "+6")
+40 (Mic sens: "-35"; Gain "+12")
+48 (Mic sens: "-55"; Gain "0")
+54 (Mic sens: "-55"; Gain "+6")
+60 (Mic sens: "-55"; Gain "+12")
+65 (Mic sens: "-70"; Gain "0")
+71 (Mic sens: "-70"; Gain "+6")
+77 (Mic sens: "-70"; Gain "+12")

So there probably is a pretty big margin of error and it would be nice to get an actual number for the peak value instead of estimating it by eye. I would say +/- 5 dB. I tried feeding the signal to another computer but couldn't really get the digital in or line in to work.





I was just estimating the gain range -- those values aren't an exact measurement! I just wanted to demonstrate that within the gain range that I normally operate, the PSP-2 has pretty big steps.

Tell you what -- I'll try to use a signal generator and see if I can measure the gain range.



I contend that because of the stepped gain of the PSP-2, you need to do fine level adjustment at some point after the PSP-2.

Nice work on figuring out the gain range Ted!

The PSP-2 was originally designed to work with the DAT recorders of the early nineties. Gain is set on the PSP-2 and then you use the potentiometer on the DAT deck for trim. However, I wouldn't haul around a V3 for this function unless you intended to go digital out to the recording device.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 01:37:52 AM by tedyun »
Mics: B&K 4011, Schoeps MK5 (Nbobs, Naiant PFA), Busman BSC-1 (K11/K21/K31/K41 caps), Church CA-14 (o, c), Church CAFS, Core Sound Binaurals
Pre: EAA PSP-2,  Lunatec V3, Nbox-Platinum, Church CA-9200
ADC: Mytek 192 ADC, Oade Mod SBM-1
Rec: Oade Supermod PMD-661, Tascam DR60D, M-Audio MicroTrack II, Korg MR-1 (32GB SSD mod); Sony PCM-M10, Edirol R09HR; iRiver HP-120
Photo: Canon 5D3, Canon EF-S 17-55mm f2.8, Canon EF 35mm f1.4L Canon EF 24-70 f2.8L MkI, Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS MkI, Canon EF 50 mm f1.4, Canon EF 50 f1.2L, Canon EF 300 f/4L IS, Canon EF 100-400 f4-5.6L IS MkI
Video: Canon HF100

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2250
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #47 on: July 31, 2011, 01:36:18 PM »
+t!

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8389
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (57)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #49 on: August 01, 2011, 09:58:41 PM »
Well done!   I was going to that, but I'm so glad I didn't need to :)

+28 (Mic sens: "-35"; Gain "0")

Heh.  I knew that thing was damn hot at min gain.


New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3784
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #50 on: August 08, 2011, 10:43:03 PM »
so, are there any other hand held recorders out there that have spdif/coax in other than the M-Audio Microtracker?  Eventually, I'm going to upgrade recorders.  So far, sony pcm-m10 and tascam dr-100 are looking nice.  anybody used the dr-100?  hell...may even splurge on the dr-680???  ok, the 680 may be a stretch at the moment...but, you never know....
12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (64)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1046
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #51 on: August 08, 2011, 11:08:57 PM »
so, are there any other hand held recorders out there that have spdif/coax in other than the M-Audio Microtracker?  Eventually, I'm going to upgrade recorders.  So far, sony pcm-m10 and tascam dr-100 are looking nice.  anybody used the dr-100?  hell...may even splurge on the dr-680???  ok, the 680 may be a stretch at the moment...but, you never know....

The m10 and the dr100 do not have digi in.
Rig: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu> sonosax sx-m2/nv or ACM V3> SD 702

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3784
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #52 on: August 08, 2011, 11:14:28 PM »
so, are there any other hand held recorders out there that have spdif/coax in other than the M-Audio Microtracker?  Eventually, I'm going to upgrade recorders.  So far, sony pcm-m10 and tascam dr-100 are looking nice.  anybody used the dr-100?  hell...may even splurge on the dr-680???  ok, the 680 may be a stretch at the moment...but, you never know....

The m10 and the dr100 do not have digi in.

I know...but, those two have caught my eye.  Aside from those not having digi in and the M-audio...I was wondering if there were any other hand helds that might have digi in?  I haven't gotten the opti mod on my v3 and would rather find a recorder that had digi in, etc.

12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (64)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1046
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #53 on: August 08, 2011, 11:45:57 PM »
so, are there any other hand held recorders out there that have spdif/coax in other than the M-Audio Microtracker?  Eventually, I'm going to upgrade recorders.  So far, sony pcm-m10 and tascam dr-100 are looking nice.  anybody used the dr-100?  hell...may even splurge on the dr-680???  ok, the 680 may be a stretch at the moment...but, you never know....

The m10 and the dr100 do not have digi in.

I know...but, those two have caught my eye.  Aside from those not having digi in and the M-audio...I was wondering if there were any other hand helds that might have digi in?  I haven't gotten the opti mod on my v3 and would rather find a recorder that had digi in, etc.

I am looking for the same thing. It seems the smallest and best is the marantz pmd-661
Rig: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu> sonosax sx-m2/nv or ACM V3> SD 702

Offline newplanet7

  • Hasn't heard a muddy 460/480 tape. EVER. Mike Hawk
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3533
  • Gender: Male
  • The Place To Be...... Akustische u. Kino-Geräte
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #54 on: August 09, 2011, 12:16:43 AM »
d50
MILAB VM-44 Classic~> Silver T's~> Busman PMD660
News From Phish: Will tour as opening act for Widespread Panic for Summer
hahaha never happen, PHiSH is waaaaayyyy better the WSP

They both ain't got nothing on MMW... Money spent wisely if you ask me...


FYI, it is a kick ass recording of a bunch of pretend-a-hippies talking.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (64)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1046
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #55 on: August 09, 2011, 12:55:45 AM »
Rig: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu> sonosax sx-m2/nv or ACM V3> SD 702

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8389
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #56 on: August 09, 2011, 01:17:02 AM »
d50

Yes but isn't it optical

It is.

In general, the MT2, D50, and PMD661 are the smallest/cheapest 3 recorders that take a digital connection of some sort and are 24bit..

I did this math 8 months ago when I thought about adding an additional 2 channels to my capabilities.  :-[  :-\
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline TaperBryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3784
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vicarious existence is a fucking waste of time"
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #57 on: August 09, 2011, 09:12:00 AM »
the marantz pmd-661 is looks nice...spdif in as well as xlr ins.  that would work for my psp2>v3 combo.  I wouldnt have to run the odl-276 between the v3 and recorder anymore. 
12/17/11 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > EAA PSP-2 and/or Lunatec V3 > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Bros. Warm Mod)

2-7-07 rig update: AKG c480b(ck61/62/63) > Canare StarQuad mic cables > Lunatec V3 and/or EAA-PSP2 > ODL-276 > NJB3|D8.

Offline TNJazz

  • Ninja
  • Trade Count: (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5536
  • Gender: Male
  • "Those who know, know."
    • NINJA DYNAMITE
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #58 on: August 09, 2011, 11:08:12 AM »
I still think running through 2 preamps is a mistake.  If you're going to keep the PSP-2 you should sell the V3 and get a Mytek.
Check out my band!  --> http://www.ninjadynamite.com

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2250
Re: Adding the PSP2 back in my rig
« Reply #59 on: August 09, 2011, 11:13:46 AM »
I still think running through 2 preamps is a mistake.  If you're going to keep the PSP-2 you should sell the V3 and get a Mytek.

+t

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.22 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company