Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New To Taping Live Concerts. I dont know where to begin. Please Help Anybody.  (Read 6976 times)

Offline Chillin2611

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hello Everyone, I am new to trying to learn how to tape live concerts. I do not know where to begin. I was on Youtube ( Reference on youtube: User is Jontebus and his videos are awesome specifically Ghost @ Lisebergshallen, Gothenburg, Sweden - 2015-11-11) this user and I were chatting and he said he uses SHURE microphones to get that awesome sound but he never told me which model he uses. He referenced me to this dialogue page so here I am. I want to learn how to tape a live concert with getting as close to clean audio sound. I don't know what kind of recorder to buy and I don't know what kind of microphones to use. I have read about Sony PCM-10 I see that recorder referenced many times from this site. The bottom line is I want to learn how to record live concerts that produce  nice audience recording audio  can anybody recommend quality microphones and audio recorder. the most I would spend is up to $2,000. Please and Thank You.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2015, 03:53:14 PM by Chillin2611 »

Offline acidjack

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
Start with telling us your budget. For "studio quality" sound you need $6k or up. I don't think that is really what you mean.
Mics: Schoeps MK4V, MK41V, MK5, MK22> CMC6, KCY 250/5, KC5, NBob; MBHO MBP603/KA200N, AT 3031, DPA 4061 w/ d:vice, Naiant X-X, AT 853c, shotgun, Nak300
Pres/Power: Aerco MP2, tinybox v2  [KCY], CA-UBB
Decks: Sound Devices MixPre 6, Zoom F8, M10, D50

My recordings on nyctaper.com: http://www.nyctaper.com/?tag=acidjack | LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/acidjack | twitter: http://www.twitter.com/acidjacknyc | Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/acidjacknyc

Offline pillowman

• Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection Member