Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How to: UA5 digi mod  (Read 5683 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18714
  • Gender: Male
How to: UA5 digi mod
« on: August 05, 2003, 11:25:52 AM »
Stock Edirol UA5s cannot output standlone digital signals via coax/optical - these outputs are active only if a PC is connected to the UA5 via USB.

A simple modification enables standalone digital output via coax/optical without the need for a PC to be connected via USB.

Thanks to David Klein for the write-up!

http://ca.geocities.com/dkleined@rogers.com/audio/

Alternatively, the Oade Bros and Busman Audio offer this mod as an option on UA5s they sell.  They also preamp mods, too.  Check their websites for more info.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2009, 12:15:23 PM by Brian Skalinder »
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Nick's Picks

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10116
  • Gender: Male
  • I thought I heard.......
    • Nick's Picks
Re:How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2004, 03:50:26 PM »
I also posted this DIY on my site
www.nickspicks.com
along w/the DIY VU meters for the UA-5...which, btw I have working quite well now.
LMA recordings and what-not


Live music: hauling around a Marshall stack whose output will get squeezed through a single SM57, then mangled by a Guinness-soaked mixer and shoved through suspicious-smelling power amps into a pair of grungy cabinets whose best days were before they left the factory, all of which are under the control of an engineer who would much rather be at home watching television.

Offline fozzy

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3803
  • Gender: Male
  • move along, nothing much to see here
Re:How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2004, 11:16:19 PM »
You got any more pics of the VU meters?  Did you ever get it into the project box?

FT: AT853 hyper caps, I need white, have black pair

Rig:
MK 4V > KCY 250/5 Ig (KS 10I)  > VST62IUg > V2 > 722

Playback 1: Audiophile 2496 > coax > Benchmark DAC1 > AKG 701
Playback 2: Audiophile 2496 > coax > Benchmark DAC1 > Audioquest Diamondback XLR > PS Audio HCA2 > Kimber 4pr >B&W 600S3
Playback office: Generic Pci coax > Lucid DAC9624 > AKG K240

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6391
  • Gender: Male
Re:How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2004, 02:31:17 AM »
Digital Chips used in UA5

From the man himself.

http://www.oade.com/Tapers_Section/Forum/dcboard.php?az=show_mesg&forum=105&topic_id=195&mesg_id=195&page=




           Hi !
I get asked this a lot, so here is some useful info on the UA5's digital circuits.
The USB controller is the TUSB3200, the digital I/O chip is the Crystal CS8420, this one does I/O and SRC as well as SCMS. I have not tried this, but the 8420s spec sheet indicates it ignores SCMS if the Pro bit is set, if you have tried it, let us know. It also supports digital I/O without SRC. The power ICs are BP5220 for + 5v , NJM2360 for -5v and NJM2374AM for +48 volts (10 ma max).
I hope this helps...Doug

http://focus.ti.com/docs/prod/productfolder.jhtml?genericPartNumber=TUSB3200
http://www.cirrus.com/en/products/pro/detail/P53.html
http://www.rohm.com/products/databook/pm/pdf/bp5220.pdf
http://www.njr.co.jp/pdf/ae/ae06018.pdf
http://www.njr.co.jp/pdf/ae/ae06057.pdf

 
« Last Edit: April 24, 2004, 02:32:27 AM by Kindguy »
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Robby Grossman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • 17' stand, c1000s > digimod ua5 > jb3 :-D
    • http://www.robbygrossman.com
Re: How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2004, 04:42:06 PM »
Just wanted to say that you have to REEEEAAAALLLY hack at the wire to break the continuity after R8.  I wound up just taking off that reisistor, which naturally breaks the circuit and works well.  Just thought I'd pass it along in case anyone else runs into trouble cutting the board.
--Robby
AIM: RobbyPlaysGuitar

17' stand, c1000s > digimod ua5 > jb3 :-D

Offline Tye

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1523
  • Gender: Male
  • No news is good gnews without Gary Gnu
Re: How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2005, 07:51:41 PM »
Just wanted to say that you have to REEEEAAAALLLY hack at the wire to break the continuity after R8.  I wound up just taking off that reisistor, which naturally breaks the circuit and works well.  Just thought I'd pass it along in case anyone else runs into trouble cutting the board.
FWIW
 I agree taking off the R8 resistor is the way to go unless you are looking into making the UA5 stock again. If so keep the R8 resistor in a safe place because that thing is tiny!!!
« Last Edit: March 21, 2005, 08:00:11 PM by Tye »
Peluso cemc6/ck-21/ck-4 > Karma K10mp > Hydra's > Sound Devices MP-2> Buman T mod R4 - R9HR


Offline mark_ivan

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2009, 10:30:50 AM »
All the DIY links for the straight digimod appear to have dried up.

Anyone know of any current links?

Is the trace cut on the switchable option instructions the original digimod?
BSC1/ECM999>X2>FR2LE

Offline DigiGal

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2009, 06:51:32 PM »
All the DIY links for the straight digimod appear to have dried up.

Anyone know of any current links?

Is the trace cut on the switchable option instructions the original digimod?

Remove or lift R8, then install a jumper wire as shown in this "Edirol UA-5 with standalone AD modification" link.

http://web.archive.org/web/20041119181343/http://he.fi/photo/ua5-dissection/modified/



Another how to link, it's missing one photo but reproduces David's write up.

http://web.archive.org/web/20040803135131/members.rogers.com/traderdave/audio/UA-5/Modifying+the+Edirol+UA-5.htm
« Last Edit: December 10, 2009, 08:06:25 PM by DigiGal »
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 "StarQuad" w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: Sound Devices MixPre-D Recorder: Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 27"3.4GHz QuadCore i7 iMac | OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 | Wave Editor | xACT  | Transmission | Final Cut Pro X                                                            

Offline MULETAPER

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 834
  • Gender: Male
  • ~Find Love Thru Music and Share It~
    • Global Moderator
Re: How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2009, 10:53:04 AM »
you will need FINE pc wire to do the jumper.I used a pro-soldering station used glasses to veiw work.Removed the transistor from the board and jumped the wire according to directions. make sure your soldiering is very clean and perfect.Too much heat on the board will fry components so you have to be careful and understand what your doing.its a very simple MOD it took me abot 30 mins from start to finish checking my work as I went.I know there is a new mod somewhere that does not kill the USB input
« Last Edit: December 16, 2009, 10:54:37 AM by MULETAPER »
Beyerdynamic MC930's>Neumann KM184s>Tascam DR-680

Offline DigiGal

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: How to: UA5 digi mod
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2009, 11:15:36 AM »
Wire-Wrapping wire works great for the jumper, available from your local Radio Shack.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062640
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 "StarQuad" w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: Sound Devices MixPre-D Recorder: Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 27"3.4GHz QuadCore i7 iMac | OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 | Wave Editor | xACT  | Transmission | Final Cut Pro X                                                            

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.156 seconds with 33 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company