Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility  (Read 49370 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zupercreep

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2007, 03:32:23 PM »
wonderful. just saved my recording!

thank you!

BobW

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2007, 10:41:32 PM »
Gordon Gidluck has had a utility out for resizing WAV files to below the 2GB limit:
http://www.gidluckmastering.com/audiohck.zip

http://www.gidluckmastering.com

Gordon has done extensive work writing the "Live 2496" recording application for Pocket PC, Windows-based PDAs.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2007, 10:44:24 PM by Bob. »

Offline opticalaudio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #17 on: July 11, 2007, 11:15:15 AM »
Thanks SO much for putting this out there!!!  Last weekend my R-09 fell while recording and apparently shut down on impact.  There was a file there, but it wasn't recognized as a valid wav.

Your utility saved it!  And me....since I was pretty devasated after make a 15 hour drive (each way) to see/capture the show.

thanks again!!!


spreadheadtom

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2007, 11:59:07 AM »
anyone have any luck running this with Vista?  Maybe I am just a complete moron?

Offline Rleeee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
  • Lets Dance, Sylvia, Dance!
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2007, 01:44:47 PM »
Plus T. Your utility just saved another recording.  Thank You.
Open:  Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > Kind Kables Chameleon > Marantz PMD-661 (Oade Concert Mod)

No Stand:  AT831s > CA Bat 2B Battery Box > Tascam DR-07 

  " Poor people need MUISC too! "

Offline Patrick

  • Evil Urges, Baby.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5205
  • Gender: Male
    • PTM Audio
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2007, 03:54:13 PM »
For some reason Wayne's compiled code for macs doesn't work for me.  Any hints?  Opening the utility up in Terminal doesn't work.

Thanks in advance!

Offline optimisticpessimist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Gender: Male
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #21 on: November 22, 2007, 12:42:52 PM »
Pigiron... tried sending you a PM but it's not working for me.  I'm trying to use this wav header program for myself but I obviously don't know what I'm doing.  The batteries on my R-09 failed while taping and the file won't play in any audio program, but I am able to copy it and rename it.  If anyone feels like helping me out it would be much appreciated!    ???

Offline pigiron

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 250
  • Gender: Male
  • I just did what I did
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #22 on: November 25, 2007, 06:03:33 PM »
I'm trying to use this wav header program for myself but I obviously don't know what I'm doing.

What the program does is attempt to repair a malformed WAVE header on the audio file (the first 44 bytes of a "normal" WAV file).

Some have used it to actually create a header on an audio file where one didn't previously exist. But doing that will overwrite 44 bytes of music data... a very tiny loss of music, but it's still a loss. That's why the first thing it does is display those first 44 bytes so you can verify that there's actually a header in the file.

Here's an example of it displaying a valid WAVE header... showing the keywords (highlighted in red) that it normally contains:

Existing header data. Look for the words 'RIFF', 'WAVE', 'fmt',
or 'data' to see if this is even a somewhat valid WAVE header:

00000000:  52 49 46 46 24 D4 55 0D 57 41 56 45 66 6D 74 20 RIFF$.U.WAVEfmt
00000010:  10 00 00 00 01 00 02 00 44 AC 00 00 10 B1 02 00 ........D.......
00000020:  04 00 10 00 64 61 74 61 00 D4 55 0D             ....data..U.



If you're a true geek (that can speak "hex), here's some links that explain those magical data bytes:

http://ccrma.stanford.edu/CCRMA/Courses/422/projects/WaveFormat/
http://www.borg.com/~jglatt/tech/wave.htm


It will then ask you to verify three major pieces of audio information it found in the existing header, and allow you to correct them if they're wrong:

Is the file recorded in X channels?  [y/n]

This is verifying that the header contains the correct number of channels (i.e. Recorded with one microphone, two microphones, four microphones, etc). This would normally be 2 channels for a R-09, so you'd answer "N " (for a "No") here if it says anything different... otherwise enter a "Y " (meaning "Yes").

Enter number of channels... 1=Mono, 2=Stereo, etc:

Here's where you'd enter the correct number of channels (and this is only displayed if you answered "N " above).

Is the number of samples per second = XXXXX?  [y/n]

This is asking if the number of samples per second is correct for this audio file. This should normally display 44100 or 48000 for a R-09.

Enter number of samples per second:

This is where you enter the correct number of samples per second (and this is only displayed if you answered "N " above).

Is the number of bits per sample = XX?  [y/n]

This should normally be 16 or 24 bits per audio sample for a R-09. Again, answer "Y " or "N " depending on which setting you used when created the
 recording.

The most important point is that the information you enter must match how you actually created the recording. This program just changes the header... it won't actually convert the audio file from one format to another (for example, it won't actually change a file recorded in 16 bits per sample to 24 bits). So if you enter incorrect values, the audio is going to sound really screwed up on playback... so try running the program again  ;D
skm184, lsd2
v2, sd722, mini-me, jb3

Offline 108Ω

  • Happiness is Now
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9246
  • Gender: Male
  • Waiting on the next cladogenetic event...
    • Oceana North America
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2007, 09:23:14 PM »

...however, now I can't even see the files on the "NONAME" drive. So I can't transfer them to the Mac in order to fix them.


Usually this will help:

http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,88050.msg1170309.html#msg1170309
"Peace is for everyone"
        - Norah Jones
"We tape to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"
                      (with apologies to Anais Nin)

Offline friday

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #24 on: December 16, 2007, 07:21:17 PM »
Huge thanks! Fixwav just saved me a concert :D

(http://www.2090.org/zoom/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=10044&sid=f552ea93479a599ec7e19336471d8122)

If I could give you tickets I would but I'm new.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2007, 10:27:54 PM by friday »

Offline wbrisette

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2855
  • Gender: Male
    • Homepage
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2007, 04:58:16 PM »
For some reason Wayne's compiled code for macs doesn't work for me.  Any hints?  Opening the utility up in Terminal doesn't work.

Thanks in advance!


Seems something changed. Use to work. I'll see if I can recompile it on an Intel Mac.

Wayne
Mics: Earthworks SR-77 (MP), QTC-1 (MP)

Editing: QSC RMX2450, MOTU 2408 MK3, Earthworks Sigma 6.2

Offline avacado

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #26 on: January 09, 2008, 02:50:41 AM »
Sorry to necro, but I signed up to these forums to download this program.
Your program fixed a file corrupted with a PMD671.
Thank you, pigiron.

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2008, 12:36:48 AM »
Sorry for the STUPID question, but I'm MS/Dos and command line illiterate. Could anyone PLEASE tell me how I get this to scan/work on a particular file? I have it saved from a DVD-R>Internal HD and I have the EXE unzipped, I just need to know how to get it to see/scan/work on the file I need it to look at.

I recorded a second rig at RAQ on NYE and ran MBHO Hypers>722 on the floor, 9th Row/DFC and I also recorded 483>anotehr 722 from the balcony/DFC and my second set got cut at the freakin end by me just messing around w/ my gear, and it jarred my 7.2v NIMH RC batt setup for the 722 just enough to make the RC Connectors loose power for a SPLIT second. Well, the 722 shut down IMMEDIATELY, and I now have a file w/ 0 bytes and no audio. I havent tried to open it in any DAW software programs, but I am sure it WOULDN'T open since it reads 0 bytes. I am HOPING that I can save this file BADLY, because it SMOKES the MBHO source and the MG 300>TMOD R4 source from my stand on the floor. I would LOVE to just have to patch a few seconds compared to the whole set w/ my MBHO source.

If anyone could reply to this thread, or even better yet, shoot my dumb ass a PM and kind of walk me thru the copmmand line instructions. I would be ETERNALLY GRATEFUL ;D I have already tried Kuba's app and I put it in my Bean's DVD folder where I copied the corrupted file to as well, and all it did was flash the command line black screen VERY QUICKLY, like less than a half of a second, and it was GONE :'(

Any help is mUCH appreciated!

Bean
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2008, 06:35:07 AM »
Bean -

1) copy this into a blank text file:

Quote
fixwav yourfilename.wav

pause

(an obviously write your file name).

2) save the text file, close it, and change the extension from .txt to .bat
3) make sure the .exe file and the .bat file are in the same folder as your .wav file
4) double click on the .bat file

at least, that's how I've been using this program and it works great for me.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2008, 08:47:30 AM by JasonSobel »

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #29 on: January 19, 2008, 08:27:30 AM »
Bean -

1) copy this into a blank text file:

Quote
fixwav yourfilename.wav

pause

(an obviously write your file name there in bold).

2) save the text file, close it, and change the extension from .txt to .bat
3) make sure the .exe file and the .bat file are in the same folder as your .wav file
4) double click on the .bat file

at least, that's how I've been using this program and it works great for me.

Jason, first off HUGE +T. Secondly, how do I make JUST the filename in BOLD ??? In Notepad, I can make nothing or everything in BOLD, not just the filename(which is T230. Its straight from the 722>DVD-R>HP Pavilion. Edit: I *think* I figured this part out. I opened the plain text file in Word rather than Notepad and it changed JUST the T230 filename to BOLD. So I guess I'm just unsure how to change the .txt extension to .bat ???

Secondly, I TOTALLY forget how to change an extension. Is it as simple as right-clicking and putting .bat on the end of the filename ???

Thanks alot Jason. I REALLY hope that 483>722 Balcony recording is on there :( As of right now, I only have the last 1min:35sec of the second set :( I guess I will find out shortly!

Bean
« Last Edit: January 19, 2008, 08:32:44 AM by Bean »
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.143 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company