Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-D1 settings advice/File conversion software advice  (Read 5227 times)

Offline soundbot

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • It's all about the sound
Sony PCM-D1 settings advice/File conversion software advice
« on: March 09, 2009, 10:31:50 PM »
Please excuse, I'm kinda new to all this as I haven't recorded anything since the Dire Straits Telegraph Road tour on my Sony TCS-430 with a Sony ECM-939LT.
I just recently purchased a used PCM-D1 on Ebay and used it the other night to do a stealth recording with a set of AudioReality.com binaural electret condenser mics hidden in my hair. I tried recording some bar music the week before and unfortunately the test show was a lot quieter than the show I recorded the other night and most of the songs came out oversaturated in spots. Too bad really because the sound quality was amazing other than that, and the sets were incredible! I only had the record level set at 4 but I was sitting at center stage seventh row back and it was fairly loud. I guess I learned a valuable lesson because the performer was my favorite. I won't make that mistake again. Anyway, I'm wondering if anyone out there has any advice for recording levels or other settings on the PCM-D1? Also wondering about what the best software for converting my wave files to WMA lossless might be?

Thanks.

Offline Red Boink

• Trade Count: (27)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Sony PCM-D1 settings advice/File conversion software advice
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 07:36:40 PM »
Are you sure you had the recorder set to mic in rather than line in??

I've got nothing but praise for the D1. 

Best,

John

Offline rjp

• Taperssection Member
  • You are likely to be eaten by a grue.
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2009, 08:55:30 PM »