Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Got a PMD 661 (oade supermod) - do I need A Church Audio pre?  (Read 6536 times)

Offline vibralux

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hi guys

Im a newb here so please forgive me any obvious questions.
I just bought a PMD 661 (supermod) for stealth recordings. Now - I wanted to by Church's mics for it. There is a good deal for his mic's and a pre - but I am wondering - is there a noticeable difference between PMD's pres and Church Audio Pre? Should I go for it or just buy the mic's?

Cheers
Marty

Offline JasonSobel

• Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • My show list
Re: Got a PMD 661 (oade supermod) - do I need A Church Audio pre?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2009, 07:31:27 AM »
I don't think that you'd need the church pre, as I think the PMD-661 is quite good on it's own (especially after being modded by oade).
however, you are going to need a way to power your mics.   The PMD-661 provides phantom power via XLR inputs, and if you've got church audio mics, than you'll likely need plug-in power via an 1/8" connector (please correct me if I'm wrong there).  The 1/8" input on the PMD-661 is a line-in only, and doesn't provide any power for mics.

as an alternative to buying a separate box just to power the mics, I know the Naiant studios (aka "mshilarious" on taperssection) makes a nice little adapter:
http://www.naiant.com/studiostore/cleverdevices.html
and scroll down to the "PFA-P Phantom Adaptor for Stereo Plug-in Power Microphones"

Roving Sign

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2009, 09:11:38 AM »
While Im sure the Oade mod sounds great - and you have it there if you get full size condenser mics...

But the Church stuff gets great reviews as well...

I think the Church pre outputs a line level - so you should be good there...

The XLRs take a line signal also, I believe. So you still might be able to reap the benefits of the Oade mod there as well...

Offline datbrad

• Trade Count: (1)