Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Insufficient PS2 signal, faulty chain?  (Read 3884 times)

Offline travelinbeat

• Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Turning soundwaves into zeros and ones since 1999
    • http://db.etree.org/travelinbeat
Insufficient PS2 signal, faulty chain?
« on: January 26, 2010, 12:22:06 PM »
I'm pretty new to the open-taping game, but my open mics are Busman BSC1's, and that's where my question starts.  I understand that to power the mic's I need something like a PS2, so I have one now, but if I've found that BSC1's > PS2 > R09HR doesn't provide much signal at all if I'm trying to go Line-In (as I understand is the preferred method).  If I do go Line-In, I've found that I really need to blast the signal on the device and that's no good either (I understand the noise floor is pretty unforgiving once you really crank the levels on the R09HR).  So my thought was to pop my CA-9100 into the chain; after the PS2 and before the R09HR.  Recently though, Pete from Team DC has been doubting whether or not this is a good idea, fearing that extra power may go backwards and damage the mics (or something to that affect).  My question is basically what in the world can I do, with the gear listed in my signature, to get a nice fat signal to my R09HR without jeopardizing any of that gear in the meantime?
Mics: Busman BSC1's K1/K2/K3/K4, CA-14's
Units: 2x Edirol R-09HR, iRiver H120 (RockBox + 2200mAh + CF mod)
Power & Accessories: Naiant Littlebox 1.5, Church ST-9100, Denecke PS-2, 2x Kingston SDHC (Model: SD2/8GB), 2x Kingston SDHC (Model: SD4/16GB), Kingston 32GB (Model: SD4/32GB), Darktrain XLR, 2x Shure A81WS's, 4x Powerex 9.6v, 12x Sanyo 2700 NiMH, 2x AT8410A's

Team DC · Team Naiant · Team Busman · Team Church Audio · NFL Team is NY Jets

I tape in earnest dedication to the mission of breaking the back of the CTOA

Offline OOK

• Trade Count: (17)
  • formerly OtherOneK