Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SP C4's > ?? > R-09  (Read 5822 times)

Offline Belexes

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
SP C4's > ?? > R-09
« on: October 16, 2007, 09:50:19 AM »
I bought SP C4's in the yardsale and I am building an open rig.  The next thing I thought I would set my sights on would be phantom power for the mics.  Someone mentioned this in the yardsale thread:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Phantom2/

Any other suggestions and anyone selling something that would be good for these mics in the yardsale?  I am a newb to this.  I'd like to budget for $200 or less on this item.

Also, would I need a preamp in between the phantom power > R-09 or any type of transformer?

TIA.
Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > HiHo Silver XLR's > Deck TBD

CA-14 (c,o)/MM-HLSC-1 (4.7k mod)/AT853(4.7k mod)(c,o,h,sc)/CAFS (o)/CA-1 (o) > CA-9100 (V. 4.1)/CA-9200/CA-UBB > Sony PCM-D50/Sony PCM-M10

Offline SuperDave

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Now that's a mandolin!
Re: SP C4's > ?? > R-09
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2007, 12:33:47 PM »
Look around for a used Denecke PS-2.  It's good clean Phantom(stereo) that you can run on 9 volt batteries.  You may need an adaptor to go from xlr to mini(to go into your recorder).  But I think that would be a good way to do it too.
I'm gonna go put my spacesuit on boys, then lets get this dirty cocksucker in the air! ...

Open Rig: ADK A-51 TL's > Oade Warm Mod UA-5 > Iriver H120/JB3
Stealth Rig: AT853 > SP-SPSB-10 > Iriver h120

Offline DeepCreatures

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
    • DeepCreatures Trading Home Page
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2007, 02:22:14 PM »
if you want phantom power and a pre-amp at the same time, i have a Busman modded UA-5 that i ran with my C4s that did great.  willing to part with it if you are interested - just drop me a PM.  you can look in the yard sale too as i think there is one for sale there.

peace,
ts