Taperssection.com

Gear / Technical Help => Post-Processing, Computer / Streaming / Internet Devices & Related Activity => Topic started by: Ben Turnbull on October 10, 2018, 07:48:39 PM

Title: So I got tired of seeing all the ads for DAC boxes...
Post by: Ben Turnbull on October 10, 2018, 07:48:39 PM
on Massdrop and decided that for $80 I'd see what all the fuss was about and picked up the Grace SDAC.
Hookup couldn't be simpler: USB PC out > DAC in, jumper RCA L/R from DAC to O2 headphone amp. Both boxes are exactly the same size so they stack nicely. Bonus for me is the 1/8th stereo out from the SDAC, when connected to my active monitors, sends the sweet signal to those as well.

I open Foobar, click a playlist and hold my breath... Wonderful musica came outa the cans.  :headphones:

This was what my biggest puzzle was all about. Before hand, I was feeding my O2 from the head phone out from the PC's on board sound card. How was the DAC able to "read" the audio via USB? 'Still don't know.  ???

OK. Now the test. Keeping the DAC in the system, I open Audition 3.0 and load a file. Hit play. . . . . .  Nothing.  :shrug:
I poked around Audition's settings looking for something to jump out and saw nothing that made sense to me... not that there isn't something not rite. The Edit|Audio Hardware Setup dialogs indicate output to "speakers". I don't see how to force it to a digital track.

Don't give up... I open iZotope RX6 and load a file... and it plays fine.  Hummmm. Gotta find out why my base DAW is mute. Seems like other PC centric apps/games play fine too.

Someone here knows what's going on and I'd love it if they shared their insights, otherwise I'll have to put this box in the YS.

TIA
Title: Re: So I got tired of seeing all the ads for DAC boxes...
Post by: beatkilla on October 10, 2018, 08:00:10 PM
https://helpx.adobe.com/audition/using/connecting-audio-hardware.html

Maybe this helps?

See if it shows up here.Seems like it should be possible  :shrug:
Title: Re: So I got tired of seeing all the ads for DAC boxes...
Post by: Ben Turnbull on October 10, 2018, 08:18:06 PM
Yeah, should be possible. V3.0 AA is kinda long in the tooth and the link you provide might be addressing later revs. I don't see much that "lines up".


.... So I kept poking. In the Edit|Audio Hardware Setup I see a pulldown for th e Default Output in Edit and Multi track and low and behold there's a selection for a Speakers (SDAC). Set both of these to this and bingo!

HTH. 
Title: Re: So I got tired of seeing all the ads for DAC boxes...
Post by: Ben Turnbull on October 13, 2018, 09:36:15 AM
To quote Carol Anne Freeling of Poltergeist fame, It's baaaaccck.

Did a bunch of editing with everything running through the SDAC and then shut'er down for a couple days. Now I'm looking to do some work and Audition is dead, in both Edit and Multitrack modes, but all other PC audio sources, including RX6, play fine. I no longer see the SDAC Speaker option available.

... Going back under hood.  :hmmm:

So I reinstalled the sound card provided drivers and the SDAC option reappeared. Very odd.