Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: UA-5 Question Digital or analog?  (Read 2120 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BIGPAPA

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« on: January 12, 2004, 11:15:29 AM »
Hey mostly a lurker here. But I've picked up a Warm UA5 & running it with 481's & Jb3/d8 I may try some 24 bit down te road as well via USB.

When running the UA-5 should I have the recording source set to digital or analog?

Thanks

Offline BIGPAPA

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2004, 11:16:41 AM »
wow big time lurker that was my first post. :)

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8319
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2004, 11:34:08 AM »
welcome and +

the recording source.......the recording source will accept whatever you feed it, which sounds like it will be a digital signal from your UA-5.  Do you have the digi-mod done on the UA-5?

Offline BIGPAPA

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2004, 11:43:51 AM »
Thanks! Its a Warm UA-5 from Oade. The Manual says when recording from mics have it set to Analog. I guess this is so I get a stereo effect from each mic?

It seems some things in the manual are void due to the mods.

I just want to be sure I run this right the 1st time.

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8319
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2004, 11:53:03 AM »
alright, it sounds like you got the digi-mod as well.  The digi-mod allows you to use the ua-5 as a stand-alone unit via the coax or optical output.

I'm not sure what the analog/digital switch is because I don't have one sitting in front of me.

Best bet is to play with it.  Plug everything in (mics, ua-5, recorder) and blast your home stereo system.  Start recording to make sure all the components work right.  Play with knobs and buttons to see what they do, get a feel for your gear.

Offline Craig T

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4259
    • LMA
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2004, 12:56:29 PM »
Set to 'digital' if you are using a digital source, 'analog' if an analog source.

mics, soundboard = analog
spdif coax or toslink optical digital (from analog-to-digital converter, DAT, etc) = digital

The only time I've had mine set to 'digital' was when I tried using it to transfer a DAT to my computer via USB.  When recording from mics, and instrument, soundboard you'd want it set to 'analog'.
Schoeps cmc6/4v / Line Audio CM3, OM1 / ADK A51 / Church Audio CA-14
Naiant Tinybox v2.2 / NBox(P) / Apogee Mini-MP / Church Audio ST9200 / CA-UGLY
Sony PCM-M10 / Tascam DR-70D

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2004, 09:24:00 PM »
Set it to analog. Enjoy that combo they work well together.

Everything in the manual is correct except going comp>UA-5 & I think the hi-z/lo-z doesn't make a difference due to the mod.

I may be wrong on the hi-z/lo-z but from playing around with it is seems to make no difference.
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Nick in Edinboro

  • Wishes he was fishing right now...
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2933
  • Gender: Male
  • Toshiba SD3690 > HK AR-20 > B&K ST-140 > Axiom M22
    • moepics.com - share your shots of moe.
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2004, 02:38:11 PM »
I may be wrong on the hi-z/lo-z but from playing around with it is seems to make no difference.

I've accidently ran mine with the hi-z on and noticed no difference.. Not exactly sure if it's due to Oade's mod or not..  ???
Oktava MC012's (dorseymod) > UA-5 (digmod) > JB3
http://braintuba.no-ip.com

Offline Brian

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 9406
  • Gender: Male
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2004, 02:54:20 PM »
I may be wrong on the hi-z/lo-z but from playing around with it is seems to make no difference.

I've accidently ran mine with the hi-z on and noticed no difference.. Not exactly sure if it's due to Oade's mod or not..  ???

the oade pre-amp mods definitely disable the 1/4" inputs so it's my guess that it disables that switch as well. i'm pretty sure there is a thread on the *old* oade board that discuesses this issue.

Brian

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9794
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2004, 03:53:54 PM »
Craig T - how did you UA5 work going DAT>UA5>Computer???  I'm thinking of doing the same thing - borrow a friends D8 to do trnasfers thru the UA5 - just not sure on its use...

Terry

***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline caymanreview

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9855
  • Gender: Male
    • shows ive taped  that are in circulation
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2004, 03:53:58 PM »
so if it disables the 1/4" inputs, why not replace the xlr inputs with some regular xlr inputs instead of those shitty xlr-1/4" inputs?

Offline dklein

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1191
  • Gender: Male
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2004, 05:32:07 PM »
so if it disables the 1/4" inputs, why not replace the xlr inputs with some regular xlr inputs instead of those shitty xlr-1/4" inputs?
ya mean the Neutrik connectors???  shitty why?
KM 184 > V2 > R4
older recording gear: UA-5  / emagic A62 / laptop / JB3 / CSB / AD20 / Sharp MT-90 / Sony MDS-JE510
Playback: Pioneer DV-578 > Lucid DA 9624 >many funny little british boxes > Linn Isobarik PMS

Offline drewloo

  • Friend of Salsa
  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3029
  • it's recreational
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2004, 07:17:57 PM »
I think they're OK, but it'd be nice if they locked.

Drew
You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer.  -FZ

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2004, 07:32:40 PM »
lock in like the mme? ;)
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline dklein

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1191
  • Gender: Male
Re:UA-5 Question Digital or analog?
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2004, 10:39:39 AM »
They may not lock but they're a damn good fit.  Coupla weeks ago I returned to my rig to find the UA-5 hanging from the mic cables.  I had cables running above and somebody knocked it off a table.   :yikes:
It had a 3000mAh battery pack velcroed to the top, adding even more weight.  

And the recording was fine too.
KM 184 > V2 > R4
older recording gear: UA-5  / emagic A62 / laptop / JB3 / CSB / AD20 / Sharp MT-90 / Sony MDS-JE510
Playback: Pioneer DV-578 > Lucid DA 9624 >many funny little british boxes > Linn Isobarik PMS

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.2 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF