Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?  (Read 3505 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cheesecadet

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2812
  • Gender: Male
  • http://db.etree.org/cheesecadet
Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« on: January 14, 2010, 12:34:51 AM »
SSIA...Just curious if I could run these mics without a battery box or preamp if need be?  I have a CA-9100 pre that I could use...but am curious if I could use just the two components without a pre and get good results.

Anyone know?

TIA
8/24 Cheap Trick (?), 8/30-31 Phish, 09/11 Daniel Rodriguez, 09/12, 9/29 Lauren Daigle, 11/7 Tribal Seeds, 11/8 Tauk, 12/5 Ickes & Hensley

Offline Church-Audio

  • Trade Count: (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7573
  • Gender: Male
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 12:42:38 AM »
SSIA...Just curious if I could run these mics without a battery box or preamp if need be?  I have a CA-9100 pre that I could use...but am curious if I could use just the two components without a pre and get good results.

Anyone know?

TIA

No you absolutely need 5 volts to power DPA 4060 series properly.
Chris
for warranty returns email me at
EMAIL Sales@church-audio.com

Offline Cheesecadet

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2812
  • Gender: Male
  • http://db.etree.org/cheesecadet
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 12:10:04 PM »
So is there any of the new 24-Bit recorders on the market that would power DPA 4061's correctly without a battery box or pre?
8/24 Cheap Trick (?), 8/30-31 Phish, 09/11 Daniel Rodriguez, 09/12, 9/29 Lauren Daigle, 11/7 Tribal Seeds, 11/8 Tauk, 12/5 Ickes & Hensley

Offline Will_S

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2218
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2010, 01:04:16 PM »
Marantz PMD 620 specs say it has 5V PIP.  Whether it actually does...

Offline fmaderjr

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1965
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2010, 03:22:47 PM »
I presume the MT-II will. The MT 24/96 provides 5 volts and will power my DPA 4060's.
AT853's (all caps)/CM-300 Franken Naks (CP-1,2,3)/JBMod Nak 700's (CP-701,702) > Tascam DR-680
Or Sonic Studios DSM-6 > M10

Offline relaxing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 114
  • Gender: Male
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2010, 11:01:29 PM »
Is anyone currently taping rock gigs with 4061's direct into plug-in power?

I'd love to move to that setup, like a Marantz PMD-620.
dpa 4061s -> marantz pmd620

Offline fmaderjr

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1965
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2010, 01:50:51 AM »
Should work with the Marantz, since it has 5 volts plug in power. I tried it once with a MT 24/96, which also has 5 volts and it sounded great. Only the PMD-620 and the 2 MT's have 5 volts, as far as I know.
AT853's (all caps)/CM-300 Franken Naks (CP-1,2,3)/JBMod Nak 700's (CP-701,702) > Tascam DR-680
Or Sonic Studios DSM-6 > M10

Offline relaxing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 114
  • Gender: Male
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2010, 08:52:41 AM »
Should work with the Marantz, since it has 5 volts plug in power. I tried it once with a MT 24/96, which also has 5 volts and it sounded great. Only the PMD-620 and the 2 MT's have 5 volts, as far as I know.
Oh cool, this is just the confirmation I was looking for.  So you taped with the 4061's direct into the mic in on the MT 2496, and it came out!  That's exactly what I'd like for a stealth rig.

Would you be willing share a sound sample?
dpa 4061s -> marantz pmd620

Offline fmaderjr

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1965
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2010, 09:22:04 AM »
I used a SP dongle that powered the mics with the MT's plug in power but directed the mic's output to line in. It powered them great. MT 24/96's mic in is poor but not so the 620, so you should have good luck. No use looking for a sample-only did it once and sound at venue was mediocre. You should be able to find someone out there who has powered  4061's with a 620, but I'm sure it works great.
AT853's (all caps)/CM-300 Franken Naks (CP-1,2,3)/JBMod Nak 700's (CP-701,702) > Tascam DR-680
Or Sonic Studios DSM-6 > M10

Offline aaronji

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2527
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2010, 05:25:12 PM »
This just came up in another thread; Freelunch measured the MT (the original one) at 4.5V and guysonic measured the 620 at 4.4V...Apparently, the MT will power the 406x, so the 620 might be able to also (I have never tried since my 4060s have microdots).

Offline guysonic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1366
  • WISDOM FOR ALL TIMES
    • Sonic Studios DSM Stereo-Surround Microphone Systems
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2010, 07:34:50 AM »
M10 has only 3 volts available. 

If you want to know more see my and other posts about M10 part two at:

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=130924.0;all 
"mics? I no got no mics!  Besides, I no have to show you no stink'n mics!" stxxlth taper's disclaimer

DSM HRTF STEREO-SURROUND RECORDING SYSTEMS WEBSITE: http://www.sonicstudios.com

Offline headroom

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 204
    • My Work with Photos and for Documentary Cinema ( Soundjob)
Re: Will Sony PCM-M10 Power DPA 4061 Properly?
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2010, 06:46:17 AM »
Plugin Power from SONY Videocams & SONY PCM 50 Generally Sony's mic input design  mostly supplies ~2.5 volt mic power. For this case use the DPA 4063 BM wich has a 3 Volt optimal working point.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.113 seconds with 40 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF