Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: powering the v3 question  (Read 8383 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline augwest71

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 183
  • Gender: Male
  • mbho603a>V3>722
powering the v3 question
« on: March 15, 2010, 11:21:00 AM »
is there a way to power the v3 with the same dvd battery that you use for the sound device 722?

i hope so, my bag's weight will go down!!

peace
and thanks
david
Do you have a tapers ticket sir????

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5665
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2010, 11:36:31 AM »
The V3 comes in 6v & 12v models.  The 6v models work fine with the 9v DVD batteries.  It's easy to siwtch from a 12v tp 6v, just call Grace Designs and they can walk you though it or see this thread...  http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,76479.msg1019259.html#msg1019259
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline rastasean

  • in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3673
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2010, 12:41:48 PM »
If you've got the 6v model, buy Ted's cable.

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0
Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth.

Offline coloartist

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2055
  • MGoldey -"you can shove those mics up your ass
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2010, 04:10:48 PM »
I think his question is, "Can he power the V3 and 722 off the same battery".

I don't know the answer, but I like my 744 to run off the attached battery. No connections to come loose.

I also use 2 DVD batteries per V3. I don't like being short on power.
mk4>Kwon/din a/din>kc5>cmc6>kindkables XLR>788T
mk22>Kwon/NOS>kc5>cmc6>kindkablesXLR>788t
ccm41> (lemo)>788t                                                         
Canon XH-A1 Sony AX100                       
Samsung Backlit LED 55">Pioneer Elite SC-27>Snell Acoustics E.5  Series

Offline augwest71

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 183
  • Gender: Male
  • mbho603a>V3>722
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2010, 05:08:03 PM »
 i did not mean for 1 battery to run both at the same time. i just meant for the same type of battery to be able to run both.

i believe the answer is yes from the posts.  thanks for all the help...
Do you have a tapers ticket sir????

Offline augwest71

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 183
  • Gender: Male
  • mbho603a>V3>722
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2010, 07:41:27 PM »
I think his question is, "Can he power the V3 and 722 off the same battery".

I don't know the answer, but I like my 744 to run off the attached battery. No connections to come loose.

I also use 2 DVD batteries per V3. I don't like being short on power.

how long does the two power it for?  and do you have the larger batteries or the smaller ones??
Do you have a tapers ticket sir????

Offline jsfrank

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2010, 10:17:18 PM »
Okay, I am finally getting serious about going lithium. I just bumped the V2 thread but I guess I should also post this here. Is this the Walmart battery?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Ultralast-Lithium-Ion-Universal-Portable-DVD-Player-Replacement-Battery/9863775
AKG 481,2 or 3 > V3 > Marantz PMD661 (16/44.1)

Offline rastasean

  • in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3673
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2010, 02:09:48 AM »
Okay, I am finally getting serious about going lithium. I just bumped the V2 thread but I guess I should also post this here. Is this the Walmart battery?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Ultralast-Lithium-Ion-Universal-Portable-DVD-Player-Replacement-Battery/9863775

thats's one hell of an expensive battery.

check this out
http://cgi.ebay.com/UltraLast-Lithium-Ion-Universal-Portable-Battery_W0QQitemZ270546067858QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3efdcd6192

search ebay because i got 2 9volt dvd batteries for about $13/each back in june.
Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth.

Offline augwest71

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 183
  • Gender: Male
  • mbho603a>V3>722
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2010, 11:53:39 AM »
Okay, I am finally getting serious about going lithium. I just bumped the V2 thread but I guess I should also post this here. Is this the Walmart battery?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Ultralast-Lithium-Ion-Universal-Portable-DVD-Player-Replacement-Battery/9863775

thats's one hell of an expensive battery.

check this out
http://cgi.ebay.com/UltraLast-Lithium-Ion-Universal-Portable-Battery_W0QQitemZ270546067858QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3efdcd6192

search ebay because i got 2 9volt dvd batteries for about $13/each back in june.
how long will that battery power a v3??
Do you have a tapers ticket sir????

Offline guysonic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1366
  • WISDOM FOR ALL TIMES
    • Sonic Studios DSM Stereo-Surround Microphone Systems
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2010, 05:20:51 PM »
Okay, I am finally getting serious about going lithium. I just bumped the V2 thread but I guess I should also post this here. Is this the Walmart battery?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Ultralast-Lithium-Ion-Universal-Portable-DVD-Player-Replacement-Battery/9863775

thats's one hell of an expensive battery.

check this out
http://cgi.ebay.com/UltraLast-Lithium-Ion-Universal-Portable-Battery_W0QQitemZ270546067858QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3efdcd6192

search ebay because i got 2 9volt dvd batteries for about $13/each back in june.
how long will that battery power a v3??

Battery run time is determined by:  5.4 amps X 9 Volts = ~48 Watt hours, so divide this by the wattage being consumed by the powered device with all features intended used being turned on and loaded by your mics to know how many hours maximum to expect.

"mics? I no got no mics!  Besides, I no have to show you no stink'n mics!" stxxlth taper's disclaimer

DSM HRTF STEREO-SURROUND RECORDING SYSTEMS WEBSITE: http://www.sonicstudios.com

Offline KenH

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 731
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2010, 08:43:39 AM »
The eBay 9-volt dvd batteries will power a V3 for a long time, easily 4 hours.   After 3 hours, it's just down 1 notch on the power meter, for example. 
retired

Offline notsofast

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 378
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2010, 03:35:21 PM »
Hello, a bit off track but I just purchased a Tekkeon 3450 to power my V3, initial power up with the new fully charged battery and my "Low Batt" light is flashing, I have read that it could be the voltage is too low?  What is strange to me is that the light flashed but never shuts the unit down, doing some testing now to see how long until it fails.

Has anyone else experienced this? I ask because I have 2 older batteries and found they also demonstrate the same "Low Batt" light flashing when used, which is why I purchased a new battery. My concern is the issue with the V3 or the battery or connection?

I am planning to buy some of Ted's cables but want to make sure I do not have a problem with the V3, which was recently serviced by Grace.

any help is welcomed,

Tim
"Please post the show - I don't think it sucked, which is my normal rule for show postings" Dave Alvin

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5665
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2010, 03:53:31 PM »
From the manual.....

LOW BATT
For the 6 Volt V3, the low battery indicator flashes if the battery voltage drops below 5.75V. For the 12 Volt V3, the low battery indicator flashes if the battery drops below 11.5V.

For 6V operation use a 7.5V, 1.0A power supply. For 12V operation use a 12V, 1.0A power supply.

Did you set the tekkeon at 7.5v or 6v?  6v may only be suppling the 5.75v mark that kicks in the "low Batt" light.  The same thing may be going on with your 6v SLAs.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2010, 04:22:44 AM by tgakidis »
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline notsofast

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 378
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2010, 04:13:02 PM »
Thanks for the info, I am running a test to see how long it will actually run, but you confirm my thinking. It (V3)  is new to me still and my learning curve is uphill from a confidence viewpoint on how long it will last with "low batt" flashing.

Model: MP3450: Capacity 50 Wh Output Voltage DC: 5V, 6V, 7.5V, 9V, 12V, 14V, 16V, 19V

I will do some reading to see about setting the voltage, I thought it would be an automatic but could be wrong.

Should I worry about any harm? Love the support here.

Thanks,

Tim
"Please post the show - I don't think it sucked, which is my normal rule for show postings" Dave Alvin

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5665
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: powering the v3 question
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2010, 04:18:38 PM »
I do not own a tekkeon so I can't help there.....
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.378 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF