Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: power for the Schoeps VMS5U  (Read 2030 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« on: April 29, 2010, 07:56:14 PM »
I did a search for this, but couldn't anything.  What is the difference (time) in running AA rechargeable batteries vs an external battery (9v dvd i am assuming) and for the external where can a get a cable made.  Hard time getting a hold of ED at the moment
thanks for any help
a
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Oade m248, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3,
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

Online tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5668
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 08:21:57 PM »
I can make you one.  It's the same tip as an Edirol R-4/R-44/UA-5 cable but with normal polarity.

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=131680.0
« Last Edit: April 29, 2010, 11:26:04 PM by tgakidis »
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 11:15:38 PM »
lets do it
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Oade m248, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3,
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

Online tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5668
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 11:25:10 PM »
FYI, I researched the unit and it is normal polarity, not reverese  ;D
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline hammerhorror

  • Trade Count: (53)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1255
  • Gender: Male
  • Hey good lookin'
Re: power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2010, 09:26:46 AM »
This is what I use to power my Schoeps VMS5U and it works great. It will power the VMS5U for several shows without needing to be recharged. It also comes with a power cable and correct size tip for the VMS5U's power input.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/503090-REG/Tekkeon_MP3450_MP3450_myPower_ALL_Universal.html
Mics: Schoeps MK4 & MK41, AKG CK63 (Naiant Actives)
 
Preamps: Naiant KCY Littlebox

Recorders: Sound Devices 664, Sony PCM-M10

Offline brianp

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 915
  • Gender: Male
    • Shows I've taped on LMA
Re: power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2010, 02:34:32 PM »
I used to run my VMS5U on 1600 powerex internal AA  rechargeables and that was in 2002 and 2003. I got great time if I remember correctly. I don't think the VMS draws much power.
SBD>MR>C>D>CD>EAC>SHN

Offline NOLAfishwater

  • is not taping much these days
  • Trade Count: (72)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6349
  • Gender: Male
  • I LIKE FISHIN
Re: power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2010, 03:18:38 PM »
why don't you just stick the DVD batteries you have? they will run the VMS for a long time

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: power for the Schoeps VMS5U
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2010, 03:50:45 PM »
why don't you just stick the DVD batteries you have? they will run the VMS for a long time

that is what i have decided to do, tgakidis is making me cables now.

PS i am ordering the KCY cable monday....so if you change ur mind ;)
a
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Oade m248, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3,
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.098 seconds with 49 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF