Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: External battery for HD-P2  (Read 7477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rockymtnryan

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Gender: Male
External battery for HD-P2
« on: May 19, 2011, 01:50:11 PM »
Can someone recommend an affordable external battery for the HD-P2 that offers good battery life? Do I need to use a 12v or will the 9v dvd battery I already use for my UA-5 work?

Thanks!
AKG CK61-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz
AKG CK63-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9826
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2011, 02:09:35 PM »
I used the 9v DVD Battery for a while, until it died... 

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline rockymtnryan

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2011, 02:24:12 PM »
So there's no fear of harming the unit by using a 9v battery instead of the 12v?  How much recording time did you get out of a full charge?  Were you providing phantom power to mics?

Thanks
AKG CK61-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz
AKG CK63-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9826
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2011, 02:44:23 PM »
So there's no fear of harming the unit by using a 9v battery instead of the 12v?  How much recording time did you get out of a full charge?  Were you providing phantom power to mics?

Thanks

I want to say I got about 5hours with PP...

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline rockymtnryan

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2011, 02:42:17 PM »
So I went to Radio Shack and picked up a new connector to hook up the 9v dvd batt to the HD-P2 and nothing.  Won't power on.  Right now I'm using Sanyo Enloop rechargable AA's until I can find a good 12v batt pack.  I'm having a lot of trouble finding one, and would greatly appreciate any help.

HD-P2 users - what do you use for portable batt power.  I would like a simple, cost-effective solution that can give me a good 5 hrs + of recording time.

Thanks!
AKG CK61-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz
AKG CK63-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9826
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2011, 03:34:21 PM »
I spliced a 4pin XLR into the wall-wart that came with the HDP2 and use the 12v end (the other end from the wall plug).  I then plug in a 4pin XLR power cable into the "dongle" and power with whatever...

In the past I've used:

- 12v SLA (one festival - about 12 hours.  Worked great, but heavy).
- 9v DVD Battery (until it broke - about 8 hours with PP).
- 8 AA batteries (about 4 hours with PP).

I've never gotten around to it, but one day I'll buy one of these (or something similar):  http://www.all-battery.com/12vnimhnicdbatterypackseries.aspx

I once found a DIY where someone rigged a pair of wooden dowels to act like AA batteries and ran his 12v power cable into the battery compartment.  Apparently, this allowed you to use the battery meter on the P2 to gauge power levels...  I can't seem to find the article now, and I have a dusty wooden dowel in my closet from years ago when I first saw the article...  Never built it...

If I ever get out to tape now, I usually just load up on the AA batteries and swap out during set-break.  I can always use AAs for Cody's toys, so half-dead ones aren't an issue...

Terry




***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline KenH

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2011, 03:36:47 PM »
I use the DVD batter from eBay with a connector that fits the P2.  Works fine.

Also have 8x 1.2V AA NiMH batteries in the battery compartment as a backup.  If the external runs out the internals should kick in (seamlessly in theory).    Have never run out of power, but I use an external preamp.

I also made an external 10 battery sled (10 * 1.2V = 12V), but have never uses it.

So you brought the Tascam adaptor to Radio Shack and had them match up the plugs ?  That should work.  Make sure the tip is aligned for the right polarity!

I think what I did was cut mine off the plug in adaptor, and added terminals so I can reconnect it, and added the same terminals on the LiION battery pack, so the tip that came with the unit can be interchanged. Only need 1 at a time.
retired

Offline KenH

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2011, 03:38:35 PM »
I spliced a 4pin XLR into the wall-wart that came with the HDP2 and use the 12v end (the other end from the wall plug).  I then plug in a 4pin XLR power cable into the "dongle" and power with whatever...

In the past I've used:

- 12v SLA (one festival - about 12 hours.  Worked great, but heavy).
- 9v DVD Battery (until it broke - about 8 hours with PP).
- 8 AA batteries (about 4 hours with PP).

I've never gotten around to it, but one day I'll buy one of these (or something similar):  http://www.all-battery.com/12vnimhnicdbatterypackseries.aspx

I once found a DIY where someone rigged a pair of wooden dowels to act like AA batteries and ran his 12v power cable into the battery compartment.  Apparently, this allowed you to use the battery meter on the P2 to gauge power levels...  I can't seem to find the article now, and I have a dusty wooden dowel in my closet from years ago when I first saw the article...  Never built it...

If I ever get out to tape now, I usually just load up on the AA batteries and swap out during set-break.  I can always use AAs for Cody's toys, so half-dead ones aren't an issue...

Terry

Well there you go.    I jus use automotive 2 pole connectors.   Also did the dowel trick.  It works, but again, don't have the need for it...  but it's there if needed.
retired

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9826
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2011, 04:06:34 PM »
Also did the dowel trick.  It works, but again, don't have the need for it...  but it's there if needed.

Can you post instructions (and/or pix) to show how you made it???

Thanks,

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9826
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2011, 04:13:45 PM »
A note on run-time:

The HD-P2 power consumption is approx. 6W.  At 12v, that is 0.5A or 500mA... 

So, a 12v battery pack that has a capacity of 2500mAh will power the device for 5 hours.  At 9v, you'll get 3.75 hours...

W = A x V

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline KenH

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2011, 09:23:05 AM »
Also did the dowel trick.  It works, but again, don't have the need for it...  but it's there if needed.

Can you post instructions (and/or pix) to show how you made it???

Thanks,

Terry
I think I found instructions on this site.  Basically take a 1/2" dowel that matches width of a AA battery, and insert screws on each end so the length is the same as a AA.   Wrap the + wire around the screw one end, and the - wire around the screw on the other end, and tighten.  Insert into the battery bay.
retired

Offline dnsacks

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1643
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2011, 10:51:42 AM »

[/quote]
I think I found instructions on this site.  Basically take a 1/2" dowel that matches width of a AA battery, and insert screws on each end so the length is the same as a AA.   Wrap the + wire around the screw one end, and the - wire around the screw on the other end, and tighten.  Insert into the battery bay.
[/quote]

Thanks --

I presume that the hd-p2's battery case is set up to run the aa batteries in series (i.e. establishing a connection between the negative terminal of the first battery to the positive terminal of the second battery, etc.) -- thus, using only one wooden dowel will likely have the same effect as inserting a single battery (no power to the hd-p2).  Instead, you'd likely need to assemble two wooden dowels -- one to mimic the positive terminal of the first battery and the other to mimic the negative terminal of the last battery.  Although I don't have my hd-p2 in front of me, it would likely also make sense to use a third dowel, perpendicular to the above dowels, to act as a spacer between the "battery" dowels and keep the battery dowels in place. 

Can anybody who's run nimh aa batteries in the hd-p2 comment on the accuracy of the battery meter?  This sounds like a great project for my external nimh battery packs if the battery meter's accurate with nimh batteries.

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9826
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2011, 11:31:47 AM »

Quote
I think I found instructions on this site.  Basically take a 1/2" dowel that matches width of a AA battery, and insert screws on each end so the length is the same as a AA.   Wrap the + wire around the screw one end, and the - wire around the screw on the other end, and tighten.  Insert into the battery bay.

Thanks --

I presume that the hd-p2's battery case is set up to run the aa batteries in series (i.e. establishing a connection between the negative terminal of the first battery to the positive terminal of the second battery, etc.) -- thus, using only one wooden dowel will likely have the same effect as inserting a single battery (no power to the hd-p2).  Instead, you'd likely need to assemble two wooden dowels -- one to mimic the positive terminal of the first battery and the other to mimic the negative terminal of the last battery.  Although I don't have my hd-p2 in front of me, it would likely also make sense to use a third dowel, perpendicular to the above dowels, to act as a spacer between the "battery" dowels and keep the battery dowels in place. 

Can anybody who's run nimh aa batteries in the hd-p2 comment on the accuracy of the battery meter?  This sounds like a great project for my external nimh battery packs if the battery meter's accurate with nimh batteries.

DNSacks' thinking is the way I remember it...

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline KenH

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2011, 02:42:07 PM »
Yes, it was 2 dowels!    Been a while since I've seen that thing.
retired

Offline rockymtnryan

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2011, 01:08:58 PM »
I spliced a 4pin XLR into the wall-wart that came with the HDP2 and use the 12v end (the other end from the wall plug).  I then plug in a 4pin XLR power cable into the "dongle" and power with whatever...

In the past I've used:

- 12v SLA (one festival - about 12 hours.  Worked great, but heavy).
- 9v DVD Battery (until it broke - about 8 hours with PP).
- 8 AA batteries (about 4 hours with PP).

I've never gotten around to it, but one day I'll buy one of these (or something similar):  http://www.all-battery.com/12vnimhnicdbatterypackseries.aspx

I once found a DIY where someone rigged a pair of wooden dowels to act like AA batteries and ran his 12v power cable into the battery compartment.  Apparently, this allowed you to use the battery meter on the P2 to gauge power levels...  I can't seem to find the article now, and I have a dusty wooden dowel in my closet from years ago when I first saw the article...  Never built it...

If I ever get out to tape now, I usually just load up on the AA batteries and swap out during set-break.  I can always use AAs for Cody's toys, so half-dead ones aren't an issue...

Terry

Wow, I feel like an idiot.  I changed the plug adapter the opposite direction and now the HD-P2 turned on.  I'm going to test it today for length, but if I can get 5+ hrs I would be stoked.  Pack my 8 enloop rechargeables as well and I could make a whole festy day.
AKG CK61-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz
AKG CK63-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.116 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF