Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: External battery for HD-P2  (Read 7469 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dnsacks

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1643
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2011, 11:03:01 AM »
I "did the dowel trick" over the weekend -- needed to make 2 dowels, they occupy the two battery slots closest to the back of the hd-p2 (which was surprising to me and required me to remove the battery holder to understand/confirm).  Also had an opportunity to do some run time testing.

I found that I was able to get close to identical run times (just over 10 hours with phantom on powering a Studio Projects LSD2 and recording at 24/96 with the HDP2's lights all on) using either a) a 12 volt 5000mah NiMh battery pack running through the HDP2's external power adaptor or b) a 9 volt 5,500mah LiIon dvd battery via the "dowel trick" -- using the dvd battery, the hdp2 battery meter showed about 1/3 full from the start (which makes sense given that the hdp2 is expecting 12 volts (8x1.5 volt aa batteries) through its internal battery connector.

Right now I'm running both of the above batteries simultaneously to confirm that it'll fill up the 32gb cf card (15+ hours at 24/96) without any intervention while powering the LSD2.  Once that's done, I'm set for telluride.

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9823
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2011, 11:10:06 AM »
I "did the dowel trick" over the weekend -- needed to make 2 dowels, they occupy the two battery slots closest to the back of the hd-p2 (which was surprising to me and required me to remove the battery holder to understand/confirm).  Also had an opportunity to do some run time testing.

Awesome!  Can you snap a couple of pics of it for us???  Especially one with the unit in place...

Thanks!

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline rockymtnryan

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2011, 02:33:14 PM »
Now I feel even more like an idiot.  My 9v dvd batt won't power the unit.  Either its just not the right voltage or I have the wrong connector.  Probably the wrong connector since it has worked for others.

When I plugged the cable in and powered on, the unit came on since there was still batteries in the compartment.  The unit will default to the compartment when I have betteries in there and an external plugged in.  In the manual it says this is because the unit chooses the battery source with the highest voltage, I think.

Still looking for solutions.  I think creating a cable or splicing is a little beyond my skills at this point. 
AKG CK61-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz
AKG CK63-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz

Offline dnsacks

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1643
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2011, 03:33:52 PM »
Terry -- will do, just need to find a few minutes.

Ryan -- are you saying that the hd-p2 will not power up from the dvd battery when the internal aa batteries are removed?

I've seen what you're talking about with my hd-p2 when running both an external 12 volt pack through the external power adapter and the 9 volt dvd battery through the "dowel trick" referenced above -- the hd-p2 seems to "pull" from whatever source has a higher voltage.  With a 9 volt dvd battery powering the battery compartment and a 12 volt battery providing power through the external plug, it indicates that it's using external power throughout a 15 hour test recording session, even though the external battery alone will only provide 10 hours of power max (15 hours is the max recording time available on a 32gb card at 24/96)

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9823
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #19 on: June 02, 2011, 03:34:50 PM »
Now I feel even more like an idiot.  My 9v dvd batt won't power the unit.  Either its just not the right voltage or I have the wrong connector.  Probably the wrong connector since it has worked for others.

When I plugged the cable in and powered on, the unit came on since there was still batteries in the compartment.  The unit will default to the compartment when I have betteries in there and an external plugged in.  In the manual it says this is because the unit chooses the battery source with the highest voltage, I think.

Still looking for solutions.  I think creating a cable or splicing is a little beyond my skills at this point.

Take the AAs out. 

I figured this out at a show.  I left some AAs in the HD-P2 and ran a DVD battery pack since I didn't have time to charge the AAs.  I couldn't get it to power on for more than a few seconds before it shut-down...  But once I took out the AAs, it ran just fine - it was trying to take 12v out of dead batteries, rather than 9v out of an external battery...   

Terry
« Last Edit: June 02, 2011, 03:37:01 PM by twatts and not wearing pants »
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline rockymtnryan

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #20 on: June 14, 2011, 02:54:34 PM »
So I took the AA's out and the unit will not power up using the 9v DVD battery.  I guess I have the wrong connector?  I don't see how this could work for some people and not for me.  I'll have to run back to The Shack and see if they have a different connector.  Maybe I'm just not tight enough on the plug?
AKG CK61-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz
AKG CK63-ULS > Nbob actives > Nbox Platinum > Tascam DR-70D @ 24bit/96kHz

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #21 on: June 21, 2011, 05:44:45 PM »
It is reverse polarity from an Edirol unit

Offline paulr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Gender: Male
Re: External battery for HD-P2
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2011, 08:42:58 AM »
I had a similar problem with reverse polarity.  I cut the wire and reversed it and everything works great.
I am using a 12v NP1 type battery with an NP1 cup connecter. It has the same 8mm barrel plug as the HDP2. 
I ran my Earthworks Sr77's w/ phantom for nearly 7 hours.  It would have continued to operate but I was on to other things..
Earthworks are notorious "power suckers".
 During the test I frequently did things like turn on the display light for 10 min intervals, scrolled through menu settings, power source readings, etc. I had some low music playing in the back round so I would be able to run the recording volume at around 7 1/2 and check levels etc. in record mode. 
After 7 hours the external battery was still hovering right around 12 volts.
During the test I also installed the AA's during operation.  I removed and repalced the external power cord several times during operation and the HDP2 switched seamlessly back and forth from external to AA batteries.....
 
It's an obsession but it's pleasin'.......

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.15 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF