Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?  (Read 3204 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sdog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« on: October 04, 2011, 05:57:11 PM »
Is anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4VDC? Any bad side effects? I know that technically the DR-680 is spec'ed to take 8-to-13VDC, but a lot of Li-Ion batteries commonly used by bag mixers are 14.4V. Trying to figure out if I can get away with that. 

Thanks.

Offline acidjack

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5848
  • Gender: Male
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 02:13:34 PM »
Would STRONGLY recommend not doing this. 

The 680 is pretty sensitive as to its power inputs.  I believe at least one, possibly two of the ones I've owned were fried by Tekkeons operating on "Auto".  It doesn't seem that the input has much tolerance for higher voltage than recommended.
Mics: Schoeps MK4V, MK41V, MK5, MK22> CMC6, KCY 250/5, KC5, NBob; MBHO MBP603/KA200N, AT 3031, DPA 4061 w/ d:vice, Naiant X-X, AT 853c, shotgun, Nak300
Pres/Power: Aerco MP2, tinybox v2  [KCY], CA-UBB
Decks: Sound Devices MixPre 6, Zoom F8, M10, D50

My recordings on nyctaper.com: http://www.nyctaper.com/?tag=acidjack | LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/acidjack | twitter: http://www.twitter.com/acidjacknyc | Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/acidjacknyc

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2011, 04:25:36 PM »
Would STRONGLY recommend not doing this. 

The 680 is pretty sensitive as to its power inputs.  I believe at least one, possibly two of the ones I've owned were fried by Tekkeons operating on "Auto".  It doesn't seem that the input has much tolerance for higher voltage than recommended.

Or rather... it tolerates it 'too well' without blowing a fuse and corrupting the ROM or frying the main board.

Offline sdog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2011, 08:13:35 AM »
Excellent. Thanks. This is exactly what I needed to know!

Offline burris

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Your favorite mics suck.
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2011, 01:19:59 PM »
Instead of guessing, open it up, find the DC-DC converter, and Google the specs.

Offline sdog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2011, 12:28:12 PM »
knowing vs. guessing.

One way is safe and dull and boring. The other filled with risk and danger and excitement and fun!

O.K. I have to admit: that is a pretty good suggestion. ;-)

Offline sdog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2011, 07:08:33 PM »
Or not. It looks I'd be tracing copper for a week with my ham-fisted fingers mauling several circuit boards filled with tiny little surface mount ICs that I can barely read, trying to figure out where the converter sits on one of those boards. Now that I have it open, maybe this approach is better suited to someone with more delicate fingers and better eyesight!

Offline burris

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Your favorite mics suck.
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2011, 01:46:07 PM »
You need a magnifying glass or use a camera.  I was curious so I took a look.  Here is what I believe is the dc-dc converter section.  The deal is that the DR-680 doesn't use an integrated regulator in a nice big package with the manufacturer and part number screened on top.  It has a discrete one made from tiny surface mount chips that have coded part numbers on them.  You have to know or guess who made the chip then use a tool that the manufacturer hopefully has on their web site to convert the code to the actual part number so you can get the data sheet.  So I was wrong about it being as simple as cracking it open and Googling the part numbers.


Offline hammerhorror

  • Trade Count: (53)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1255
  • Gender: Male
  • Hey good lookin'
Re: Anyone powering a Tascam DR-680 at 14.4V?
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2011, 12:49:06 PM »
I have been powering my Tascam DR-680 and my Schoeps VMS5U Preamp from a single 14.4V V-Mount battery. I use the Remote Audio BDS (battery distribution system) to distribute the power to the DR-680 and the VMS5U. The integrated P-Tap on the side of the battery allows you to power any 12vdc device from this port.

Battery link: http://www.batteries4broadcast.com/vmb09.htm
Remote Audio BDS link: http://www.remoteaudio.com/bds_v4/

This combination has worked flawlessly with my DR-680 and Schoeps VMS5U preamp. I realize that this set-up is very expensive and not a realistic solution for most tapers, but I wanted to share my experience with everyone and comment on a power solution that seems to work perfectly with the DR-680.

I'm a professional freelance cameraman and already had the need for these types of batteries for my video gear, so I figured that I could get two uses out of the batteries and use them with my video and audio gear.


Mics: Schoeps MK4 & MK41, AKG CK63 (Naiant Actives)
 
Preamps: Naiant KCY Littlebox

Recorders: Sound Devices 664, Sony PCM-M10

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.106 seconds with 50 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF