Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: UA-5 Mods?  (Read 4411 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline trustthex

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 580
  • Gender: Male
  • Trainwreckin' Fool
UA-5 Mods?
« on: February 10, 2013, 01:11:02 PM »
Does Busman (or anyone) still mod these?  I may be about to acquire a stock one and would need to get it modified for our purposes...  Conversely, anyone want to make me an offer I can't refuse?   ;) ;D

Thanks!
Current Foolishness-
AT853c > 3-wire BB > LS10
AT853c > Tinybox > R-09

Other gear in my bag-
SP-CMC-1 (AT 829), ECM-717, Sharp MD-MS702
2x Teac ME-50 (C), AT ATR6250, SP-SPSB-2

Team TEXAS, Naiant, Jazz, Vinyl, moe.

-------
If you have any Brave Combo that needs transferred/uploaded, etc... PM me.

Offline achalsey

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2157
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2013, 01:29:24 PM »
Busman still should.  He advertises it on his website.  About a year or so ago, he upgraded parts on one I owned.

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 10:15:13 AM »
Chris (Busman) still does the mods

Offline paulbaptiste

  • Trade Count: (50)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1038
  • Gender: Male
  • in that sweet bye and bye
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013, 06:59:58 PM »
Haven't paid attention to the sales recently, but not too long ago you could purchase modded UA5s for the same price as the mod itself.  If it were me i'd save my money and just put an ISO on the YS for a modded unit. my .02

edit:

ALso curious why a UA5? Nothng wrong with them as i've owned a couple myself, but why this as opposed to an all in one of similar cost, like a busman 660 for example?  Just curious
« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 09:17:39 PM by paulbaptiste »
Official Archivist for The Felice Brothers and contact for guestlist/taper spots
Please contact me regarding upcoming shows as well as recordings for the bands archive
robertsnw@yahoo.com

Offline trustthex

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 580
  • Gender: Male
  • Trainwreckin' Fool
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2013, 09:55:12 PM »
Already have recorders...  I need to focus my sluttiness.

I am slowly building a decent open setup and really like the ease of use I had with this device.  My now-retired taping buddy had/has one a stock one that I really liked; and the UA-5 still fits into my price range now.  I was not aware the mod-price was so high; I probably am going to just post an ISO in the YS when I have funds available in Paypal.

Other why -- I am also going to collect/use older mics and the UA-5 has TRS, which it appears to be phased out on comparable devices.  If there are any in the same range, please advise  (semi-frequent reader, infrequent poster);  I have looked at tinybox/etc, but they are out of my range at this time.

Also, iirc, wasn't the switchable/passive so that I could still use this as a usb computer interface if desired.

TIA!
Current Foolishness-
AT853c > 3-wire BB > LS10
AT853c > Tinybox > R-09

Other gear in my bag-
SP-CMC-1 (AT 829), ECM-717, Sharp MD-MS702
2x Teac ME-50 (C), AT ATR6250, SP-SPSB-2

Team TEXAS, Naiant, Jazz, Vinyl, moe.

-------
If you have any Brave Combo that needs transferred/uploaded, etc... PM me.

Offline flipp

  • resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4308
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2013, 06:05:01 AM »
FR2LE has 1/4 TRS/XLR combo jacks. It's a good recorder with very quiet pres but is larger than many options of comparable age and much larger than many newer recorders in common use by TSers. It is also more expensive than what your budget appears to be.


Offline yousef

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1408
  • Gender: Male
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 06:38:48 AM »
Other why -- I am also going to collect/use older mics and the UA-5 has TRS, which it appears to be phased out on comparable devices.  If there are any in the same range, please advise  (semi-frequent reader, infrequent poster);  I have looked at tinybox/etc, but they are out of my range at this time.

I am pretty sure that the TRS connectors are disabled on my Busman-modded UA-5 - bm2p+...

The XLRs that are part of the same combined sockets do work though.
music>other stuff>ears
my recordings: http://db.etree.org/yousef
http://www.manchestertaper.co.uk
twitter: @manchestertaper

Offline paulbaptiste

  • Trade Count: (50)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1038
  • Gender: Male
  • in that sweet bye and bye
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2013, 07:59:47 AM »
and there were some switchable digimods/ but i don't remember a switchable digimod that was also an oade or busman mod ect.. I may be wrong on that one though... I forgot about the trs being disabled also...And for mics that are terminated with trs, can't you simply use an adapter? Or better yet, teac and nak mics that can be modded to run p48 by a few people on this board now rather cheaply..

I loved my busman UA5 when i had it, but the lack of monitoring, made something like svu2 (beachtek??) a necessity for me, and with so many cheap all in ones on the market, i ended up getting a busman modded marantz pmd 660, one of which i still own, which IMO sounded better, was far less gear to tote around, and for $300 dollar price tag nowadays, i find a much better, more versatile investment.  to each his own.  the marantz only has xlr inputs though also.  But i'd def. post in the YS if thats the route you want to take and you'll find a great price on a modded UA5 fairly easily i'd imagine.

Good Luck
Official Archivist for The Felice Brothers and contact for guestlist/taper spots
Please contact me regarding upcoming shows as well as recordings for the bands archive
robertsnw@yahoo.com

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9823
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2013, 09:32:44 AM »

I am pretty sure that the TRS connectors are disabled on my Busman-modded UA-5 - bm2p+...

The XLRs that are part of the same combined sockets do work though.

This is true of the Oade Modded UA5s as well...  The XLRs work, the TRSes do not...

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2013, 11:44:07 AM »
And I believe that it disables the spdif input too with the Busman mod.

Offline jbou

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 384
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2013, 12:41:16 PM »
Tascam DR-40 has combo xlr/trs jacks. An entire recorder with P48 for $200. You can get one a little cheaper if you shop around. I dont have any info on how the preamps compare to a modded UA5 though

Offline trustthex

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 580
  • Gender: Male
  • Trainwreckin' Fool
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2013, 08:48:38 PM »
Good replies all, thank you!

This is why I started asking ???s at least a month before purchase.  I am going to get some adapter-cables made, I will need 2x TRS>1/8" for sure pretty quickly.  Glad I found out about the TRS thing now on the UA-5; never actually ran those into it...  So, you guys probably ended that idea.  Not sure I can convince the wife I need another recorder, but that Tascam unit looks nifty.  I like the looks of the tinybox as well and may just need to save a bit more.

So, what would you guys recommend?  Here are my next upgrades as I see it:

1 - Preamp-type device (need to upgrade from battery boxes)
2 - get another set of 853s + omni caps (mine are wired for 007)
3 - more mics
4 - profit???
5 - recorder/more sluttiness

I'd like to take care of 1 & 2 this year.  Also, I aim to pick up older mics at estate sales/whatever & would need to device to be able to power them for test before sale (or use).  I already have a pair of minty Teac ME-50's that are TRS.   ;D

Thanks again!
Current Foolishness-
AT853c > 3-wire BB > LS10
AT853c > Tinybox > R-09

Other gear in my bag-
SP-CMC-1 (AT 829), ECM-717, Sharp MD-MS702
2x Teac ME-50 (C), AT ATR6250, SP-SPSB-2

Team TEXAS, Naiant, Jazz, Vinyl, moe.

-------
If you have any Brave Combo that needs transferred/uploaded, etc... PM me.

Offline bodegahwy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Gender: Male
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2013, 05:10:06 PM »
If you are still looking I have an Oade Bros Digimod UA-5 I would be happy to sell.  Like new condition.  I used it to transfer some cassettes to digital at home some time ago and it has been sitting in a box ever since.  It has never been "out".  Nice selection of cables etc to go with it.  bodegahwy @ comcast.net

Martin Guitars, Moots Bikes, Scott Fly Rods and BD tele skis.  Music in the Mountains.

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9823
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2013, 10:54:34 PM »
And I believe that it disables the spdif input too with the Busman mod.

Not sure about the BusMod, but the Oade Mods left the SPDIF intact...  The only problem with it was that it was not "bit-perfect" in that any SPDIF input went through an analog stage before being sent back out of any of the digital outputs...  In other words, it could not be used as a Digital Format Convertor (much to my grief when I first bought it)...

Terry
***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline trustthex

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 580
  • Gender: Male
  • Trainwreckin' Fool
Re: UA-5 Mods?
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2013, 03:36:23 AM »
If you are still looking I have an Oade Bros Digimod UA-5 I would be happy to sell.  Like new condition.  I used it to transfer some cassettes to digital at home some time ago and it has been sitting in a box ever since.  It has never been "out".  Nice selection of cables etc to go with it.  bodegahwy @ comcast.net

I purchased & am waiting on a Tinyboy from Naiant.  I may still be interested in your UA-5 in the coming weeks when I get some computer stuff listed/sold on fleabay. 
Current Foolishness-
AT853c > 3-wire BB > LS10
AT853c > Tinybox > R-09

Other gear in my bag-
SP-CMC-1 (AT 829), ECM-717, Sharp MD-MS702
2x Teac ME-50 (C), AT ATR6250, SP-SPSB-2

Team TEXAS, Naiant, Jazz, Vinyl, moe.

-------
If you have any Brave Combo that needs transferred/uploaded, etc... PM me.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.227 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF