Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power  (Read 3975 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3022
  • Gender: Male
  • Reinvented, redefined, rearranged but not refined
    • My LMA collection
Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« on: January 26, 2015, 10:07:56 AM »
Hey All-

I have a bunch of Tekkeon 3300's, and with this storm coming I am wondering if there is a way to use the Tekkeon 3300 to charge an iPhone?  The 3300 does not have a usb port, so I am assuming if it is possible it would require some type of barrel > USB connector.  Has anyone tried this or have any suggestions. I know I won't have a solution in place before I am covered in snow, but I'd like to see if there is an option here for next time. 

I also wonder if there is anyway to power a light off one of these.  I have 8 3300's, and it would be awesome to be able to use that power during a power outage for charging iPhones and lighting.

Any ideas?
Jesse

Offline bryonsos

  • Omni addict
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2062
  • Gender: Male
  • If it's important, tell me to write it down.
    • LMA uploads
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2015, 10:13:32 AM »
Does the 3300 have USB?
Mics: 3 Zigma Chi HA-FX (COL-251, c, h, o-d, o-f) / Avenson STO-2 / Countryman B3s
Pres: CA-Ugly / Naiant Tinyhead / SD MixPre
Decks: Roland R-44 / Sony PCM-M10
GAKables
Dead Muppets

My recordings LMA / BT / TTD

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5665
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2015, 11:10:58 AM »
Temp Solutions (kind of ghetto)

If you have a female USB cable you can splice that onto a tekkeon cable (twist cables together and cover with electric tape)

There are three colored wires in a tekkeon (red, white & Black) and four colored wires in a USB cable (green, white, black and red).
Tie the green black white USB wires to the Black & white tekkeon.
Tie the Red USB to the Red Tekkeon.
Wrap each separate connection with electrical tape.
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline Ultfris101

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 763
  • Gender: Male
  • Spoon!!!
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2015, 11:34:41 AM »
Be very careful not to have anything connected when you are turning on the battery. I obtained the necessary adapters (can't remember if it came with the 3300 or not) to go from the 3300 to a female USB jack, and then I could set the battery at 5v and power my USB Pre2. Great. worked well in my living room.

Then setting up hurriedly at a show, I sloppily left my USB Pre2 connected when I turned my 3300 on I learned it sends a brief pulse at max voltage and then drops to the lowest one... Or at least mine did and I've heard reports of others having similar experiences. Fried my USB Pre 2. SD was great about fixing it and it's solid ever since but I bought a Jackery 12000mah USB phone charging battery.

Good battery but be careful when using lower voltage devices.

Mics: Schoeps MK5,MK41 CMC6,KCY,KC5 | AKG ck63,ck1 C460B,C480B | DPA 4061 | Naiant X-R card,hyper | CA-14o,c
Pres: Sound Devices USBPre2 | Naiant Tinybox | Church Audio 9200, UBB
Recs: Zoom F8 | Edirol R-44 | Sony PCM-M10 | Tascam DR-2d
Video: Sony CX550(2), CX580, HX9

LMA: http://archive.org/bookmarks/ultfris101

Offline Fried Chicken Boy

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2997
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2015, 11:44:30 AM »
The 3300 does not have USB; that feature was added to later Tekkeon models like the 3450.  I did purchase an AdaptAPlug female USB tip awhile ago in hopes that it would play nice with any device charging through a USB cable.  While it worked just fine with a Tascam DR-60D, it would not work with an iPhone or iPad; I guess the Apple devices didn't recognize the battery through the USB adapter?  That said, I also picked up an AdaptAPlug micro USB tip and was able to charge any Android phone with the 3300 batteries.

Ted's solution above might work but, in light of my experiences, I wouldn't be surprised if you'd have to splice an Apple connector directly to the Tekkeon cable in order for iPhone or iPad to recognize the 3300 and take a charge.  Let us know how it pans out for you, Jesse.

BTW, good luck weathering the storm.  We're all stocked up and hunkered down here in NYC waiting to see what happens.

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1662
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2015, 01:36:09 PM »
I have two of those 3300s that I briefly considered using to power my 60d.  I picked up a USB tip and was a bit nervous about making sure I had the polarity right.  While testing the polarity and the voltage, it appeared to me that there was a bit of voltage fluctuation so I have never used the 3300 with my 60d or anything else. 

Offline Fried Chicken Boy

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2997
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2015, 01:55:59 PM »
^^ I don't know how much voltage fluctuation you found, but I've been using the 3300 batteries with a DR-60D, an R-44, and Android phones for almost a year now and haven't had one iota of trouble with them.  As Ultfris suggested, set the voltage on the battery before plugging it into the device and you should be fine.  FWIW, I performed a test with the 3300 (mentioned in another thread) switching from the highest voltage (14v) to the lowest (3v) and, IIRC, it takes about 45 seconds for it to drop from the one extreme to the other. 

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3022
  • Gender: Male
  • Reinvented, redefined, rearranged but not refined
    • My LMA collection
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2015, 02:39:36 PM »
How about making a super long lasting led latern out of a tekkeon 3300.  Anyone have any ideas on that?

Offline Ultfris101

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 763
  • Gender: Male
  • Spoon!!!
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2015, 03:20:30 PM »
You have any LED Christmas lights?

Or an LED flashlight or two? I imagine it's just a matter of chopping a tekkeon cable and connecting the correct wires to the correct places in the flashlight battery chamber and sending the right voltage through.
Mics: Schoeps MK5,MK41 CMC6,KCY,KC5 | AKG ck63,ck1 C460B,C480B | DPA 4061 | Naiant X-R card,hyper | CA-14o,c
Pres: Sound Devices USBPre2 | Naiant Tinybox | Church Audio 9200, UBB
Recs: Zoom F8 | Edirol R-44 | Sony PCM-M10 | Tascam DR-2d
Video: Sony CX550(2), CX580, HX9

LMA: http://archive.org/bookmarks/ultfris101

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5955
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2015, 03:21:01 PM »
Something like this? Not really a lantern, but this is a 1-meter coiled LED strip I bought off eBay for something like $10/shipped from China. They come in many different lengths. It also comes with a wall wart that provides 12v output. Pictured is the 3450, but the 3300 would work just fine at the 12v setting for these. These are bright as hell and are adjustable, too.

« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 06:22:37 PM by audBall »
akg ck61/62/63/77(c577)|naiant.pfa, dpa smk-sc4061 
lunatec v2, d:vice
edirol-r44(ocm), sony pcm-m10,-d100

PISO akg nbob cables, Aerco MP2

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3022
  • Gender: Male
  • Reinvented, redefined, rearranged but not refined
    • My LMA collection
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2015, 09:19:19 AM »
Sweet, that's what I am looking for.  Do you have a link by chance?  I'd love to find something like this I can just plug into without having to strip and splice wires..

Thanks,
Jesse

Offline jmerin

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1199
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2015, 09:55:17 AM »
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009V5X1CE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Try that battery. 2 usb ports.. I tested a Tascam recorder to work longer than 25 hours with more time to spare!
Mics: Schoeps MK4's | Schoeps MK41's | Schoeps Mk21's
Pre-Amps: Schoeps VMS02ib | Nbox Platinum KCY
Cables: KCY 250/5 Ig (2)
Recorders: Sony M10  | Tascam 70D l Edirol R-44

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5955
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2015, 11:23:01 AM »
Sweet, that's what I am looking for.  Do you have a link by chance?  I'd love to find something like this I can just plug into without having to strip and splice wires..

Thanks,
Jesse

Customize away:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/161255347539

For reference, mine is: 1M, 60leds, waterproof, 44k IR + 1A power (for the remote and wall wart)
akg ck61/62/63/77(c577)|naiant.pfa, dpa smk-sc4061 
lunatec v2, d:vice
edirol-r44(ocm), sony pcm-m10,-d100

PISO akg nbob cables, Aerco MP2

stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2015, 03:40:43 PM »
Sweet, that's what I am looking for.  Do you have a link by chance?  I'd love to find something like this I can just plug into without having to strip and splice wires..

Thanks,
Jesse

Customize away:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/161255347539

For reference, mine is: 1M, 60leds, waterproof, 44k IR + 1A power (for the remote and wall wart)

Are you using this for a stand during a show?  Too bright or obnoxious?  Will the battery last the whole show?

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5955
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2015, 05:54:50 PM »
Are you using this for a stand during a show?  Too bright or obnoxious?  Will the battery last the whole show?

No, it was a total impulse buy and when I saw this thread, I decided to see if the Tekkeon worked. I'd imagine you could use this on a stand just fine. They do get pretty bright but that can be adjusted with the remote. The LEDs change colors, brightness, blink, dance about, etc., all from the remote control. You can even adjust the blink rates and how the color changes. A darker color like blue or purple on a lower brightness setting might work a little better around a stand. Again, I haven't tested it out in the field so not sure on battery life either. 
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 05:56:23 PM by audBall »
akg ck61/62/63/77(c577)|naiant.pfa, dpa smk-sc4061 
lunatec v2, d:vice
edirol-r44(ocm), sony pcm-m10,-d100

PISO akg nbob cables, Aerco MP2

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1662
Re: Tekkeon 3300 for emergency power
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2015, 10:59:58 AM »
I bought a couple of these led work lights from Lowes for less than $20.00.  http://www.lowes.com/pd_580828-43921-MPL1004-LED10K840_0__?productId=50196411&Ntt=led+work+light&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3Dled%2Bwork%2Blight&facetInfo=

Stays cool to the touch and produces a lot of light.  Runs off 110v or 12v.  Have used the Tekkeon 3300 to power it.  One of the standard tips works fine.  No idea how long it will run as I haven't run the battery down yet. 

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.223 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF