Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Zoom F8 - Part 2  (Read 73173 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jamos

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1628
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #345 on: June 11, 2016, 05:04:41 PM »
We've decided to sell our F8, if anyone here is interested...

It's in the yard sale too, but PM me if you'd like to buy it!

Edit - deck is SOLD
« Last Edit: July 31, 2016, 04:12:55 PM by Jamos »

Offline Sonus Captor

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #346 on: June 12, 2016, 02:34:33 PM »
Hi everyone.

Last week I finally got my F8, but had to return it because of several issues:

1. Three brand new Kingston SD cards (SDX10V/64GB) from Zoom's list of compatible cards failed the performance test.
  Older, slower cards tested ok.
  The cards were all formatted in the F8. The formatting process only took a split second, which is odd.
 "Quick Format" in a Tascam DR-70D took about 17 seconds.

2. After the performance test the F8 needed approx. 90 seconds to go back to the previous screen after pressing the menu button.

3. In dual channel recording mode the pots no. 5-8 were still active. This should not be the case since the safety tracks should be set automatically to -12db in relation to the primary tracks.

4. Set to "Recording - Mark Only" the F8 paused the recording anyway when pressing the play key to add a mark when recording mp3's.
  Obviously it's not possible to add marks to an mp3 file. The manual remains silent about that. But the recording should definitely never be paused in the "Mark Only" setting since that can ruin the whole file.
  A message should be displayed instead. No problems with wav's, though.

Greyfoxx, Piero and Sixnon in the jwsoundgroup forum had similar issues with their F8's. So it's not an isolated case.

I just hope the problems are software-related and can be eliminated with a firmware update.

Offline vegeta_ban

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 568
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #347 on: June 12, 2016, 11:09:23 PM »
Hi everyone.

Last week I finally got my F8, but had to return it because of several issues:

1. Three brand new Kingston SD cards (SDX10V/64GB) from Zoom's list of compatible cards failed the performance test.
  Older, slower cards tested ok.
  The cards were all formatted in the F8. The formatting process only took a split second, which is odd.
 "Quick Format" in a Tascam DR-70D took about 17 seconds.

2. After the performance test the F8 needed approx. 90 seconds to go back to the previous screen after pressing the menu button.

3. In dual channel recording mode the pots no. 5-8 were still active. This should not be the case since the safety tracks should be set automatically to -12db in relation to the primary tracks.

4. Set to "Recording - Mark Only" the F8 paused the recording anyway when pressing the play key to add a mark when recording mp3's.
  Obviously it's not possible to add marks to an mp3 file. The manual remains silent about that. But the recording should definitely never be paused in the "Mark Only" setting since that can ruin the whole file.
  A message should be displayed instead. No problems with wav's, though.

Greyfoxx, Piero and Sixnon in the jwsoundgroup forum had similar issues with their F8's. So it's not an isolated case.

I just hope the problems are software-related and can be eliminated with a firmware update.

Was it using the most up to date firmware? Just curious, the only issues I have had so far have been my fault with learning the recorder and bluetooth disconnecting. But that is why i still run a SD722 as a backup.
Mics: Telefunken ELA M 260 Field Kit; Nakamichi cm 100/CP4 shotgun (CP 1&2); Nakamichi Cm 300 (CP 1, 2, & 3) x3  JB phantom power mod; Nakamichi Cm 1000s; Superlux CMH8K
Recorders: Sound Devices 722; Zoom F8; Edirol R44 Oade Concert Mod; Digimod UA5>Nomad Jukebox 3 (or Archos 605 wifi); Zoom H2; Zoom H6
Camcorder: Panasonic PV-GS300
Camera: Fujifilm X-E1 & various lenses; Fujifilm s100fs; Fujifilm S7000
Misc: Beachtek SVU-2

Offline Sonus Captor

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #348 on: June 13, 2016, 12:01:44 AM »
Firmware was v.2.0.

Offline rippleish20

  • Trade Count: (18)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 911
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #349 on: June 16, 2016, 06:34:02 PM »
I've recorded 30+ shows with my F8 with no problems. I originally used some older 32GB cards I had, replaced those with 64GB and more recently 128GB cards and have formatted them all several times with no problems. I dislike the little gain knobs and the fact that you have to use 1/4 to get line in etc but otherwise like the F8 a lot...
Schoeps CMC6 (MK22's, MK41's) / AKG C480B (ck61, ck63, ck8) / DPA (4061) / Neumann KM100 (AK40, AK50) / Audio Technica AT4050ST/ AT853s  (cardiod, omni) / CA-14 (cardiod) / CA-11 (Omni) /
Mixpre-10t / Mixpre-6 / Mixpre-3 /Roland R-07 /Tascam DR-100mkIII / d:vice

Offline phanophish

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2130
  • Gender: Male
    • ImageLume Photography
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #350 on: June 20, 2016, 02:56:19 PM »
I've recorded 30+ shows with my F8 with no problems. I originally used some older 32GB cards I had, replaced those with 64GB and more recently 128GB cards and have formatted them all several times with no problems. I dislike the little gain knobs and the fact that you have to use 1/4 to get line in etc but otherwise like the F8 a lot...

Question related to the need for 1/4" to get line levels.  Can I run the 1/4" adapter as line in while pushing phantom to my mics?  I think I tried this once and could not turn on phantom but want to confirm this is the case?  Using the XLRs with my MBHOs I need very little gain and I worry a bit about running the pre amps too hot.

______________________________________________
Audio: MBHO 603/KA200N or AKG C2000B>Edirol R44
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/phanophish

Photo:  Nikon D300, D200, 35mm f/1.8,  50mm f/1.4, 85mm f/1.8, Nikon 17-55 f/2.8, Sigma 18-50/2.8 Macro, 18-70 f/4.5-5.6, 24-120 f/3.5-5.6 VR, Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6, Nikon 70-200 f/2.8VR, SB-800

Jake: What's this?
Elwood: What?
Jake: This car. This stupid car. Where's the Cadillac? The Caddy? Where's the Caddy?
Elwood: The what?
Jake: The Cadillac we used to have. The Blues Mobile!
Elwood: I traded it.
Jake: You traded the Blues Mobile for this?
Elwood: No. For a microphone.
Jake: A microphone? Okay I can see that.

Offline Sebastian

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1344
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #351 on: June 20, 2016, 04:06:49 PM »
Question related to the need for 1/4" to get line levels.  Can I run the 1/4" adapter as line in while pushing phantom to my mics?  I think I tried this once and could not turn on phantom but want to confirm this is the case?  Using the XLRs with my MBHOs I need very little gain and I worry a bit about running the pre amps too hot.

No, the 1/4" inputs don't pass phantom power to the mics. That's why I made myself right-angle XLR adapter cables with 12dB attenuation. Now my level dials are usually right in the middle, which gives me a good feeling when recording loud bands.
Schoeps { MK6 | MK41V | MK4 } > NBob actives > {Naiant Tinybox v2.0 | Naiant IPA | Naiant PFAs} > {Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Sony PCM-A10 | Sony PCM-M10 | Tascam DR-2d}

Recordings:
Live Music Archive | DaD Torrents | TTD Torrents | Etree Torrents

Offline robtweed

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #352 on: June 24, 2016, 07:27:18 AM »
For any Zoom F8 users in the UK.  I've just had a custom cable made up for me:

Hirose 4-pin male to 5.5 X 2.5mm coax female with 25cm cable

Works perfectly with my Anker Power Bank and the cable it came with - a much cheaper power option than an NP1 battery pack, and a much better connection than via the DC connector.

If others are interested, here's the company that made it for me as a custom job:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/182181329774?lpid=122&chn=ps&googleloc=1007274&poi=&campaignid=207297426&device=c&adgroupid=13585920426&rlsatarget=pla-75952154106&adtype=pla&crdt=0
Mics: DPA 2011C, Line Audio OM1 & CM3, Calrec CM652D, Behringer C-4
Recorders: Zoom F8, Zoom H4n, Sound Devices USBPre2 + MacBook Air
Mixdown: Audacity, Cubase LE on Mac OS X
Playback: Beresford Caiman II DAC, Naim NAP 100 amp, PMC TB2i speakers

smokenburn

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #353 on: July 07, 2016, 11:48:39 AM »
Re: Orca OR-28 bag

I purchased one yesterday at Trew Audio.  It works with SD744/722/702, Zoom F8, Tascam DR70-d...  As for the 'open top' someone mentioned, though it has room for radio antenna's, you can tighten the cover by pulling the side/pocket section apart and fasten the slack with velcro if it starts to rain.  Still probably best to store a rain cover or poncho.  It's a nice bag.

Offline Hypnocracy

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (46)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1994
  • Hypnocratic Missionary
    • Hypno on teh LMA
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #354 on: July 07, 2016, 06:02:51 PM »
had my eye on this bag...but wonder about space for battery(s)?  If I go F8 I'd have to bring along my V2 and Aerco pre's that makes three to power (two at minimum Aerco is internal power optionally). Actually it appears that is an either or with the pre's not enough room for all three?  8.5"l X 4.5"w X 6.5"h
_____________
hypno on teh Archive

This must be heaven -- 'cause here's where the rainbow ends
If this ain't the real thing, then it's close enough to pretend

smokenburn

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #355 on: July 07, 2016, 06:19:24 PM »
had my eye on this bag...but wonder about space for battery(s)?  If I go F8 I'd have to bring along my V2 and Aerco pre's that makes three to power (two at minimum Aerco is internal power optionally). Actually it appears that is an either or with the pre's not enough room for all three?  8.5"l X 4.5"w X 6.5"h


Here are a couple pic's

(I don't know why they are upside down.)

You can fit two 744's, but I doubt a V3 would fit since the XLR's are on the back/bottom.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2016, 06:21:49 PM by smokenburn »

Offline Hypnocracy

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (46)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1994
  • Hypnocratic Missionary
    • Hypno on teh LMA
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #356 on: July 07, 2016, 07:58:18 PM »
Thanks for the foto...I run stilts on the V2...hmm that makes it 8" high...What about space for batteries?
_____________
hypno on teh Archive

This must be heaven -- 'cause here's where the rainbow ends
If this ain't the real thing, then it's close enough to pretend

Offline boltman

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 999
  • Gender: Male
  • Music est vita!
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #357 on: July 07, 2016, 09:09:12 PM »
Thanks for the foto...I run stilts on the V2...hmm that makes it 8" high...What about space for batteries?

You can take off the stilts.  This bag has bendable metal supports that conform exactly to the deck/preamp and raises it to the proper height.

smokenburn

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #358 on: July 07, 2016, 09:48:03 PM »
Yeah, the bag comes with adjustable stilts.  There is plenty of room for batteries.  Two large side pockets both have access to the main compartment so you can store an external battery and run a cable to the preamp/recorder/mixer.

Offline caymanreview

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9855
  • Gender: Male
    • shows ive taped  that are in circulation
Re: Zoom F8 - Part 2
« Reply #359 on: July 09, 2016, 03:08:04 PM »
Having aa battery tray issues.

New tested powerex. Fully charged. tested.  F8 wont come on. all in tray the correct direction

When u guys look into the chamber for the battery sled, are all the contacts in there the same?

I see one appears as if the female contact from the sled stuck over the contact inside my unit.

Is this stock to further eliminate flipped aa sleds? Or do i have a dec.fective unit?
« Last Edit: July 09, 2016, 03:58:39 PM by caymanreview »

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.147 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF