Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SLA Question  (Read 3507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
SLA Question
« on: September 01, 2003, 01:16:46 PM »
So I have two six volt, seven amp hour SLAs that I use one to power my MP-2 (with phantom at 15v), and another to power by D100 and Mod SBM1.  My question is this, I am taping Counting Crows/John Mayer tonight (no grief...I like the crows, Mayer sucks, but my fiance likes him so he will get taped), and if I had to guess, this will be around 3 hours tape time.  Tomorrow night I am going to Clutch/Mastodon and am planning on taping them and if I had to guess, this could be 3-4 hours tape time (there is another opener in addition to Mastodon which I will tape just in case they are solid).  

My problem is that I am not sure I will have enough time to recharge my SLAs between the one show and the other (I dont like leaving them plugged in overnight unless I am awake, so that if they burn up, I can put them out...anal I know).  So based on everyones experience, will I be able to get a full run out of them at both shows without issues?

Thx for any and all replies...

Nick

Offline zhianosatch

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8995
  • Gender: Male
  • god-damned hippies!
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2003, 01:37:00 PM »
Nick, dude, if you're not sure now, just buy a pack of AAs. Problem solved for a show you need taped.

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2003, 01:41:06 PM »
yeah, I know I have that option....that is my backup plan...just curious if anyone can speak to the SLA's

rabhan

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2003, 02:39:06 PM »
just let them charge overnight. just dont use that same brand surge protector that other guy used....

Offline scb

  • Eli Manning should die of gonorrhea and rot in hell. Would you like a cookie, son?
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8616
  • Gender: Male
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2003, 03:06:45 PM »
i think you'll be fine.  the mp2 would be fine for sure, and i think the d100 and sbm would be fine, but i am not positive since i never ran that combo.  but i did run a d8 and d100 split off a 7 amp hour for an easy 2 shows before

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2003, 03:08:58 PM »
OK, cool...thanks for the info guys.  As Armen suggested, I will have AA's on hand for emergencies...but I will post here how it goes.

Nick

Offline zhianosatch

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8995
  • Gender: Male
  • god-damned hippies!
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2003, 04:19:19 PM »
Sweet, good luck.

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8319
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2003, 04:28:13 AM »
how long will AAs run that bad boy on 48V phantom? just curious :)

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2003, 08:42:45 AM »
I ran the MP-2 on lithiums for around 3 hours...48v...had more juice, but did not want to risk it power wise by running another show with it...

Offline ianstone

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4185
  • Gender: Male
  • schoeps>something>something else
    • My Recordings on ARCHIVE
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2003, 06:40:52 PM »
nick i think you should be fine, really.

but just keep a pair of AA's inside the mp2, that way you can flip the power switch from ext to int without fumbling around to put batteries into the unit

ian
Microphones:
CCM4v (pair)
mk6 (pair) and mk41 (pair) with kc5's & cmc6's
mk21 (1) for those M/S situations

Preamps:
Sonosax SX-M2

Recorders:
Sound Devices 722
Edirol R-01

My Recordings on archive http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=%22ian%20stone%22

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8319
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2003, 03:42:34 AM »
I ran the MP-2 on lithiums for around 3 hours...48v...had more juice, but did not want to risk it power wise by running another show with it...

oh sweet, thanx for the info, the SD site doesn't say...

ian, good advice, can't go wrong that way, +T to both of you

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3515
  • Gender: Male
Re:SLA Question
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2003, 07:41:10 PM »
FWIW, I've run a D8 and SBM-1 off of the same 6v 7.2AH SLA for ~8 hours. I think you'll be ok.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.256 seconds with 53 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF