Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required  (Read 2439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pool

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 169
Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« on: January 09, 2007, 03:02:24 AM »
Hi all-
I read various posts re CF for the MT- all very informative, some older posts, so I'll venture a re-post. I was going for an Transcend 8GB but had a temporary issue in ordering and now get a second change:

Any members have experience and can report re these models? I have a Dane-Elec 2 GB 133x (which i bought for a fortune) and it gave me issues unless I format each time.
 
I'm going for Transcend. All are competitevly priced. I would go for the 4gb as its been tested, but of course the 8gb would be more handy if anyone can report ok/issues:

TS 4GB CF 45x - Recommened and verified (thanks guysonic, as always)

TS 4G CF 120x 

TS 8G CF 45x

TS 8G CF 80X

TS 8G CF 120x 

Hope to get help and in turn help others
thank you

cmoorevt

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2007, 08:57:51 AM »
Somewhat of a hijack, but as pointed out by L Ron Hoover in the Retail Section yesterday, you can get a 4GB Kingston for $14.95 after rebate from this vendor:  http://www.adorama.com/KGCF4GE.html  These are verified to work in the MT.

Offline pool

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 169
Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2007, 02:20:40 PM »
Thats a very impressive offer thank you.

Further reports re 8gb cf's would also be appreciated.

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6705
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2007, 09:26:16 AM »
since the newest firmware i have gathered mixed reports on this card as well
anyone who can give recent experience would be appreciated (or any other cards beside sandisk and kingston)
thanks
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline pool

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 169
Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2007, 11:14:08 AM »
apparently Transcend 8 gb works fine- it only reports media full and one has to repress the rec button. Again a 4gb is fine, but an 8gb is handy.

Offline anhisr

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 2974
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2007, 11:20:29 AM »
I use a transcend 8gb card in my MT.  It says media full.  Hit record again and all is fine. 
Audio: Neumann KM 100> 20, 30, 40, 43 or 50 > V3 > MT II (love that M/S)
Still Camera Body: Canon D5 Mark II
Canon Lenses:  16-35mm f2.8L II USM; 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM; 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM
Video Canon HF R30

archive  http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/anhisr

Offline pool

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 169
Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2007, 03:10:28 PM »
I use a transcend 8gb card in my MT.  It says media full.  Hit record again and all is fine. 

Thank for the info.
Does it report the remaining times correctly then, for second or subsequent files?

Offline pool

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 169
Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2007, 02:37:35 AM »
 Re: Transcend(ing) advice re CF for MT required
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 11:20:29 AM » Quote 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I use a transcend 8gb card in my MT.  It says media full.  Hit record again and all is fine. 


Also which 8GB speed are you using. Thank you

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.119 seconds with 36 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF