Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: linking a v3 and an AD2K+  (Read 4907 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40689
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #15 on: September 11, 2008, 04:04:15 AM »
Quote
so there you go.  the key thing, when syncing the AD2K to the V3 clock is to NOT use the word clock output.  the manual says that it needs to be AES or S/PDIF for the digital lock.  the good thing is that the V3 has both S/PDIF and AES ouputs, so whichever one you aren't using to send to your record deck, you can use the other one to the AD2K to get it all sync'ed up.

Connected AES out from V3 to the digital input on the AD2K and bam! lock led on the 2k flashed for a few seconds then  stayed solid and lit. Awesome. Got the second microtrack today at Guitar Center for 240.  Not too bad! I might sell my MT1 and buy another 2.  The other great thing is I have an easy way to run a backup for those "must not screw this one up" type nights.  ;)

 I'm going to tape The Brew tomorrow night and see if I can do 4's>v3>MT1 + sbd>ad2k>mt2.  And apparently I can use Sound Studio to do the mix down which I already have.  This is such an awesome feature about my setup that I didn't even realize I had!   ;D
                                                                           

that is sweetness jesse :) let us know, and hear, how it went ;)

if I were you tho and you started to do this more often(which you should), then id get an r44 in a heartbeat. i saw rob clarke's at moedown and it is TINY compared to the r-4 :) just need cf cards :) and i bet its battery compared to the r44 is alot better.

but, you are golden w/ what you ahve. very cool. ive never messed w/ word clocks, but that is supa cool IMO :)
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4 (MP) & MK 41V (MP) Capsules ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's X2 ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's x2 ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's x2 ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Andromeda & Dorado IEM's ->
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax 3.5mm | FiiO LC 2.5c 2.5mm ->
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 5570-5521 SLV Laptop
(Pentium i5/8gb RAM/256gb SSD)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2982
  • Gender: Male
  • Reinvented, redefined, rearranged but not refined
    • My LMA collection
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2008, 08:37:14 AM »
Yeah I think I'm pretty golden as is.  The Microtracks are ideal for taking digitial inputs, and they are super small and lightweight.  With the V3 and AD2K the last thing I need is a bigger recorder in my bag!  And there is NO way I'm ditching the V3 or AD2K.  It's just my ideal setup.  Sound quality is more important than convience to me. 

Can't wait to try it tonight at the Iron Horse.  Hopefully, I can get a patch.  I'll keep you updated.


Jesse

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40689
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2008, 10:38:46 PM »
Yeah I think I'm pretty golden as is.  The Microtracks are ideal for taking digitial inputs, and they are super small and lightweight.  With the V3 and AD2K the last thing I need is a bigger recorder in my bag!  And there is NO way I'm ditching the V3 or AD2K.  It's just my ideal setup.  Sound quality is more important than convience to me. 

Can't wait to try it tonight at the Iron Horse.  Hopefully, I can get a patch.  I'll keep you updated.


Jesse

Well ???
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4 (MP) & MK 41V (MP) Capsules ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's X2 ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's x2 ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's x2 ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Andromeda & Dorado IEM's ->
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax 3.5mm | FiiO LC 2.5c 2.5mm ->
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 5570-5521 SLV Laptop
(Pentium i5/8gb RAM/256gb SSD)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2982
  • Gender: Male
  • Reinvented, redefined, rearranged but not refined
    • My LMA collection
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2008, 02:17:13 AM »
Ha! :D

Everything went perfect.  MK4(DIN)>KC5>CMC6>V3>MT1 +  SBD>AD2K>MT2 (synched from V3s AES output).  It should be a killer tape, because I just listened to the two tracks off the soundboard and it sounds great as is, very well balanced.  It took some finagling to get the board patch, because apparently it's against the Iron Horse's policy, but the FOH was very cool and hooked it up just in time to get the whole thing 4 channels.  Should be cool.  More to come after some sleep.

                                 

Offline T.J.

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2475
  • Gender: Male
  • Always look on the Bright Side of Life
    • My shows taped on LMA
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2008, 08:42:36 AM »
Ha! :D

Everything went perfect.  MK4(DIN)>KC5>CMC6>V3>MT1 +  SBD>AD2K>MT2 (synched from V3s AES output).  It should be a killer tape, because I just listened to the two tracks off the soundboard and it sounds great as is, very well balanced.  It took some finagling to get the board patch, because apparently it's against the Iron Horse's policy, but the FOH was very cool and hooked it up just in time to get the whole thing 4 channels.  Should be cool.  More to come after some sleep.

                                 

awesome dude! great idea...I'm glad it worked out

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2982
  • Gender: Male
  • Reinvented, redefined, rearranged but not refined
    • My LMA collection

Offline Kyle

  • Made it back alive!
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2174
  • Gender: Male
  • Still loves his mic pre's
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #21 on: October 08, 2008, 04:49:04 PM »
This is really a great idea - gonna have to give it a try with the AD2K+ and my Mini-Me

Yeah I think I'm pretty golden as is.  The Microtracks are ideal for taking digitial inputs, and they are super small and lightweight.  With the V3 and AD2K the last thing I need is a bigger recorder in my bag!  And there is NO way I'm ditching the V3 or AD2K.  It's just my ideal setup.  Sound quality is more important than convience to me. 

Can't wait to try it tonight at the Iron Horse.  Hopefully, I can get a patch.  I'll keep you updated.


Jesse

With you all the way. I could never give up my AD2K+. You should hear it with the PSP-2 in front >:D
Schoeps CMC6/MK4  //  Nakamichi CM-300/CP-1/CP-2
E.A.A. PSP-2   // Grace Design Lunatec V2
Sonic AD2K+ 
Tascam HD-P2 (Oade BCM)  //  Sony TC-D5 PROII
 
Duncan - 12/84 > 8/8/05 - Miss you everyday

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2982
  • Gender: Male
  • Reinvented, redefined, rearranged but not refined
    • My LMA collection
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #22 on: October 08, 2008, 08:35:04 PM »
I bet!!

Quote
I could never give up my AD2K+. You should hear it with the PSP-2 in front

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7662
Re: linking a v3 and an AD2K+
« Reply #23 on: March 21, 2011, 01:05:48 PM »
But you did give up the ad2k+. I thank you for that everytime I record ;)
-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.183 seconds with 36 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF