Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Microphone choices  (Read 3417 times)

Offline jppearson

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Microphone choices
« on: November 02, 2008, 07:18:20 PM »
Hello,

I'm just getting into high-quality audio recordings. 

I used to use a cassette tape recorder, then a Olympus WS330 digital recorder. 

I bought a Zoom H2 and love it.  I'm having difficulty choosing mics to go with it externally.  I have purchased a few already, but am looking to upgrade: 

I have a Giant Squid mono cardioid mic and a Giant Squid stereo set of cardioids.  I can't seem to get the volume just right on them -- I'm not too big on their pick-up range with my Zoom. I'm using them in my line-in port like the company suggests, and they are still too quiet. 

I have a Sound Professionals mono lav mic, and a set of binaural (SP-TFB-2) mics.  I love binaural audio but am not really sure the SP mics are the best for me. 

I have heard other audio, like the "Vertual Haircut" (
www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUDTlvagjJA
), and want to replicate that quality.  How was such great quality achieved? 
I'm considering picking up a set of Church Audio binaurals.  Is this a wise choice?  What will give me the best Binaural sound? 

I've come across a tutorial on how to build your own binaural dummy head (

digdagga.com/dummy/index.html
).  It reccomends the use of Core-Sound binaurals.  This man who wrote the tutorial has a blog (Bird Vs. Alligator), and I think this head with the Core Sound mics is the one he uses.  Is this a good set of mics to use for this design?  Should I even bother with a dummy head? 

I want to make binaural recordings without using my own head, so I can interact with my audience (I want to produce audio drama.)  I think a Dummy Head would work great for what I want. 
But I also want a great set of binaurals to take field recording with me.  Should I go with Church or pick up an extra set of Cores?