Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2  (Read 80339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5975
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #165 on: June 02, 2013, 12:06:47 PM »
Yeah, that's handy ::)

Actually, it is for me. I know my mics, my recorder and the situations I record in. I have been taping with fixed gain settings on the tinybox for a while now and it works just fine. But thanks for the input.

*3 snaps in a Z-formation*
akg ck61/62/63/77(c577)|naiant.pfa, dpa smk-sc4061 
lunatec v2, mma-a d:vice, mma-6000
edirol-r44(ocm), sony pcm-m10,-d100

PISO akg nbob cables

Marshall7

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #166 on: June 02, 2013, 01:54:35 PM »
Well, that's just wonderful for YOU.  But for everyone in every case...not so much. 

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2153
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #167 on: June 02, 2013, 04:37:33 PM »
My comment wasn't exactly making a contribution to this thread so I will take the mulligan. I own several fixed gain preamps and prefer them for how I record.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2013, 06:12:10 PM by larrysellers »

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #168 on: June 02, 2013, 05:20:57 PM »
I wonder what transformers it uses.
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5975
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #169 on: June 02, 2013, 06:22:18 PM »
The documentation provided states "Jensen (Reichenbach)" which seems ambiguous. Did one acquire the other at one point?
akg ck61/62/63/77(c577)|naiant.pfa, dpa smk-sc4061 
lunatec v2, mma-a d:vice, mma-6000
edirol-r44(ocm), sony pcm-m10,-d100

PISO akg nbob cables

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #170 on: June 02, 2013, 06:45:38 PM »
The documentation provided states "Jensen (Reichenbach)" which seems ambiguous. Did one acquire the other at one point?

I believe that Reichenbach was at one point an OEM manufacturer for Jensen.

Yeah, that's handy ::)

Actually, it is for me. I know my mics, my recorder and the situations I record in. I have been taping with fixed gain settings on the tinybox for a while now and it works just fine. But thanks for the input.

*3 snaps in a Z-formation*
Well, that's just wonderful for YOU.  But for everyone in every case...not so much. 

Not sure why this devolved into a snarkfest, but I much prefer fixed gain (or rather, not easily adjustable) if I have a good understanding of the gear and recording conditions I'll be in. Every knob, switch, or additional feature increases the likelihood of accidents or equipment failure, especially when working in the field. External gain knobs obviously have a purpose, but the lack of them on this unit is anything but poor design.


As long as the a>d converter has adjustable gain, what's the problem?

The purpose of an A/D isn't to provide gain. Althought there are all-in-one units that combine the functions of a preamp and a/d converter, a stand-alone A/D converter has an input sensitivity setting which is not meant to be used as on-the-fly gain. Its purpose is to calibrate the input sensitivity of the A/D so that it will visually clip 3-6 dB before the mic preamp.

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #171 on: June 02, 2013, 09:18:32 PM »
Tiny pots like those in the picture often aren't designed for lots of use or strain.  They might be prone to wearing out.

I'm not sure when Jerry started using stepped grayhill pots, but they are very robust and well-positioned.  I have some shows where gain changes must occur due to non-amplified encores, so the ability to change gain is an essential feature for me. Ideally that happens via a knob that can be rotated a certain amount in complete darkness, by feel alone.

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

Offline scb

  • Eli Manning should die of gonorrhea and rot in hell. Would you like a cookie, son?
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8612
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #172 on: June 03, 2013, 09:53:57 AM »
*3 snaps in a Z-formation*

Thank you for the In Living Color laugh

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (75)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12728
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #173 on: June 03, 2013, 10:35:06 AM »
Welcome to Team Aerco, Horus.   ;D

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5975
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #174 on: June 03, 2013, 12:18:19 PM »
Thanks for all the input guys.

As 11 mentioned, my only real concern is the durability of the switches over time. Rarely do I need anything other than 20-30db of gain for the situations I record in so I can't imagine they're going to get worked too hard. And if something ever happens I'll just contact Jerry and get the thing fixed...or see if he can mod it to have external knobs. Basically, I think of the thing as a tiny "brick" (m148) and can always adjust the input level of the m10 if needed. Unfortunately, I don't get to record in acoustic settings these days - jazz and whatnot - so massive dynamic changes are rare for me.
akg ck61/62/63/77(c577)|naiant.pfa, dpa smk-sc4061 
lunatec v2, mma-a d:vice, mma-6000
edirol-r44(ocm), sony pcm-m10,-d100

PISO akg nbob cables

Offline carlbeck

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2811
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #175 on: February 21, 2014, 04:55:26 PM »
Figured I should say hi since I just unboxed my new to me Aerco!
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 05:02:20 PM by carlbeck »
I know you like, tape for people's approval and stuff, and wave your tapes around like they're your dick...  but even you can't actually think section tapes from philips sound good.  



Mics: Telefunken Elam 260, 61, 62, MBHO KA200, KA500 > Niant PFA's, AKG C34L-MS
Preamps: Grace Lunatec V2, Shure FP24
Decks: Tascam DR-2d, Zoom F8

Old rig: Recording: AKG C34 & AKG CK1X or CK2X > MK46 > 460 > Aeta Mix2000 > Sound Devices 702

Playback: Thorens TD125, Denon DVD-2900> Bel Canto DAC-1 > Audible Illusions 3B > Rogue Atlas >ZU Wax Shotgun> Hyperion 938
ALL TUBES BABY!!!

Offline axomxa

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
  • Gender: Male
  • If it ain't live, it ain't Dead
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #176 on: February 21, 2014, 05:56:09 PM »
Nice Carl.  I guess you are now "all the way back"  ;D
Mics: MBHO 603 (KA200N, matched pair) / AKG C460B (ck63, a60/ck1, NBob/PFA actives) / Senn MS14P (MKE 4012 supercards & 4010 cards) / AKG SE300B (ck91 & ck92)
Mic Cables: 15' 3 channel GAKable / 15' custom Star Quad / 12' Mogami
Pres/ADC:  Grace V3 / Denecke PS2 > Denecke AD20
Recorders: Tascam DR-680 (Busman mod) / Tascam D70 / Sony PCM-D50

Photography rig:
Canon 60D, EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

LMA tapes:   https://archive.org/search.php?query=crupi%20AND%20collection%3Aetree&sort=-publicdate
Etree tapes:  http://bt.etree.org/?searchsss=axomxa&cat=0

Offline carlbeck

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2811
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #177 on: February 21, 2014, 06:35:35 PM »
Nice Carl.  I guess you are now "all the way back"  ;D
Hmmmm, maybe. I should wait until my 63's arrive & the C34 is fixed to be sure  >:D
I know you like, tape for people's approval and stuff, and wave your tapes around like they're your dick...  but even you can't actually think section tapes from philips sound good.  



Mics: Telefunken Elam 260, 61, 62, MBHO KA200, KA500 > Niant PFA's, AKG C34L-MS
Preamps: Grace Lunatec V2, Shure FP24
Decks: Tascam DR-2d, Zoom F8

Old rig: Recording: AKG C34 & AKG CK1X or CK2X > MK46 > 460 > Aeta Mix2000 > Sound Devices 702

Playback: Thorens TD125, Denon DVD-2900> Bel Canto DAC-1 > Audible Illusions 3B > Rogue Atlas >ZU Wax Shotgun> Hyperion 938
ALL TUBES BABY!!!

Offline deadheadcorey

  • HOME TEAM Tapir
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4225
  • Gender: Male
  • think for yourself, question authority
    • My Recordings on the LMA
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #178 on: April 01, 2014, 05:25:20 PM »
can I run mics > mp-2 > r-09?
mics: Audix M1245a-HC; AKG SE300B/CK91; Naiant X-O (hanging in the sweet spot @ Quixote's True Blue)
pres: Oade T+ UA-5; digimod UA-5
recs: R-09x3

iso: 2 ck93 caps
iso: pair of AT4041 mics

Official Archivist for Grant Farm

http://www.facebook.com/kindrecordingscolorado

Jerry Joseph rap during 'Conscious Contact'
"Life's pretty good. life's pretty good. it isn't all good.
I hate it when people tell me its all good. it's not all good.
it's not suppose to be all good. it's suppose to be bad sometimes so you can enjoy the good parts."

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2153
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #179 on: April 01, 2014, 05:29:15 PM »
Yes, you would just need an rca to 3.5mm cable.

can I run mics > mp-2 > r-09?

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.153 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF