Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.  (Read 3937 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
My church omnis > Mod SBM-1 are working on a voice/check test. It it really providing enough power to the mics? Anyone know what voltage plug in power provides?

Also it's a oade 24 bit mod. Is Running mic in plug in power bypassing the mod? Does the mod only work line in?


I'm building a small rig to loan to a friend with my extra stuff. Church omnis> Mod SBM-1> JB3 / iriver

I also have a AT822 I could give him instead of the omnis. I've only used the 822 in a film project. So I don't know what it sounds like recording music. let me know your thoughts if you have any.

Thanks
Jeff
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline guysonic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1366
  • WISDOM FOR ALL TIMES
    • Sonic Studios DSM Stereo-Surround Microphone Systems
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 06:06:41 AM »
Generally Sony's mic input design is quite good and mostly supplies ~2.5 volt mic power.

For what it's worth, I never liked what SBM did to sounds suggesting not using this if natural sound is important to you. 

Some mod'd SBM-1 may have allowed 24 bit output not using SBM process. 

Maybe better to upgrade to 24 bit recording depth featured on many newer flash recorders like Edirol R-09HR or Sony's D50.

More TS thread links to more recent PCM-D50 deck model (which has SBM optional mode!) technical posts/deck review info is at top of my tips page at www.sonicstudios.com
"mics? I no got no mics!  Besides, I no have to show you no stink'n mics!" stxxlth taper's disclaimer

DSM HRTF STEREO-SURROUND RECORDING SYSTEMS WEBSITE: http://www.sonicstudios.com

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 06:46:59 AM »
Yea, I'm trying to piece someone a FREE rig together with what I have. Do I need a battery box?

Hopefully Chris will pop in here.

TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9237
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 02:57:47 PM »
For what I know, the SBM-1 was a 20bit system and Doug's mods never changed that aspect of it.  More effort towards cleaning the signal path and making provisions for higher line in levels I think.  Not many people regularly running it anymore as the advent of the all-in-one boxes have become more popular... but free is always good and for my ears, I was always happy with what I heard with the 'Bit-Masher" in the chain.
Only seeing two shows a month now... None at The Fine Line.
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/AT4051a/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2009, 03:09:59 PM »
I've always like the SBM-1. Ran it 480>m-148>sbm-1 you a long time, But I always ran it line in. I'm pretty sure running the SBM-1 mic in through the mini plug bypasses the mod. But wanted to ask if anyone was sure.
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9237
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2009, 06:18:21 PM »
Oh, I see.  Yeah, some of the mods even disabled the mic-in.  The one I have it's still alive but very noisy.  Get a battery box and go line-in for loud shows and he should be good.
Only seeing two shows a month now... None at The Fine Line.
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/AT4051a/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline fmaderjr

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2009, 11:48:41 AM »
2.5 volts will not power Church omni's properly (unless special ordered with a different resistor to run on plug in power). Most of Chris' mics need a minimum of 5 volts to run properly.
AT853's (all caps)/CM-300 Franken Naks (CP-1,2,3)/JBMod Nak 700's (CP-701,702) > Tascam DR-680
Or Sonic Studios DSM-6 > M10

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2009, 07:18:07 PM »
Well mine powered the church mics just fine.

So I called Doug with my serial #  He said the unit had both mods done. Line & mic in.

 ;D

TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2009, 07:23:00 PM »
Wish it had the coax mod on it. If anyone is willing to do one please PM me.

For stealth use I'm afraid to use the oade 7 pin. Guess I could gaffer tape it down.

TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline fmaderjr

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2009, 08:23:12 PM »
Well mine powered the church mics just fine.

Chris says ST-11's require 4-12 volts
http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,84929.msg1131405.html#msg1131405

I guess either the SBM-1 provides at least 4 volts or you didn't record anything sufficiently loud to run into a problem. The mics will operate at a lower voltage than Chris recommends, just not optimally.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2009, 08:27:15 PM by fmaderjr »
AT853's (all caps)/CM-300 Franken Naks (CP-1,2,3)/JBMod Nak 700's (CP-701,702) > Tascam DR-680
Or Sonic Studios DSM-6 > M10

Offline yug du nord

  • ..Face plant into rock..
  • Trade Count: (55)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5199
  • made with natural flavor
Re: Plug in power Sony SBM-1. What voltage? Mod question. Mic advice.
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2009, 07:55:50 PM »
I've recorded some acoustic and mellow electric stuff with good success running CA mics > stock plug-in SBM-1....  if the spl's get to high though, the mics will probably start to overload.  I also have an Oade Line-Stage mod SBM-1, but the 1/8" mic input is disabled.
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.181 seconds with 52 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF