Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: power supply for V-2???  (Read 11715 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (67)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
power supply for V-2???
« on: September 04, 2009, 11:19:13 PM »
Ok, so i just picked up a V-2 and need battery supply.  what are my best options?
bp
Mics: Schoeps mk4v| mk41v | mk22 | mk8 & mk5 (m/s)
         Schoeps m222> nt222dc (x2)
         Schoeps cmc 1k (x2)
         Schoeps vst62iu (x2)
         Schoeps KCY 250/5 IG (x2) Schoeps KC 5g (x2)
         DPA 4015c
Pre’s: Sonosax SX-M2D2
         Aeta PSP-3
         E.A.A. PSP-2
Recorder: Sonosax sx-r4+, SD702, Sony m10

Offline coloartist

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2067
  • MGoldey -"you can shove those mics up your ass
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2009, 11:28:02 AM »
I use a Kindkables.com dual power cable with two Walmart lithiums. This gives me a huge amount of hours, and if one battery dies on me, I stil have a backup.
mk4>Kwon/din a/din>kc5>cmc6>kindkables XLR>788T
mk22>Kwon/NOS>kc5>cmc6>kindkablesXLR>788t                                                     
Canon XH-A1 Sony AX100                       
Samsung Backlit LED 55">Pioneer Elite SC-27>Snell Acoustics E.5  Series

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (67)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2009, 04:02:30 PM »
are u talking about the 9v lion DVD batteries?  Will this one work with the v-2..UNIVERSAL DVD Battery, 9V 23Wh LI-ION by Lenmar?
thx
Mics: Schoeps mk4v| mk41v | mk22 | mk8 & mk5 (m/s)
         Schoeps m222> nt222dc (x2)
         Schoeps cmc 1k (x2)
         Schoeps vst62iu (x2)
         Schoeps KCY 250/5 IG (x2) Schoeps KC 5g (x2)
         DPA 4015c
Pre’s: Sonosax SX-M2D2
         Aeta PSP-3
         E.A.A. PSP-2
Recorder: Sonosax sx-r4+, SD702, Sony m10

Offline OFOTD

  • Amorican
  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6307
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2009, 05:20:41 PM »
are u talking about the 9v lion DVD batteries?  Will this one work with the v-2..UNIVERSAL DVD Battery, 9V 23Wh LI-ION by Lenmar?
thx

The one and the same....

http://cgi.ebay.com/Initial-Universal-Portable-DVD-battery-Brand-New-Inpack_W0QQitemZ250451484801QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3a50126081&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (67)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 05:39:00 PM »
the lenmar is the same as the one in the link you just posted? also, i have read about an internal switch for 6v - 12v.  what do i do here?
Mics: Schoeps mk4v| mk41v | mk22 | mk8 & mk5 (m/s)
         Schoeps m222> nt222dc (x2)
         Schoeps cmc 1k (x2)
         Schoeps vst62iu (x2)
         Schoeps KCY 250/5 IG (x2) Schoeps KC 5g (x2)
         DPA 4015c
Pre’s: Sonosax SX-M2D2
         Aeta PSP-3
         E.A.A. PSP-2
Recorder: Sonosax sx-r4+, SD702, Sony m10

Offline NOLAfishwater

  • is not taping much these days
  • Trade Count: (72)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6344
  • Gender: Male
  • I LIKE FISHIN
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2009, 07:50:00 PM »
the lenmar is the same as the one in the link you just posted? also, i have read about an internal switch for 6v - 12v.  what do i do here?


if you buy a 9V battery, you leave it on 6V and the extra voltage is released as heat.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (67)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2009, 08:43:48 PM »
ok, very cool, now is the machine set at 6 or 12 when i get, its used, so how do i check? if the 9v powers it, its set 6 if it doesn't it's 12v?
Mics: Schoeps mk4v| mk41v | mk22 | mk8 & mk5 (m/s)
         Schoeps m222> nt222dc (x2)
         Schoeps cmc 1k (x2)
         Schoeps vst62iu (x2)
         Schoeps KCY 250/5 IG (x2) Schoeps KC 5g (x2)
         DPA 4015c
Pre’s: Sonosax SX-M2D2
         Aeta PSP-3
         E.A.A. PSP-2
Recorder: Sonosax sx-r4+, SD702, Sony m10

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2009, 08:48:40 PM »
ok, very cool, now is the machine set at 6 or 12 when i get, its used, so how do i check? if the 9v powers it, its set 6 if it doesn't it's 12v?

Correct:  if the V2 is set to 12v, the 9v battery will not power it (see the manual and/or Grace website for how to change it from 12v to 6v).  If the V2 is set to 6v, the 9v will power it fine -- but the V2's low battery indicator and auto-shutoff features won't work any longer, unless you recalibrate them.  I believe Grace has the calibration instructions on their website.  At least for the V3, anyway, not positive about the V2. When I ran V3, I never bothered recalibrating because the 9v battery had its own battery meter.

Brain cramp.  See Ed's correction here:  http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,126547.msg1680268.html#msg1680268

Edit to add:  Sorry for bouncing the thread around a couple times.  I flubbed the first move.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2009, 11:01:54 PM by Brian Skalinder »
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline coloartist

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2067
  • MGoldey -"you can shove those mics up your ass
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2009, 09:28:25 PM »


This is my V3, but the cable and battery are the same with a different connector on the V2.
mk4>Kwon/din a/din>kc5>cmc6>kindkables XLR>788T
mk22>Kwon/NOS>kc5>cmc6>kindkablesXLR>788t                                                     
Canon XH-A1 Sony AX100                       
Samsung Backlit LED 55">Pioneer Elite SC-27>Snell Acoustics E.5  Series

Offline thekittycatt

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2009, 12:37:21 AM »
Bennett,

Is the power cable coming from the V3 connected to both batteries?

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (67)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2009, 11:37:55 AM »
i was going to ask the same thing
Mics: Schoeps mk4v| mk41v | mk22 | mk8 & mk5 (m/s)
         Schoeps m222> nt222dc (x2)
         Schoeps cmc 1k (x2)
         Schoeps vst62iu (x2)
         Schoeps KCY 250/5 IG (x2) Schoeps KC 5g (x2)
         DPA 4015c
Pre’s: Sonosax SX-M2D2
         Aeta PSP-3
         E.A.A. PSP-2
Recorder: Sonosax sx-r4+, SD702, Sony m10

Offline NOLAfishwater

  • is not taping much these days
  • Trade Count: (72)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6344
  • Gender: Male
  • I LIKE FISHIN
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2009, 11:44:25 AM »
running two 9V batteries allows you to get something like 8.5 hours of run time.

Offline coloartist

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2067
  • MGoldey -"you can shove those mics up your ass
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2009, 01:14:13 PM »
I use a Kindkables.com dual power cable with two Walmart lithiums. This gives me a huge amount of hours, and if one battery dies on me, I stil have a backup.
mk4>Kwon/din a/din>kc5>cmc6>kindkables XLR>788T
mk22>Kwon/NOS>kc5>cmc6>kindkablesXLR>788t                                                     
Canon XH-A1 Sony AX100                       
Samsung Backlit LED 55">Pioneer Elite SC-27>Snell Acoustics E.5  Series

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (67)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2009, 07:21:34 PM »
how long if you use one battery at a time?
bp
Mics: Schoeps mk4v| mk41v | mk22 | mk8 & mk5 (m/s)
         Schoeps m222> nt222dc (x2)
         Schoeps cmc 1k (x2)
         Schoeps vst62iu (x2)
         Schoeps KCY 250/5 IG (x2) Schoeps KC 5g (x2)
         DPA 4015c
Pre’s: Sonosax SX-M2D2
         Aeta PSP-3
         E.A.A. PSP-2
Recorder: Sonosax sx-r4+, SD702, Sony m10

Offline Jhurlbs81

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3076
  • Gender: Male
    • My LMA collection
Re: power supply for V-2???
« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2009, 08:31:34 AM »
When I ran my v3 as a pre-amp only I'd get at least 4.5 hours. 
FREE JERRYFREAK!

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.093 seconds with 44 queries.
© 2002-2024 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF