Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 8g CF card for Micro Track II  (Read 8357 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
8g CF card for Micro Track II
« on: September 26, 2009, 10:18:01 PM »
can i use an 8g card in my Micro Track II? I just ordered one and i want to order a CF card for it. I was wondering if I could use an 8g card.  I have a pmd671 and it will only work with 4g cards.
thx
bp
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         DPA 4022
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Sonosax sx-m2, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3 (x2),
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

Offline jaz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 10:42:45 PM »
Thats a big 10-4 not certain of speed for the 8 gig card but I ran one in my MTII for a while worked fine.
the rig...... playback PC-> Lynx l22 -> ART SLA-1 -> Cerwin Vegas (Vintage)
Mics, AKG c1000s , ART m-1's, CA-14 Omni
PREAMP, Shure FP-24, ST-9100
Mixer, for multi mic live shows...Edirol m10-dx
on the go tunes flacs... Cowan 60gig Iaudio x5

nathan_g

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2009, 01:00:12 PM »
I use a Sandisk Ultra II 8gb in mine with no problems at all.

Offline coloartist

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2048
  • MGoldey -"you can shove those mics up your ass
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2009, 01:10:05 PM »
I have used my 12gb card in my MT. I have tried my 32gb card and in seemed to work, but I have heard of somebody having an issue with a 32gb card, but I think he was reformatting and trying again.
mk4>Kwon/din a/din>kc5>cmc6>kindkables XLR>788T
mk22>Kwon/NOS>kc5>cmc6>kindkablesXLR>788t
ccm41> (lemo)>788t                                                         
Canon XH-A1 Sony AX100                       
Samsung Backlit LED 55">Pioneer Elite SC-27>Snell Acoustics E.5  Series

Offline NOLAfishwater

  • is not taping much these days
  • Trade Count: (72)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6349
  • Gender: Male
  • I LIKE FISHIN
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2009, 03:30:20 PM »
16 GB work too. check the MTII threads for compatibility

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2009, 04:41:25 PM »
ok, thanks for the info...i got the MK-II in the mail yesterday and put a 4g card in.  reformatted it and it said that there was 1:57 remaining this at 24/48.  I know i have read about this 2 hr thing on other threads, but I am assuming there is a way around this...
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         DPA 4022
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Sonosax sx-m2, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3 (x2),
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

nathan_g

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2009, 04:58:33 PM »
At 24/48 you should get about 1 hr. per GB.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 05:12:20 PM by nathan_g »

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2009, 05:00:25 PM »
I know thats why i was confused at the machine telling me i only had 2 hrs available
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         DPA 4022
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Sonosax sx-m2, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3 (x2),
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

nathan_g

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2009, 05:12:32 PM »
Is your MT2 set for "Time until 2GB" or "Time On Media"? If it's "til 2GB" then it's reading correctly.

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2009, 09:36:12 PM »
that was it... u the man nathan_g
bp
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         DPA 4022
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Sonosax sx-m2, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3 (x2),
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

nathan_g

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2009, 10:36:34 PM »
Glad you got it sorted out.

edit:

I don't know what firmware they're shipping with now but the latest is 1.0.7. It would be a good idea to upgrade to it if needed and disable DMA. I'd go ahead and do it now before you find out later that you should have...

This isn't related to your original post but it's a good idea nonetheless.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 10:41:18 PM by nathan_g »

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2009, 11:24:13 PM »
thanks for the heads up... I have connected it to my mac, it says no update found....does this thing work with mac? I may go try it with my PC now
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         DPA 4022
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Sonosax sx-m2, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3 (x2),
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

nathan_g

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2009, 11:33:42 PM »
While I'm not Mac savvy in the least (the last time I operated one it was a Mac SE, about 1987...) there are drivers, updates, etc. available on the M-Audio support site for Macs.

Check it out here:

http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=support&tab=driver

Offline Big Perm

  • Trade Count: (65)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
  • Gender: Male
  • Rage, Rest, work a lot, Repeat
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2009, 11:55:21 PM »
I went to the PC, the driver was installed no problem, but when I download the firmware update, i get same message...I saved it to the CF card like the instructions told me to.....am I supposed to take the CF card out before i try to update? that doesnt make since to me
Mics: Schoeps mk41v>kcy>vst62iu
         Schoeps mk5> KC5> CMC6Ug
         DPA 4022
         Neumann TLM 107
Pre’s: Sonosax sx-m2, ACM Lunatec V3, Aeta PSP-3 (x2),
         E.A.A. PSP-2, Neve Portico 512
Recorder: Sound Devices MixPre-10t, Sound Devices 702, Sony m10

nathan_g

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: 8g CF card for Micro Track II
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2009, 12:48:02 AM »
....am I supposed to take the CF card out before i try to update? that doesnt make since to me

I hope this doesn't further muddy the waters...

I'm guessing the instruction to "unmount" the CF card is what's causing the confusion here. Assuming that's the case, it means you should virtually unmount the card not actually remove it.

Before doing anything else format your CF card from the MT2's 'System' menu. After formatting, power down the MT2 then plug it into your PC's USB port. The unit will go into 'host' mode. Next, extract all files except the 'readme'  from the MicroTrack II v1.0.7 Firmware.zip archive to the root of your CF card. Then you unmount the MT2/CF card.

To properly unmount, see below...

Step 1 - Double click the icon in step 1

Step 2 - Click "Stop"

Step 3 - Highlight the Microtrack and click 'OK'

Step 4 - At this point, you're unmounted but leave the MT2 plugged into the USB port on your PC. It should reboot (the MT2).

At this point you're ready to run the update.

from M-Audio:

4) Please make sure that the MicroTrack II is connected to either a computer's USB port or its AC power supply before proceeding. Next, navigate to the Main Menu > System > Firmware Update menu item and press the NAV wheel.

5) Follow the instructions displayed on the MicroTrack II screen in order to begin firmware update.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 03:45:29 AM by nathan_g »

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.22 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF