Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Choosing a portable recorder  (Read 5296 times)

Offline gatorglenn

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Choosing a portable recorder
« on: February 02, 2010, 05:42:37 PM »
Hi,

First a little background info. I  record middle and high school concert bands and once in a while a chorus or orchestra too. I have been doing this as a hobby for many years. I used to record with DAT and/or minidisc and a AT822 stereo mic. I got acceptable recordings from those. Then a couple of years ago I started using a Roland CD2 to record with a pair of Rode NT5 microphones. Lately I decided to use my laptop with a Mobile Pre USB interface. This also works pretty good but I am not totally happy with the Mobile Pre USB preamps and I long for the simple days of not carrying a laptop to record but something smaller. I use a windows laptop and edit with Sony Sound Forge.

So I have been looking at portable digital recorders. I have got my choices down to three units. Fostex FR2LE, Marantz PMD-661, and the Sony PCM-M10. I am leaning towards the Marantz. The Sony seems nice but I would need an additional mic preamp for my Rode mics and that would add a couple of hundred dollars. I have not read much about the Fostex unit but I have read a lot about the Marantz one. Unfortunately it is next to impossible to actually see and handle any of these in stores locally so I will most likely be buying via the internet.

I'm asking for advice from people who have used these three recorders to help me choose one. I did not mention that I also have a Zoom H2 for fun and have used it for recording outside but I don't think it has good enough quality to do what I want for inside concerts.

Thanks,
Glenn

Offline su6oxone

• Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Choosing a portable recorder
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2010, 06:13:57 PM »