Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2  (Read 14483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline braweave

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Gender: Male
powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« on: March 06, 2010, 10:56:45 PM »
Thinking of getting back into the game at some point (prob within the next year)

and I will be going with either the MP2 or Mix Pre.

my question is.. with Eco Charge now not around. What do you use to charge these??
Thanks
Neumann KM140 > Sound Devices MP-2 > Edirol R-09HR

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18886
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2010, 11:23:57 PM »
Plenty of options:  lithium/nimh/alkaline AAs, li-on or nimh battery pack, self-made SLA (but why, when there are other, lighter, easier options).  Search the Remote Power thread for Mixpre or MP2 and I think you'll find some options.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Online yug du nord

  • ..Face plant into rock..
  • Trade Count: (55)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5206
  • made with natural flavor
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2010, 08:32:25 AM »
I'm using internal rechargeable 2500mAh NiMH AA's right now with my MixPre.....  gonna build a power cord so I use an external 9v dvd lithium battery.
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

Offline jlykos

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't sweat the technique
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2010, 10:27:05 AM »
I used rechargeable batteries and they worked very well.  The MP-2 is a power hog so be sure to have multiple sets of rechargeables around.  If you buy an older model, you may have to send it back to Sound Devices so they can fix the battery compartment so it can accept rechargeables.  They did this for free when I owned one; I am not sure what the deal is now.

Great little unit; I really enjoyed it a lot when I ran one.  I paired it with a modSBM-1 and loved the sound.
dpa 4061 > Church Audio 9200 > Sony PCM-D50 (Moon Audio Silver Dragon v3 interconnect)

"I have no views," Mickey Melchiondo, known as Dean Ween, said in a philosophical moment. "I am way too stupid. I have no strong feelings about anything. I'm really into television and the computer. I believe everything I see on TV and read on the Internet."

Offline su6oxone

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2010, 10:59:53 AM »
If you buy an older model, you may have to send it back to Sound Devices so they can fix the battery compartment so it can accept rechargeables.  They did this for free when I owned one; I am not sure what the deal is now.

Not free anymore.  Standard MP-2/MixPre servicing charge + shipping, came to about $100 when I sent mine in 2008.  But they do give the unit a thorough testing and touch up paint as well.

Offline moooose

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2010, 03:07:10 PM »
I use Sony's NiMH 2500 or 2700 mA rechargeables. The Sony charger needs less than 15 minutes to bring them to full power. Imho it is a pleasant solution (BTW I love the mix pre).


Offline jeromejello

  • Team Florida - always brings the heat
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3516
  • Gender: Male
  • surly tapir
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2010, 04:30:19 PM »
i use an external source (9v dvd battery) with a cable that ed from kindkables made.  i only use internals if i need to be super stealth and know that it won't be a long gig... i have had several recordings suffer from voltage drop when using internals.
open: mbho 603a (ka200n/ka500hn) > SD 722
stealth: AT853a (o/sc/c/h) > SD MP-2 > ihp120
misc: Earthworks SR77 | Shure VP88 | PCM-M10

bt & dime

Offline ducati

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • I'm a llama!
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2010, 10:30:50 AM »
jeromejello: how long were you taping when SQ went down?  What were the sonic signs of voltage drop?

I'm considering a mixpre myself.  Would be using it into my 702.

Offline rastasean

  • in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3686
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2010, 11:37:47 AM »
i use an external source (9v dvd battery) with a cable that ed from kindkables made.  i only use internals if i need to be super stealth and know that it won't be a long gig... i have had several recordings suffer from voltage drop when using internals.

I contacted that homeboy to make me a cable but he never got back to me. Can I ask how much you paid for that cable? That seems like the best solution to me for the mixpre since I have a couple of those dvd batteries.
Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth.

Offline jeromejello

  • Team Florida - always brings the heat
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3516
  • Gender: Male
  • surly tapir
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2010, 05:14:45 PM »
jeromejello: how long were you taping when SQ went down?  What were the sonic signs of voltage drop?

I'm considering a mixpre myself.  Would be using it into my 702.

i was using rechargables/alkaline batteries and probably had the mp-2 on for a around 3 hours (driving at853as for a little over 2 of them).  I would guess that lithium would last longer.

the sonic signs were a marked decrease in the amplitude of the wave (volume) so if i was recording in the -3dB range, i would drop to below -12dB and it would still look like i was pushing the envelope but the range was getting smaller... not sure if that makes sense... i will see if i can find one of my old screen shots...

I contacted that homeboy to make me a cable but he never got back to me. Can I ask how much you paid for that cable? That seems like the best solution to me for the mixpre since I have a couple of those dvd batteries.

i think it was around $25... if i remember correctly it ended up being more than was quoted but I think ed honored the price.  getting in touch with ed, ime, has always proven to be a little challenging... i think its best to contact him through his website for quickest response.  there might be other cable makers that would be willing to make this for you if time if of the essence.  darktrain makes some awesome cables and has quick turnaround.  although getting the plug (different for each mp-2 and mixpre) would be the longest part of the process (and probably the most expensive part... the hirose connectors arent cheap or easy to work with from what i understand).
open: mbho 603a (ka200n/ka500hn) > SD 722
stealth: AT853a (o/sc/c/h) > SD MP-2 > ihp120
misc: Earthworks SR77 | Shure VP88 | PCM-M10

bt & dime

Offline landshark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 313
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2010, 04:32:57 PM »
jeromejello: how long were you taping when SQ went down?  What were the sonic signs of voltage drop?

I'm considering a mixpre myself.  Would be using it into my 702.

Excuse me while I show my ignorance, but aren't the pre's in the 702 pretty close to the MixPre?  Or are the Lundahls in the MixPre unique to that model?
AKG 461's / 463's OR Senn MKH 8040's > MR1000 (Busman mod) or Shure FP24 (aka MixPre) > MR1 (open)
Coresounds Binaurals > CChurch 9100 > MR1 OR AKG CK1x/2x/3x > Deneke P20 > MR1 (low profile)

Offline su6oxone

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2010, 05:03:58 PM »
Excuse me while I show my ignorance, but aren't the pre's in the 702 pretty close to the MixPre?  Or are the Lundahls in the MixPre unique to that model?

The 7-series have transformer-less pres as opposed to the MixPre/MP-2.  I have no idea what that means but thought I would regurgitate that here.  :P

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2010, 10:35:59 PM »
I run an MP-2 and it has a way hotter out put than the 7xx series does.  Are they the same pre's?  I dunno.

Offline ducati

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • I'm a llama!
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2010, 08:59:06 AM »
Excuse me while I show my ignorance, but aren't the pre's in the 702 pretty close to the MixPre?  Or are the Lundahls in the MixPre unique to that model?

The 7-series have transformer-less pres as opposed to the MixPre/MP-2.  I have no idea what that means but thought I would regurgitate that here.  :P

That is what I understand, also.  I'd like a Sonosax, but can't find one.  Maybe a V2, or a mixpre.  Or maybe I'll try a Portico.  I have been happy with the pre's on the 702, but I'm curious as to what I can get with different options.

Offline rastasean

  • in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3686
  • Gender: Male
Re: powering the Sound Devices Mix-Pre/ Mp2
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2010, 08:52:46 PM »



i think it was around $25... if i remember correctly it ended up being more than was quoted but I think ed honored the price.  getting in touch with ed, ime, has always proven to be a little challenging... i think its best to contact him through his website for quickest response.  there might be other cable makers that would be willing to make this for you if time if of the essence.  darktrain makes some awesome cables and has quick turnaround.  although getting the plug (different for each mp-2 and mixpre) would be the longest part of the process (and probably the most expensive part... the hirose connectors arent cheap or easy to work with from what i understand).


Thanks for the advice. I'll hit him up again and see if he can get in contact with me.
Robb (darktrain) referred me to Ed or else I would have had robb make the cable awhile ago.

I did notice the price of the screw in adapter, its about $10 on its own. but once you own the cable, it will always be yours.
Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.142 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF